We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona to your Saves list
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #169 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed together with my partner and our youngest daughter for 5 nights in the beginning of May. I found the location good with a galleria and the beach nearby. Taxi or Metro will easily take you Down Town Barcelona. Remember to say Hilton Diagonal Mar to the taxi driver from the Airport as the Hilton Barcelona is also on Diagonal.

We had pleasant stay on the top floor. Good Service in the Executive lounge where the terraces really added value. Plenty of Tourists from the US and Canada in the hotel and they must be the nr 1 Tourists in the World. Always friendly!

On the negative side the pool would have needed some heating as it was in the beginning of the summer season and at the time there was a fun park down by the beach that was noisy until 1am during the weekend. As comment by many, too expensive internet unless you are a Diamond member or in the lobby zone where it is free. The Mini bar is also expensive but good with some free space for the guests in the refrigerator. Besides this a perfect stay and the Hilton Diagonal Mar will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    563
    168
    72
    34
See reviews for
305
510
72
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a day of business and a day of pleasure. It is a very good business hotel in "New Barcelona". Beds were comfortable. Staff was great. Large hotel will all the usual Hilton amenities.

If you are going for pleasure then I would not recommend since it is a bit away from the sights like the Sagrada Familia and the other Gaudi sights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one . It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Room with a view of sea, in reality a sea view between two buildings. Rooms are standard Hilton design not worth the high price.
Hotel is 10mins taxi to Barcelona, so not great location if site seeing.
Food was very poor - burnt and swimming in grease.
Wifi is charged at EUR 25 for 24hrs. No free wifi in public spaces.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry to hear the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

We hope that despite your disappointed on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It is near the coast and only a short metro ride to the city center. Rooms are modern and nice. Beds are very comfortable. And the views from the rooms are amazing, especially at night. If you like to shop, there is a large mall right across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one. We are happy to know you would come back. We will be pleased to welcome you again anytime

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unlike other hotels located in downtown, this hotel has advantage in various aspects. Very close to beach, net to the shopping mall, wider space. Everything was good except for the swimming pool. For this class of hotel, it should have heated water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camshron
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic conference facilities and 1st class accomodation, well positioned for easy access to downtown and barely 20 minutes (Euro 25) cab ride from the airport.
Bar costs pretty pricey, however local bars and restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: Free wi fi in the lobby area, also free use of a bank of 6 high spec' desktop PC's with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverley, NS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had the privilege of staying at the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona for 12 nights, though only 6 were originally planned.

It is a beautiful hotel and the staff are all excellent. English is not a problem at all.

I stayed in room 2112, overlooking the ocean. The room was nicely appointed and had a hardwood (Pergo) floor, instead of carpet. It made it feel a lot cleaner.

The only thing I did not like about the room, is that there was no drawer space.

The bathroom was well-kitted, including a bidet, tub and shower.

The amenities were standard Hilton-fare, but did not include mouthwash.

A small ice machine could be found by the elevators, and it always worked, but after the first 3 days, housekeeping did not replace the plastic bag in the ice bucket.

Housekeeping kept the room very clean, but a few times, essential items like face cloths, were not replaced. There was only a standard of two towels in this king room. We ordered extra towels and they were promptly delivered.

Unfortunately, we had a medical emergency on the 3rd day. My partner had to be admitted to hospital for a serious illness.

We had no idea what to do, so went down to the Executive Lounge on the 15th floor, and explained our situation. Before we got to the lobby, everyone had been informed, a nearby hospital (Hospital del Mar) was suggested and a taxi was waiting (they asked if we needed an ambulance - we did not).

I felt like I was family to these kind people. They all went above and beyond their call of duty.

As my partner was in hospital, I had to extend my reservations twice, not knowing his release date. Even though the hotel was full, I was able to keep my room and extend my stay, thanks to the wonderful Front Desk Manager.

For fellow travellers, this hotel is in a new part of Barcelona, but it is very well situated. The Diagonal Mar Mall is literally across the street and is reported to be the largest in Barcelona. There is a grocery store, many boutiques, several fast-food places and a great bowling alley and games place.

As for transportation, there is the Forum Metro station, just about 7 minutes walk from the front door.

Overall, I would highly recommend this establishment to any traveller who wants to stay in Barcelona and be close to shopping, transportation and be taken care of by the best staff.

We will definitely be returning to this place to finish off where we left off.

My partner has made a full recovery, thanks in part to the excellent health care system in Spain. Just remember to have a lot of headroom on your credit card.

Thanks everyone!

Carl

Room Tip: Pick a high floor, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay despite the medical problems and you felt like home with the attendance of the staff. It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We hope that your partner is fully recovered.

However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona very soon.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 10 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun! Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Barcelona, Diagonal Mar. The hotel offers a luxury seasonal outdoor pool, a paddling pool for the youngest and all 4 stars facilities and services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside bar and Restaurant "Brisa" offers Mediterranean dishes to be enjoyed on its beautiful terrace. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WIFI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.