We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a brilliant stay at the Grand Hotel Central. Everything about it was great - especially the location and the lovely staff. The rooftop bar and swimmingpool were a bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    141
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
111
282
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travelled to Barcelona with my partner at the end of April 2015 and stayed at the Grand Hotel Central. We go away often and have stayed in some very good hotels however it is safe to say that the Grand Hotel Central is one of the best.
We arrived at the hotel at 11am and without question we were allowed to check in - and we were upgraded! The reception staff were very friendly, polite, helpful and spoke very good English. The room we were staying in was large and very modern, the bed was comfortable, and the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. The only complaint I would have is that there is not an iron and ironing board in the room, however this can be supplied upon request.
On an evening we struggled to pull ourselves away from the sky bar. The sky bar really is an asset to this hotel, we spent many hours of our break, day and night, relaxing in the sky bar with sangria and beer.
The breakfasts are good quality and there is a good selection to choose from. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was absolutely fantastic - I would advise anybody staying in the hotel to try it.
The location of the hotel is spot on, only a 5-10 minute walk from La Rambla and just over the road from the Cathedral - perfect location for sight-seeing. There are also many good restaurants and bars near by.
I really cannot find a bad word to say about this hotel, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out and I would recommend the Grand Hotel Central to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Love this hotel! Very good service an the location was perfect. Close to shopping and to the beach. The roofbar/skybar was great!! Good food and drinks:))))) We will definitly visit this hotel again:)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Brilliant central location. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble to organise Delicious breakfast. This was our third time visiting Barcelona and third time in this hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In this hotel everything was perfect! The check-in was very smoothly, our room quiet, clean, had a lot of space. The breakfast that was included in our room rate was much more than average with fresh fruits, cooked eggs etc, tortilla, nice bread and pastry and Nespresso Coffee!!! The roof terrace with the infinity pool and the view over Barcelona was perfect to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping.We certainly will stay again here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a room not going out to Via Laietana
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our overall experience was truly wonderful all around. From the time we checked in, which our room was available early until it was time to checkout, everything was simply wonderful. The staff was always helping with directions, getting cabs, making recommendations to local resturants, helping us use the local transportation like the metro, and the morning breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The location was excellent to attractions, resturants, Las Ramblas, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can not think about anything bad regarding Grand Hotel Central Barcelona. It was my second time there and if I come to Bacelona again would be my next choice as well. Breakfast are very good, bar and restaurant was very good experience as well. 5* butigue hotel itself. Not the best room view though but bear in mind it is a hotel in the city so no sea view available ;)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Venere, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.