We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Central Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Shepton Mallet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Central Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent service; best location near cathedral, beach/harbour, Gothic town, Museums and Markets , wonderful view from the top floor over Barcelona, rooms of very high standards. We will come back .very good room

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    91
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
190
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was perfect. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful along with an extremely comfortable bed!! Location was great with about a 5 minute walk to the centre square and to top it off the roof top pool made for some great pictures!
Overall we had an amazing time here and would definitely come back and would recommend it to anyone considering it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a view of the old city wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for its location - central to El Born and Barri Gotic and a 20 minute walk from the beach. I stayed for four nights at the end of November.

The hotel deserves its 5 Star rating. The design, staff and services are excellent and we just didn't want to leave the hotel - we definitely would recommend it and hope to return one day.

We arrived early and were greeted with a warm welcome and were able to check in to our room straight away. The room was immaculate and well designed with nice touches like welcome sweets, dressing gowns and flip flops, tea facilities and USB charging points - we also loved the James Bond style electric black out blinds. The turn down service was also good, providing chocolates and water.

I love a hotel breakfast but hate having to wake up early while on holiday to get breakfast before it closes so it was great to see that breakfast was available until 11am on week days, and I think 11.30am on weekends. The selection was excellent as was service.

The stand out feature of this hotel has to be the roof top pool area. The infinity pool was simply breathtaking - although too cold to swim in, in November. The pool side seating area was excellent and although the bar is closed during winter you are able to dial for 'room service' facilities up there. There are also heaters so we often went up there after dinner to take in the view before bed.

The hotel has other great facilities, free wifi everywhere (yippee!), a gym (which I didn't see or use), a library, an art gallery, restaurant, cafe and excellent lounge area with buttons to call for service - I recommend trying the lychee martini - it is simply delicious! The whole hotel is designed and maintained with such thought and style it really is excellent. The hotel is suitable for any purpose - business, romantic, friends.

We also used the spa for a couples massage - this was probably the only down side of the hotel. The room, although beautifully designed was quite small, and I don't think the massage was quite up to scratch. I also think it was over priced, at 210 Euros, I would say around 140 Euros would be a more suitable price.

We had a minor issue with a fuse blowing in our bedroom so half the lights going out. This was addressed immediately and fixed within 20 mins.

The location is excellent. It is around a 15/20 minute walk from Placa De Catalunya where the AeroBus starts/ends, it is near the Picasso Museum and next to a supermarket, in just a few steps you are in the center of El Born and its range of winding streets and restaurants or cross the road straight into Barri Gotic. We often took a 20 minute stroll down to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms are clean & modern. The staff speaks perfect english and they are amazing at service. They never said no to us. I ran out of toothpaste, soap, oh bunch of stuff... and they gave me everything I needed with a smile. They went out of there way to make us feel welcomed.

The hotel is located to many attractions walking distance. Many restaurants, cafes, etc.. near by. The Hop on hop off buses are also close walking distance. I also found that the prices they were charging for drinks in a high class hotel was more than fair. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Breakfast was delicious, it was better than the Ritz Belmond in Madrid in my opion and they had a great breakfast, so I think that says a lot. Breakfast was included in my rate which I do recommend. It fills you up all day and you can just do a light lunch/tapas in the afternoon and then have dinner.

One thing I did wan to point out is that there is construction going on outside towards the side of teh building. It is quite loud especially at 8am. However, you have to understand that half of Barcelona is under construction. At least as a tourist thats how it looked to me. It is a very old city and they are always keeping up with it, hence why this city is absolutely gorgeous and in pretty great shape considering how old it is. If noise is huge issue for you, keep that in mind.

Besides that I really don't have much complaints. It was just lovely and I felt like I had made a wise choice.

Room Tip: Drinks are great at the bar, they have a nice variety, breakfast is great, and they have a nice libr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Grand Hotel Central is very nice, well situated and, as stated in the lift, the view from the roof is stunning !!!
The room was large and had a good entertainment system.
The staff is nice and helpful.
The Breakfast is great.
Only downside, my room had a nice view on..... the building opposite (which I could nearly touch from my window :( )

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel and a perfect location. Loved the rooftop infinity pool. Amazing views. Large room with beautiful big window. Comfortable bed. Pool needs to be heated during cooler months so it is not so cold.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights during a business trip. The first night was by far the worst as the street noise (and building work) going on adjacent to my corner room made sleeping very difficult. It was only in the morning that I discovered one of my windows was not fully closing. A quick request to reception got this sorted out and the next 3 nights were far better. Hotel is smart, clean and modern but I would definitely categorise this as for business and would suggest alternatives for a personal getaway.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.