We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Save Saved
You added Barcelona City Centre Hostal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 297 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really liked our stay here but I would emphasize that its a budget hotel. Dont expect that you would get a luxurious treatment. I would really recommend to all those who are looking for a budget stay in the city center. The hotel was clean and had everything you need for your stay from a mini refrigerator to a microwave. It also has plates and cutlery so that you can have food at the hotel if you want. The person in charge was very good and friendly. He helped us also to plan our site seeing in Barcelona.
The one problem which we found was that it was noisy at the night. You could hear people walking and noises of the flush from the other rooms. I think they can improve on this. Otherwise it was superb. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi,

Thanks a lot sharing your opinion about Barcelona City Centre in this webpage. It is very important for us that future travellers can read real opinions written by customers in order to value the accommodation.

About the noisy, we warn all our guests about it, as I suppose you could see, but is a thing is out of our hands. I hope you saw all windows are sound proofed. We want to change all the room's doors this year, as we detected it will help to make any noise disappear.

We can only give you thanks for all the other positive things you comment about our hostel. We are a good hostel, thanks considering it as a hotel, a budget hotel. Most part of people talk about us as a budget hotel and we are proud of it!

We wish welcome you back soon in any of our accommodations.

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
37
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why Barcelona City Centre Hostal has acquired so many positive reviews as time spent there recently was not what I had expected following the glowing reviews by previous writers. The location is central and close to transport, and for Barcelona the price as discovered upon looking at numerous other hotels was reasonable, but certainly not a bargain. The room rates also doubled over the weekends at this accommodation. The room was small but clean, wifi worked well, and yes the staff were friendly, however not what I would consider to be particularly competent when dealing with reported problems. The ongoing blocked shower drain that contributed to ankle deep drainage water was not appealing, especially when we were informed that the problem had been fixed when it hadn't. The set top box for the satellite television did not work at all. When this was reported it was met with a very casual attitude with no offers of a solution. The ill fitting and very worn foam mattress was uncomfortable in the futon style bed, and the fridge did not reach a temperature below 15 degrees. The walls were thin, and when the people next door showered almost every movement and unwanted sound was audible.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks writing this review and sharing your experience with other users. It is important for future travelers to read personal experiences and it is important to us know what kind of problems have our customers.

Having said that, we want to answer you to the first part of your review: the only reason why there are so many good reviews about Barcelona City Centre is because there are a lot of happy customers who write this opinions. It is true our prices are not always the same, they can be increased o decreased a lot depending of how many rooms are sold and how many time before. This is the way most part of airlines and hotels work nowadays. People decide to book or not.

We apologize you had problems with shower, TV, fridge and it seems you did not like the bed too.

Just let you know all beds have been renewed on August'2013, one month before your staying, so maybe is a matter of what kind of matters you are used to.

For another hand, I suppose you know fridges in hotel's rooms are never "standard" fridges, as they work with absorption technology, which takes more time to cool the things. That's the way to assure you a good rest not putting inside the room an engine of a fridge. We don't want to imagine how many complaints we would have not putting this kind of fridges!

I cannot understand what do you mean when you talk about that satellite tv was not working at all. We have this satellite receivers to offer some international channels, and nobody reported any problem. Maybe you are meaning there were only 10-15 channels available? That's true, but we never promised more than that.

Our staff is there to help, and the kind attention we try to offer to our guests is one of the most valued things in our accommodations, so I cannot understand exactly that you were reporting one problem after another and nobody resolved it. We are not perfect, and our accommodation isn't, too, but we are there to bring you the best experience. I'm sorry, as it seems we didn't.

I hope you enjoyed the city and you will come back soon to continue discovering it from an accommodation that meets your needs and expectations.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very central, clean, comfortable room with air conditioning and good free Wifi.
Very helpful staff, walking distance to all the sites and the many restaurants around,
great value for money, everything I needed to make my stay in BCN very enjoyable

Room Tip: Had a room on the the main Road, Balmes, but the great double glazing window was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi,

First of all, thank you sharing your opinion which us and other users of this website. It is important people can read traveler's experiences before booking their room.

We are very pleased to read a review as good as yours. We are glad you enjoy our accommodation and -above all- your travel to Barcelona.

If you think we can improve something, please don't hesitate to send us an e-mail. We love high ratings, but we need feedback in order to do it just a little better next time.

See you soon!

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocorua, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Barcelona City Centre Hostal. It is in a perfect location, central to all the sights we wanted to see as well as the gay district. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and suggestions. Great accommodations, clean and everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi!

Thanks a lot sharing your experience in this website with other users who are looking for an accommodation in Barcelona.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our lodging. Our staff love their job and tries to give the kindest attention. Thanks also appreciating our cleanliness and for your good impressions about our place.

It is a pleasure to read that you found everything you needed. It is one of our main targets! The location of our accommodation helps a lot, as it allows to sleep one step from everywhere.

We hope to see you soon again in Barcelona City Centre! Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hostal is located on Balmes which is close to the hub from where you can get the metro and the hop-off, hop-on buses. Las Rambals is less than a 10-minute walk. The room we had was cosy enough and if you like to have breakfast before you set off for the day, you can get a good one at the Hostal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your opinion about Barcelona City Centre. Reviews as yours help other travelers to get an idea of our accommodation.

The location of Barcelona City Centre is one of the most valued things of our accommodation. We are glad you liked it, as well as our rooms.

Thanks also appreciating our new breakfast service. We are offering it since a few months ago and it has been a success.

We hope to see you again in some of our accommodations in Barcelona. Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with a great location and very nice staff. Good for the money it costs. Shared kitchen but all else is private,very nice bathroom and bed. Free wifi with good speed. Downstaris 24hours supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much sharing your opinion with us and all other users of Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and you liked the attention of our staff. We love our job and we love Barcelona, so we try day by day to communicate this enthusiasm to our customers.

Thanks a lot appreciating our value for money and the good wi-fi internet connection. Wi-fi speed was good probably because since June of this year we multiplied per 10 its speed (high speed fiber optic!), as we know how important it is for our guests.

Finally, just let you know that now all rooms enjoy a private fridge!

We wish to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port d'Alcudia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hi,I Have been meaning to write this review since we visited in January this year.
When you first arrive you have to walk upstairs, the lift looks a little scary.!!
We called the number on our voucher and nice gentleman came to let us in our room , he was very pleasant , room was very nice big enough for 2 people, shower good, overall rooms very good.
Location is excellent no need to get taxis as you are 5 minutes walk from most areas ie, ramblas.
Lots of restaurants and bars in near by area.
Overall for what we paid which was 106.00GBP total for 3 nights very impressed.
Keep up the good work, when we return to Barcelona we will be definatley be returning.

Room Tip: When you arrive in Barcelona Airport get the local bus, it stops outside the airport and its only ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor. It is important for other users to be able to read other experiences in order to make a good choice of their lodging in Barcelona.

The lift in Barcelona City Centre is ancient as a lot of other buildings in this quarter (Eixample). The important thing is that it does its function.

We are glad you liked our accommodation. Barcelona City Centre’s location is one of the best things valued of our lodging. Thanks also appreciating our value for money. Don't doubt we will keep up the good work, trying to offer always a better experience when you come back.

Just let you know, that since your staying we have begin to offer a good breakfast service and we have put a little fridge in all our rooms. We hope you will love it!

We wait to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona City Centre Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.