We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad thoughts.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allada Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Allada Apartments to your Saves list
Allada Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Allada Vermell 6 - 8, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good and bad thoughts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Let's start off with the good bits. My wife and I are in our 60's and fancied a few days away. The location of this apartment was excellent. Easy walk to La Rambla, the port and beach, the Arc de Triomph etc. It was clean and tidy and well equipped mainly. HOWEVER - the TV had about 30+ channels and all Spanish. A news channel would have been good. Even worse! On the night of the Semi-Final between Spain and Portugal it wasn't on any of the tv channels [how crazy is that!]. My major crticism was of the key collection. Having arrived in the evening, just after 9pm, we took a taxi all the way to the Hotel Balmes at a cost of 40 euros in order to collect the apartment keys. This journey took us almost past the apartment way up towards Sagrad Familia, and then another 12 euros by taxi back towards the direction we had just come. Better directions from Airport to Hotel and/or apartment would have helped us to make better choices as the return journey to the airport took us 10 minutes to walk to the station, a 3.50 euro ticket and the journey took 35 minutes.

I would seriously advise anyone to consider whether or not they could do with this hassle before booking. It didn't spoil our visit to this lovely city but could easily have done so. Do book the Bus Touristic for two days as a good way of seeing everything. It costs 31euro but well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I recently stayed in the Allada apts having scoured the web for a place suitable and reasonably priced enough for a group of 26 males (Well behaved stag party). I have been to Barca many times and to many area's. We were well catered for here. Hugo (the manager) arranged 7 seater taxi's prior to our arrival and we were met in the arrivals area with name cards. The check in was swift, efficient and friendly. It is a relatively quiet area with a kids play park right outside however we enjoyed ourselves in and around the Gothic/ Barcelonetta area's so didn't hang about the apts too long.
The apts were clean, well equipped and the shower was great!! I had no complaints from any of the group as I was the best man and had arranged the trip.
We were mindful not to have any loud gatherings out of respect of other guests and had no negative feedback throughout our stay.
In short, the Allada apts are a great base for any visit to this wonderful and vibrant City.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a very nice apartment situated in the heart of the Bonn district, an easy walk to the Gothic Church (not Basílica de la Sagrada Família) and the Picasso Museum. We walked everywhere else and it took us 30 min to walk to Basílica de la Sagrada Família from the apartments. Situated on a square with 2 bars, 3 restaurants and a children’s playground (they are everywhere in Barcelona). Within easy walk of more bars, restaurants, taverns and cafe’s.

A warm welcome with very secure accommodation that has all the creature comforts of home; TV, Wi-Fi, kettles, toaster’s etc I would say the bed is a little small for my 6ft 2” frame + wife; but the bed was very comfortable and the apartment was very clean.
The only criticism would be:

1) The TV did not have any English Channels; an English news channel would have been nice; but the apartment does have Wi-Fi and in retrospect I should have taken my laptop.

2) Noise does echo in the stairwell when people are talking, which can be annoying!

Just a reality check; Barcelona is a expensive city; on par with London. The entrance to all the major attractions can be expensive but if offered the audio guide take it for at least the Basílica de la Sagrada Família & Picasso Museum as I felt I learned alot. Also keep your eyes peeled for attractions NOT in the guide book we found a Dali exhibition that housed most of his famous works, this negated visiting his birth place with is a day trip out of the city center.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 2nd floor or above to avoid noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012, staff were friendly and helpful, were happy hold our bags before check in and to order taxi's for us. Great location very easy to walk from there to most places in Barcelona. Three of us shared a double room so we used the sofa bed which was good (as far as sofa beds go). The room is only really equipped for two people, two chairs, very small kitchen but we made it work and were very happy with the apartment as a whole. Taxi from airport was €34 and we needed two. There were seven of us in total so on the way back we ordered a big taxi, would have done this for our arrival had we known.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Cute rooms but no insonorisation at all. Bring your ears plugs if you go there. Nice location, 5 minutes walk from Barri Gothic and museums. Nice restaurants on the pedestrian street.

Room Tip: Rooms 401, 301 and 201 are the roomiest. 403, 303 and 203 the smallest, Avoid anything at the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This complex is in an amazing location. The apartments are extremely modern clean and stylish. We did however have in issue with the fact that there was never anyone on staff when we were there.

We took the Airport bus to Plaza Cataluna and walked to the location. This part of Barcelona is not a super easy place to navigate on your own and we ran into a few issues with that. Once we arrive, The door to the building is locked and there is a sign posted that says to check in you have to go completely across town to another complex. This was a hassle but It was worth it.

The little pedestrian plaza is awesome. It has a few good places for tapas and drinks and there was a market on saturday. It is a very local area that you will rarely see tourists. Its also a short walk to the water and La Rambla.

Please contact me with any questions

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We took a taxi from the airport but got the bus back which was much cheaper. We found the location perfect and enjoyed the tapas, bars and cafes in this area. The studio was clean and had all the equipment we needed. It would have been perfect for two but we had our teenage daughter with us and space was limited when the bed settee was pulled out. The rooms aren't serviced, only rubbish removed and beds made. No clean towels in 7 days so you might want to take your own. We didn't find the room particularly noisy and you could shut the windows as the ac was good. Internet access was free and reception loaned my daughter a usb cable so she could use her laptop. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had no problem with pickpockets although we were very careful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allada Apartments

Address: Allada Vermell 6 - 8, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allada Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allada Apartments are located next to the Born, one of the city's most modern districts. There is a vibrant nightlife but also a great deal of culture, such as the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Mar, and an infinite array of designer shops, boutiques and shoe stores. The beach is just a 20-minute walk away, making it the ideal place to enjoy the city both day and night, both in summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Allada Barcelona
Apartamentos Allada Hotel Barcelona
Allada Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allada Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.