We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oasis in the heart of Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great oasis in the heart of Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Central on July 13-16, 2014 and we absolutely loved it. The rooms are very nice with very comfortable beds, smallish rooms but well designed space wise and very good lighting (a rare thing these days in new hotel rooms). We had a 6'X5' shower … great luxury after 10 days of hiking in the country side and being used to 1'X1' showers (I'm slightly kidding but not much). The rooftop pool was a great gathering place for a swim & cocktails after a long day of sightseeing. Beautiful view of Barcelona from the pool and very good pool service. The downstairs restaurant was equally good food & convenient for my husband to catchup on work and he even conducted a business meeting that lasted 3hrs and the staff were very cooperative with anything he needed.

The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Very well decorated & clean. Wifi is challenging but it has been challenging everywhere in Spain so maybe high speed internet is not a spanish thing.

Front desk is a bit slow but they really take care of you.

Location wise you cannot do better than this. 2 min walking distance from las Ramblas. 15 min walk to Picasso Museum, 15 min walk to waterfront. We never took a cab for anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a complete feedback of your stay, very useful in order to improve certain aspects such as internet. We have recently changed the WIFI connection to a much better one so I will check on that slow connection.
I am glad you have enjoyed the location and ambience of the hotel all together. Looking forward to see on your next trip to Barcelona. Best, Silvia de Blas, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    97
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
81
195
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ok so in bacelona there are lots of choices I searched a lot of Hotels and this one was a great choice. It was in a great spot close to all the action. The beds where great , nice views , friendly staff. Now if your not from Europe look out on room service its wow super expensive!!!!! Food was good though and rooms where clean and fairly spacious. Great hotel to stay at!!! I stayed here before our cruise so its close to the terminal as well as mall and shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing us!!!
Yes, we are in a great location and we like to take care of you in every way possible, your comments are very valuable and help us to stand out among the rest. All the best, Silvia de Blas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels now! We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our 19 day trip across Europe, and we totally enjoyed it! We were in rooms 704 and 705, a Family suite connected to a room with 2 twin beds, and an outer door that allowed us private access between rooms. I gather that this is a new configuration, and it is very smart. The outer door needed to be secured during our stay, and the twin room door needs a method for propping open, but the layout is great. Family suite has modern, spacious Bath and closet area, comfortable Bedroom with long table, sliding doors separate the Bedroom from the TV area, Table and chairs, and kitchenette. We had a view towards the Gothic Quarter. Despite being on a busy street, the automated black-out curtains kept it quiet and dark as needed. Room service was good, Wifi was free, and the Buffet breakfast (included) was excellent. The front desk staff was terrific - friendly and helpful all the time! Sandrine, in particular, helped us track down the boy band Five Seconds of Summer at their record signing, and we enjoyed sharing our One Direction Concert pictures with her. Thanks Sandrine!

The roof top pool was steps away from our room. Being July, it was crowded during the day, but we were busy with visiting the city. The pool is better suited to a couple traveling together, rather than a family. But the views are amazing! We loved being so close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Cataluna. Great hotel in a Great location!

Room Tip: Family suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We are just back from an amazing 3 night stay in Barcelona at the Grand Central Hotel.

The location is second to none, it was within walking distance to some fantastic restaurants, and also the Gothic area which is literally across the road.

The staff could not have been nicer, very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The pool was amazing, and definitely a perk for staying in Barcelona in July when it is so hot. Was nice to cool down after a days exploring. The City Bar is also very nice.

Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to everyone of my friends and family. And I would definitely stay here again when I visit Barcelona.

Even just writing this is giving me the holiday blues! It was my boyfriend's 30th Birthday and this hotel really did contribute to a brilliant time. Would love to go back soon.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is a good size and has beautiful views of the Old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Grand hotel Central is in a lovely part of town, busy, but walking distance to sites. The rooftop deck was impressive, a beautiful view and areas to lounge. It was quite busy as evening approached.

The room was modern, clean lined and had wifi. Did not like the black hallways but must be part of the chic look?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights together with my wife. I have never been to a hotel with a so good staff as we experienced here. Everybody.was great from the doormen, through the reception and to everybody else. We had a well sized room with a good bathroom. Pool on top of hotel was small, but was very convenient. We spent 2-3 afternoons there, and it was a very nice place with good service. Breakfast was very good, and had everything you need for a good start of the day. Location is very good not far from the cathedral. Street is very busy, but we did not hear noise from the traffic. Highly recommeded!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

i stayed at this hotel just recently - Early July....and i was so impressed. Staff on front desk were fantastic, always smiling and very friendly....bus boys very attending and proffesional. Breakfast was awesome, i couldnt fault it. the pool was always clean, the pool area is a little small but still couldnt fault it. Service is a little slow, but when you are relaxing by the pool who is ever in a rush? i would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.