We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   C/ Melcior de Palau 70-74, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 665 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Cheney, Washington
1 review
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hostel, it was beyond my expectations! The customer service was superb, Maria was so helpful every time I asked her a question (and it was a lot). I met some amazing people as well! I still keep in touch with a few! Rooms were clean, spacious, quiet here and there, and overall great!

Though it might not be close to the attractions, this hostel is close to the metro and the metro is very easy to take!

Definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
38
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

a very beautiful hostel. All the rooms were clean (bathrooms and beds) and the staff was very helpfull.The kitchen had everything you want and there was a good internet connection.When we went every evening before the dinner the staff prepare a different kind of drink for all the people.....it was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was in Barcelona for three nights and booked this hostel because it was close to the Sants Train Station; it by far exceeded my expectations! Immaculately clean, spacious, warm, friendly, quiet dorms and incredibly comfortable, this hostel provides everything you could possibly need during a stay in Barcelona. It's perfectly positioned close to the station, easily accessible, on a friendly street, and close to a metro station which is on the same line as all the major attractions of the city centre. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, I had absolutely nothing planned/researched because my trip was last-minute, but staff explained everything and answered all my questions so well that I didn't need to. Highlights: 1) the best sangria I've ever had was made by staff at the hostel on Saturday night for the residents, and 2) I had to leave early on Tuesday morning and one of the staff (Leo) got up and made sure breakfast was ready an hour early so I could get something to eat before I left! Would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it, you will love it!

Room Tip: If you need a good night's sleep go for a female-only dorm (if you're a female traveller, ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night on my way to San Sebastian at the beginning of March 2012. The staff seemed quite friendly and helpful, and the hostel amenities were clean. The kitchen was great! Although the provided bed sheets had clearly been washed and pressed, there were still visible stains on them. In addition, the warmer blanket provided had crusty stains on it and had obviously not been cleaned in a while. This appeared to be the case with most of the blankets I spotted. The surrounding area of the hostel seemed pretty lively, and it is super close to a main train station which would be useful because it's not overly close to any of Barcelona's main attractions or streets. I ended up spending 4 days in Barcelona a week later, and chose to stay in an area much closer to the sites; I prefer to walk as much as I can, rather than take public transportation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberguinn, Owner at Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for your nice comments about our property ;)
I would like to apologise for any unconfortable situation with our blankets.
We provide free bed linen but it is true that some customers do not want to make their beds and use the blankets directly without linen. We try to avoid this to happen and also we check blankets every morning to spot any dirtyness or bad smell.
I believe your bed was not checked properly and if only you had told us we would have changed it straight away.
We will be much more careful with that, thanks for the information and I hope you can visit us again soon.
Laura
Owner of Alberguinn Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at the Alberguinn for 2 nights, and it was really great. The staff are very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to make sure that guests are comfortable.

The whole place is spotlessly clean, and the bedrooms are spacious and warm. The only downside of the bedrooms was that there wasn't really an assigned place to put luggage but next to the beds; the lockers were rather small.

Breakfast of juice, bread, coffee and cereals was included, and the fast wifi was good.

Location-wise, it was great for me as it's just 10min walk from the Estacion Sants, but for sightseeing itself, the metro is necessary as it's about a 30-40min walk to La Rambla. There isn't much in the Estacion neighbourhood to see, but there are cafes, shops and a few supermarkets around.

However, overall, it was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Has been here on October for an event organised in barcelona. the hostel is in very good position and is near Plaza Espagna or very near metro station. Nicolas was very kind and helped us very much for everything. the place is clean and quite. very secure. it was very social place with breakfast wifi etc. we enjoyed very much the staying here.... we recommend to youth travelers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to Barcelona for a few days and this couldn't be a better hostel. Close to Sants station, close to Camp Nou, free breakfast, free lockers, free wi-fi, helpful staff - brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel

Address: C/ Melcior de Palau 70-74, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 665 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alberguinn! Whether it's at breakfast, the lounge or at the magical shared dormitories, in a hostel, you meet people, wonderful people, who travel as you do. This makes for great conversation in general but, in addition, these people become sources of travel information. Enjoy the familiar atmosphere at Alberguinn with your friends or make travel companions as you travel solo. We're located in the traditional district of Sants, with lots of typical bars and restaurants and the longest shopping street in Barcelona. Our friendly staff will show you all the spots you shouldn't miss in Barcelona, and give you interesting and authentic tips on things to do. Come and visit us!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberguinn Sants Youth Hotel Barcelona
Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.