We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Roma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“it could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we've spent a weekend, as a family, hiring a master's suite room. hotel is centrally located and is close to main city spots. very convenient. room is clean and spacious, windows too small. concierge helpful. breakfast good and varied food quality, even if fruit should be better selected in a five starred hotel. unfortunately they won't arrange a shuttle to the airport even if clearly mentioned in the website. If the hotel cannot arrange the shuttle why they mention it? They shouldn't say it! Outstanding view from the roof top swimming pool. price is high for the value we get.

Room Tip: inside courtyard room are quieter, even if windows are sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    97
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
195
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have went there in my trip to Barcelona. This hotel make you feel at home and the staff is very friendly. Fantastic location in the center of Ghotic with full of stores, restaurants and things to do.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my partner stayed here the last week in October its a beautiful hotel very modern but still has a boutique feel to it.
Good location two minute walk to the metro, 5 minutes walk to lots of bars and restaurants didn't eat in the hotel so cant comment
Beautiful roof top bar with great drinks and good service again. I cant give the staff higher comments reception were very professional but also felt they were very genuine in their conversations and are clearly very proud of the hotel they work in. Again if your looking for an upper class hotel with a personality and great service you cant go wrong with this hotel. Tip instead of getting a taxi from airport get the airport bus about 6 euros and drops you 5 minutes from the hotel

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ideally located on the Via Leitana in the middle of the gothic quarter, central to the city.

Breakfasts was very good, with plenty of choice (with champagne), and both the ground floor and roof top bar excellent. The staff were incredibly service minded !!.
Reception staff were very help full, gave us many tips on our stay
Room - The room was big and nice, but had no nice view.

We will probably use the same hotel again at our next visit to barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a last minute shopping trip with my mom and as we booked it so quickly and so close to departure I was very very pleasantly surprised.

On arrive the reception staff were very friendly and helped us feel very at home. When ever we had a question they were very knowledgeable on the local area, shopping, getting around and great recommendations for places to eat.

We were staying for 2 nights but I would have happily stayed for longer. We had a corner twin room on the 4th floor which was very well presented, clean and comfortable. The rooms had a coffee machine and Wi-Fi, hairdryer etc.

The roof top pool was amazing. We stopped off each night for drinks which considering the location and surroundings were very reasonable, 4 euros for a class of cava.

My only down side of the stay was on the last day the pool was close until 11am for a private photo shoot, which was a shame as I had planned to go for a swim and sunbath. We did go up at 11am and sunbathed even though the photo shoot was still going on.

We didn't get breakfast as part of our room rate, but we went to the hotel bar at the front of the hotel and grabbed a coffee and pastries which was extremely well priced and more than adequate for a continental breakfast, I think it was about 3 euros each.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the underground station and is located on the main road, so very easy to find. Its a good location to get to all of the main parts of the city and all major transport links.

I will definitely stay here again when I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Central recently on a work trip.

The hotel is ideally located on the Via Leitana in the middle of the gothic quarter. Most of the major sights of Barcelona are within walking distance, and the bar and restaurant options right on the doorstep are fantastic.

After check-in, I was assigned a room on the 2nd floor. The rooms are incredibly spacious, and very well fitted out, with top-notch toiletries, a comfortable bed with plenty of bedding and a good amount of room to do some work (if you are unfortunate enough to have to work in Barcelona!). The rooms are very modern.

Breakfasts were lovely, with plenty of choice, and both the ground floor and roof top bar excellent. The staff were incredibly helpful.

The only negative to describe is that on the 2nd floor (and this room was facing the street) there is a not-insignificant amount of road noise. They have attempted to reduce this by the use of double glazing, but there is still quite a lot of horns and engine noise from buses etc. However, this did not ultimately affect my sleep (thanks to ear plugs that I never travel without). The problem was actually that the hotel is obviously situated on top of the metro line. Every 3-4 minutes during the day, and for a good portion of the night, metro trains rattle past and the vibration through the building was quite disturbing. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation but ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GrandHotelCentral, General Manager at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your nice comments about the rooms and services in general and the not so positive comments about the metro and street noise.
I can not deny the metro passes under the building and one can notice the rattle time to time but I did not know it was disturbing during the night, metro does not operate all night long.
I can understand the noise coming from cars are more annoying and I will make sure those double glazed windows are doing the job.

I look forward to welcome you very soon and allocate a room on a higher floor.

Best Regards, Silvia de Blas, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Grand hotel central for 5 days during our trip in Barcelona in Nov 2014 . The hotel is well located in central of the city, close to Metro and bus stations ( walking distance from both)
Very polite, friendly staff who were ready to help and assist to maximum . Rooms are clean and service was good.
Generally it was a great experince and will recommend and go back to the hotel again

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GrandHotelCentral, General Manager at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your nice experience during your long stay with us.
I am glad you have enjoyed it so much.

We will look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Best Regards, Silvia de Blas, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.