We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chic & Basic Born Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chic & Basic Born Hotel to your Saves list
Chic & Basic Born Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Princesa, 50, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights 9,10,11 sept, best thing about this hotel is the location, minutes from lovely restaurants, tapas bars! El born is definitely the area to stay to explore Barcelona! Rooms are as in the name basic, but clean! Free water, tea, and coffee was welcome after sampling endless estrella!!! Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    180
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
279
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is an ok hotel, but unfortunately I can't give it a great review for 2 girls travelling together.
Pros:
Location - steps from Gothic/Born- great restaurant across the street - el Foro
Anna at the front desk was lovely - excellent directions and recommendations - invaluable
Cons:
Although we were in a superior double room, there was no closet (a clothes stand), no bathroom counter (really no bathroom at all), toilet in a closet (if you're claustrophobic forget it), balcony with pigeon poop all over it, no other places to put things

Perhaps this would be good for a couple but we moved around the corner to the outstanding K&K Picasso

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really couldn't have asked for a better accommodation!
My boyfriend and I work on a cruise ship and were off the ship by 7:30am. Since we have been gone for 6 months+ we had a lot of bags to say the least. We were able to bring our bags straight to the hotel and have them stored until check in.

Anna was so friendly and amazing at the front desk. She not only helped us store our bags but she also gave us quite a few different local restaurants to try and places to go. Working on a ship and being in Barcelona every 12 days for the past 4 months often leaves little to the imagination when you have extended periods of time to explore. Anna's recommendations were exactly what we were hoping for and more!
The 'Meeting Point' area at the front desk is like a little cafe... Comfy couches and chairs, Books and magazines, and drink options...

We stayed in an XL room with a balcony. So cute and plenty of space (by our standards)! Our balcony looked out onto the main street, and we were not at all bothered by noise, though there is a lot happening below. The LED lights are simply cool and the 'Welcome Package' is also a nice touch!

The neighbourhood is excellent... You can basically walk everywhere! So close to the beach, La Ramblas, and the Picasso museum. Born is a great area.

You will not be disappointed, more like pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Go for the XL rooms or larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Shelley-Anne17
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff.
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

And not basic! :) Perfect location in El Born, close to Parc de la Cuitadella, in a beautiful building with high ceilings. Walking distance to Barri Gotic and vlose to lovely Sant Pere.

We had an XL room with balcony, wooden floors and cool tiles. Loved the coloured lighting, the free coffee/tea/water in the communal area. Clean and nice rooms, with AC. Sitting on the balcony was so nice, the only downside was the bird droppings..

We will return! This hotel is something else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear LittleLion79
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff.
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found this place on simply cool Hotels and were not entirely sure what to expect. This was really a cool choice! The hotel occupies a heritage building and some of the ancient features can still be seen in the room. The rest is very modern with lots of white and funky furniture. We loved the lights in our room that could be amended to our mood! The help yourself area was also special with water and coffee available for free. The location of this hotel is good too and lots of tasty restaurants and bars can be found in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Take one of the bigger rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear recycling
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff.
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My title pretty much sums it up but I'll write more. I would absolutely stay here again! The location is ideal and the hotel is fantastic. If you're not into modern design it may not be for you, but I am and so I was very pleased. The room was massive with incredibly high ceilings. The bed was comfy and, most importantly, everything was clean. The folks at the reception area were kind and helpful, and they recommended some great places to eat too! The only negative I found was that you could hear others in the hallway but no one was so loud that it disturbed my sleep.

Overall I loved this hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sarah L
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff.
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic & Basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Born Hotel

Address: Calle Princesa, 50, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#155 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A century-old building, a 22 feet-high ceiling, color curtain and lights, a crystal shower at the center of the room, a light system to transform the room acording to your mood, a common zone with music to sink in the couches... and all in the Born district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chic & Basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic & Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic & Basic Born Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.