We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona to your Saves list
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #170 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Less than Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I want to be fair as I am not one to write reviews but would like to set some expectations in regards to this Hotel. First and foremost it does offer a beautiful view of the water but is very far from the square and historic sites of Barcelona. It was referred to as the new city by the bartender and our taxi driver and indeed it is. Everything is ultramodern except the customer service.
The reception desk was flat out rude and ignored our request to check in at the Exceutive lounge upon our arrival as instructed by emails from the hotel. We were using points plus cash rewards and were told that we would need to pay an additional fee upon our arrival for the twin bed for our daughter. Wait , are we not using points and already paying a fee ?
The hotel is across from a mall and that is the only atrraction in the area. I think they cater to a business travler and not someone there for a holiday. No turn down service or leaving the lounge with a wine glass to enjoy in your room . We were ask to place our wine in a styrafoam cup! Ok if at the Holiday Inn but not standard for a four star hotel! I would choose something closer to the square and be sure that they apprecaite those travlers redeeming well earned loyalty points. Enjoy Barcelona!

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry to hear the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We hope that despite your disappointed on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards
Guest Services Dept
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    561
    167
    72
    34
See reviews for
304
510
72
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My excellent rating for this property is mostly based on service. The property itself is also fairly good, probably deserving 4/5.

What I liked: The staff, the staff and the staff! Very friendly and efficient check-in and helpful staff in the executive lounge. What was really exceptional though was the friendliness of the staff in the restaurant. As a solo traveller, they really made sure I would not get bored and even helped me with sightseeing, providing useful tips on Barcelona and walking me through the city map - something you might expect from front desk staff, but not wait staff at the restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, this was another highlight of this place. Relatively speaking, it is fair value and the food extremely good. I know you don't go to Barcelona to eat a Club Sandwich, but they had the best presented and best tasting club I have ever had. On the 2nd night, I had a steak which was also very good and well prepared. There is some "local" offering on the menu, but it mostly felt like an American-style menu and I personally like to see more local cuisine on hotel menus. Location of the hotel is also interesting. It is not downtown so for those in Barcelona primarily for sightseeing, you do need to hop on the tram or metro which is less than 5 minutes away from the hotel. For those into shopping, the hotel is in front of the Diagonal Mar shopping complex which has a couple of nice shops and a lot of casual dining options. I was provided with a room on the executive floor. the room was decent in size and everything was well maintained. Bathroom size was also quite good. I had a view of the ocean and the "beach" area nearby. As a Diamond member with Hilton, I was provided with complimentary internet, which worked fine for the duration of the stay. Very modern hotel. Nice, open lobby area

What could be improved: Not much - I found the food offering in the executive lounge to be standard and simplistic and quality could have been one notch higher. Also, although I quite liked the room, the floors (wood-style) are starting to show some signs of aging. The room did not look nor feel dated, but it could probably use a rejuvenation program in the near future. finally, given that it was low season, I was expecting the rate to be somewhat lower. From a value perspective, it is fair, but not great

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you found our staff very friendly and efficient.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A huge Reccomendation for this hotel. The staff is what makes this place stand out. Everyone is super helpful and friendly and smiling. Congradulations to the management and team. A special thanks to the team in the Executive Lounge. they go the extra mile to do anything for you and make you feel very welcome. I stayed for 5 nights with our kids and they did not want to leave. Awesome views of beach from lounge. metro just across the street to city center and really nice running along the beach. We will stay there again and again when we go back to barcelona.

Room Tip: try for a room up high to get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff were super helpful, friendly and smiling. And that you enjoyed with the service of the Executive Lounge

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

It will be an honor to have you again in the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hilton Diagonal Mar. Warm welcome & a great place to stay. As Hilton Gold members they made it special for us. Beautiful accomodation, comfortable beds + beach & city views. We also had access to the Executive Lounge with a fantastic terrace to enjoy panoramic views. Hotel staff spoke excellent English & were so helpful especially Biagio & Filipe in the Indido Restaurant.
Diagonal Mar Shopping Centre across the road has good restaurants, shops & large supermarket to cover all needs.
We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for Executive Floor with complementary Breakfast + Evening Drinks & snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff were very helpful.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for mentioning two of our staff members.

It will be an honor to have you again in the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Bayern, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel and very friendly and inviting staff. Everybody was friendly and seemed genuinely concerned for our comfort.

We stayed in Barcelona one night after finishing a cruise. When we arrived at the hotel, didn't expect them to have any rooms as we checked in at 0900. They weren't busy and immediately put us into rooms. The rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious.

The breakfast was mainly continental European, but there was some "Asian" influence to their offerings. They had rice and a type of miso soup.

If you care to venture from the hotel, across the street is a large mall with several restaurants. Additionally there are many activities and rides for children to enjoy. The train stop to take you to central Barcelona is about a 10-15 minute walk away. The HopON/HopOff tour bus also runs by the hotel, but only during the warm season.

We will definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and you find our staff friendly and inviting.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting the area.

It is out of town a little, but close to the Metro, so the city centre is easily reached.

The reception staff were excellent, especially Eric.

The rooms were very good with good amenities and facilities.

The executive lounge was good overall, but shorter opening hours at the weekend, and the presence of only pay as you use computers lwt it down for tourists.

Breakfast gave a very good selection buffet.

Would stay again, and would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best, with sea views on south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you found our service staff excellent. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for mentioning one of our staff members.

It will be an honour to have you again in the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Diagonal Mar on recent holiday in Barcelona. The hotel is located outside of city center. You will need to take Metro or Cab into city center. The Metro is very close to the hotel. There is also large shopping center next to hotel with multiple restaurants. Our room was very nice and clean. The service was great. The executive lounge has large outdoor patio and great food primarily at breakfast. Very solid Hilton property that I would stay at again if I was fortunate enough to visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 10 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun! Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Barcelona, Diagonal Mar. The hotel offers a luxury seasonal outdoor pool, a paddling pool for the youngest and all 4 stars facilities and services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside bar and Restaurant "Brisa" offers Mediterranean dishes to be enjoyed on its beautiful terrace. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WIFI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.