We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chic & Basic Born Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chic & Basic Born Hotel to your Saves list
Chic & Basic Born Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Princesa, 50, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's only when passing reception, that the hotel reveals itself. Grand building, stylish decoration. Play of light everywhere. We had a room facing the street, and as the bathroom was located at the frontside of the room, closing the shutters is recommendable. Although the bed was comfy, sleeping was not evident....barcelona wakes up in the evening and having bars nearby, a street facing room is not the best pick. The Born district is one of our favourite districts; there are nice bars and restaurants nearby, you're close enough to the key places, but not in the midst of the touristy places.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bo-Boheme

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
Yes, the Born Area is one of the Hip areas in Barcelona, and you are right, it more wake up in the evening, especially in the summer. Most of people goes in the morning first on the beach and then to do the shopping when its cooling down in the evening.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    181
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
280
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for four nights (standard double interior) but we were very disappointed. When opening the window to the patio, it smelled like urin. Therefore, we decided not to open the window anymore but unfortunately, the air conditioning was hardly working. Our complaints at the reception were not helpful at all.
I would recomommend you to find a different hotel in the gotic area, because this hotel is neither chic nor basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Max_H12345
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad smell coming from the patio.
In general the front desk staff is trained, to advise me about complains of clients, or they try to change rooms, if possible.
If you give us a second change, contact us directly so we can show you our good costume service.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was awesome. Great location, you can walk to a lot of places from here. There is a subway close by, which can take you to further attractions.
The staff was super nice. It was cute and very clean, just perfect for a mellow couple. Their restaurant is great. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I always ask not be near stairs or elevators. Also ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear FlynnLee

Thank you for taking the time to write a review to chic & basic Born. For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide
We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic .

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel in the wonderful El Born district of Barcelona really was perfect for our trip. The staff so helpful (particuarly Gustav and Anna) and couldn't do enough to help us have a good weekend in and around the city. Although we booked a basic room (through Chic Retreats) we were upgraded to a room with a balcony as one was free - this really did make the difference being able to sit outside and watch the world go by. The hotel is stylish and modern but very welcoming and just a bit different to your normal hotel. Yes the bathroom is in the room but it has a glass beaded curtain round it and glass so you can be shy if you want to!
We loved this hotel and its location - it made a wonderful first trip to Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear SJM01273

Thank you for the nice words for the staff of chic&basic Born .
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Barcelona

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I truly recommend this place of you take a visit to barca! It is situated in The nicest area, many cute restaurants, clean and trendy rooms and close to everywhere you have to go in barca! Will come Back definetely!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear aflora87
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&b Born Hotel, and to recommend our Hotel .
We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic .

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic place to stay--perfect location for exploring Barcelona. Very friendly staff at the front desk. Great value for money especially since the hotel provides free coffee / tea / water and internet access. The room with all the LED lights is amazing --- we really liked the fact that the interior design was not one of those standard ones which you find everywhere. The location is great--right in the middle of El Born, a hip area of Barcelona. Lots of amazing shops and restaurants nearby and only 10 min. walking distance to Las Ramblas. Will definitely stay there when we visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear secyourit

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&bHotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in chic&basic Born,
Best regards
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wanted for once, after several time in Barcelona to stay in the Born.
I was curios of the reviews for this hotel, and I tried.
Very central, but quite.
A strange atmosphere from the old building from outside and the design inside, from the room to the corridors and the common area.
I loved the room with the possibility to decide the colour of the lights.
The common place where you could seet in a balcony and have a coffee from the self service area.
All really nice and strange at the same time witn the modern design that distinguish this hotel.
I'll go again next time in Barcelona

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic & Basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Born Hotel

Address: Calle Princesa, 50, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#141 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A century-old building, a 22 feet-high ceiling, color curtain and lights, a crystal shower at the center of the room, a light system to transform the room acording to your mood, a common zone with music to sink in the couches... and all in the Born district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chic & Basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic & Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic & Basic Born Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.