We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable long weekend in Barcelona with family. We booked standard rooms (3 rooms with three people in two of the rooms). Beds were comfortable. Two of the rooms were at the front of the hotel but noise was not a problem and the beds were comfortable. There are good blackout blinds. We found all the staff we dealt with very friendly and efficient - this seemed to come from the management down. We had breakfast and this was fine with a good choice of fresh fruit juice, hot food pastries, etc.- a toaster would be nice though. The restaurant menu looked excellent. It was rather cold on the roof terrace where drinks are served but there are heaters available.The hotel is in the process of providing a bar on the ground floor which will be good.The view from the terrace is fantastic The rooftop pool is lovely but extremely cold - would it cost much for this to be heated as this was part of the reason we chose this hotel (two adults and two children went in briefly!!) This was our fourth visit to Barcelona and we all felt that we would stay here again because of the hotel's central location and close vicinity to the marina. We loved TapaTapa by the marina/shopping mall - especially when the sun is shining. We also ate in the Italian restaurant a few doors up from the hotel and this was fine. Some of us went on the tourist bus - a great way to see the city. We all went to see the wonderful "magic fountains" and the unfinished cathedral (book the tickets on line to tavoid the extremely long queues). There is so much to do and see in Barcelona for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    499
    114
    30
    18
See reviews for
220
683
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location, good service, friendly staff. The room was nice and clean, large bathroom. And the hotel restaurant, the food there was delicious also the service! Best 30:th birthday ever! Really good breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had originally booked for Sensation White club night but unfortunately they decided to cancel the whole event so we thought what the hell its Barcelona, plenty to do ! As we had booked ourselves and never been to Barca before we didnt know what to expect but everything from the taxi from the airport,all in between & the taxi back was superb.Upon arriving at the Grand we were treated respectfully at Reception. We were upgraded to the Loft Suite , which we were informed would be available after a 40 min wait - no problem as we escourted to the rooftop bar & pool which at coming out of the lift and seeing this could have been a 40 hour wait for the room for all we cared - what a superb space and one where instant relaxation is mandatory - Both the ladies who served in the rooftop bar were excellent , even if I did struggle to make them understand what a raspberry mojito was, but we got there in the end , must learn some more Spanish ! The general ambience of the hotel was a cool & chilled out feel - it is a very central position for exploring. They were just finishing the new Bar when we arrived so we look forward to returning early next year when this is complete.Overall one of the best hotels we have stayed in , the staff were all excellent and without doubt a return is on the cards to one of the best cities in the world - special mention for one of the porters , cant remember his name but a young Argentine , very helpful and polite - we hope this helps others visiting Barca !

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms to avoid the rumble of the underground service , but remember you are in a major c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Central for 3 nights from 20th October to 23rd October and what a wonderful hotel to be in. The whole experience from checking in to checking out was a pleasure. The people on reception were very friendly, efficient and attentive - full of smiles which is a very welcoming start. I advised the hotel when I made the reservation that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary and requested a double bed - we were allocated room 601 and when we walked into our room, we were both very happy - nice and spacious with lots of light, plenty of coat hangers and an upgrade to a superior room with a superking bed. We then went out to explore Barcelona - the hotel was in a perfect location. Upon our return to the room, we were overwhelmed to see a very nice bottle of Cava, a little note to say "happy anniversary" from everybody at the hotel and a plate with 3 scrummy cup cakes (which were delivered to our room every day - a nice touch for the superior room). There was also a note to say that the toiletries were complimentary and if we do run out - call reception and they will be replaced, which again people complained that if you ran out then that was it! The breakfast was nice - buffet service and a good selection, we did find the breakfast at the hotel to be better than some of the surrounding venues and it is worth asking upon checkin about breakfast as they were doing a special offer. We also celebrated our Wedding Anniversary with a meal at the restaurant - this was lovely, very reasonably priced (especially for a 2 michelin star restaurant) and the quality of food was superb. I can continue to express our wonderful stay - but it is always nice to find out and experience the wonderful hotel for yourself. In a nutshell, you will not be disappointed (I was slightly apprehensive especially as we read a few negative comments). The hotel is a gem and we had a wonderful weekend - we do only stay at 5* hotels and this hotel (4* superior) deserves an extra star - we will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

the service at this place was very good recommending to eat at PLA. (Best meal my trip)

Would highly recommend for those coming into Barcelona for the first time as it is close to everything. One downside of this hotel was that breakfast was not included as we booked with Expedia and yet the hotel website did not have the same room available for some reason. Breakfast a mediocre at best as the quality left much to be desired. really expected changes to the food day to day.

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant PLA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was one of a group of nineteen individuals who stayed at the Grand Hotel Central in Barcelona for four nights. The location of the hotel is excellent. The public areas of the hotel were well furnished and maintained although very dark. The bright spot was a large bouquet of white lilies in the lobby.

My roommate and I were assigned to room 303 - a tiny, dark room with only one window and without any chairs. The space between the bed and walls was narrow. The lighting was very dim, which made reading difficult. The room was HOT when we returned in the evening as the room key controls the air conditioning. Yes, the room did cool off after a while but was not particularly comfortable on arrival. The frequent subway rumbling could be heard in this room. In short, this was not a comfortable room nor a pleasant place to spend any time.

The fresh fruit and bread on the breakfast buffet were good. However, the tea and coffee were tasteless and the watery scrambled eggs were so unappealing that I did not even taste them. Other food on the extensive buffet was of ordinary quality. If breakfast was not included in one's room rate, I would suggest eating elsewhere.

During my stay, I never saw anyone at the reception desk smile nor did I hear anyone greet guests when they came into the hotel. The personnel were more serious than friendly - very different from other hotels where I stayed during my three-week visit in Spain.

A number of our group raved about the delicious complimentary muffins brought to their rooms in the evening. Thinking that it was an oversight that muffins were not brought to our room, I mentioned the situation to a tall young man at the reception desk. He replied, "Some of your group got free room upgrades which entitles them to the muffins."

Thoughts that ran through my mind after this comment: Free upgrades? How does one qualify for this? Why didn't everyone in our group get free room upgrades? (After all we each paid the same amount for our hotel accommodations.) Is it time for an update in customer service training for the Grand Hotel Central staff????

Room Tip: I have no idea how one gets a good room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear about all the issues concerning your stay. I appreciate you enjoyed the decor of the hotel although you found it a bit dark. It is not normal procedure to upgrade guests unless is prior requested for special occasion and upon availability. This time it was not the case and it happened to be that your group were allocated in different room types. My apologies you were the one was not upgraded. With regards to the breakfast buffet and unfriendly staff thank you for letting us know so in that way we can always improve our services to our standars; although, I haven't heard a negative comment about the staff for a long time, it is one of our most praised comments on tripadvisor from our guests. Sorry for all the unfortunate events you encountered during your stay, we are working hard to make the best for every guest during their stay and have known in advance we could have probably helped you to have a better stay. Best. G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a total of 7 days and were very pleased. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk virtually anywhere you would like to go. The hotel and rooms are art deco and very nicely done. The rooms are very nice, excellent bed and lighting. I will agree the rooms are a bit noisy but I always bring earplugs and was never bothered. The staff are terrific. They could not be more helpful, no matter what you ask. The price seemed reasonable compared to other places and they did not nail you with extras. I would gladly stay here again. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good. They had a special at 11 euros which seemed reasonable, for 22 euros a person it would be pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 8003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.