We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona to your Saves list
Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona
Placa del Mar 1 - 4, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Sea Point Youth Hostel) (La Barceloneta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hostel in superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is located in a very busy area just by the seaside. You can almost step out onto sand when comming out of the hostel. Rooms are decent. Lockers in the rooms. Bathrooms renovated and kept clean. Definitively recommended

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
6
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

The one reason to stay at this hostel would be the location--right on the beach! Also, theres a nearby metro line to get to major attractions in the city. But the staff wasn't very helpful or organized, everything feels kind of wet and sandy, the rooms are seperated by walls that dont really reach the ceiling--so you can hear EVERYTHING going on 5 rooms down...might as well pay for a 20-bed dorm...otherwise, I hope you're looking for a party hostel, because you'll hear it no matter what.
What really made this a memorable experience was the fact that there was a bum sleeping in our dorm with us. We found out later that apparently nobody else was supposed to be checked into that room. He was a nice bum though, slept for a straight 24 hours, snored like a diesel truck ALL NIGHT, and the funny smell in our room left when he did....so.....I guess security isnt that great. good luck.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

This hostel was literally right on the beach! Small dorm, but that was fine. The dorm also had security lockers which were very handy! Breakfast was good - toast, spreads, cereals, juice. Staff were friendly and informative. There were 3 computers all with internet. This hostel is about a 20 minute walk away from the centre of town, but great to stay at for the beach. There are frequent bus services that take you in to the heart of Barcelona. The bathroom, was small but tidy. The only thing to complain about was ventilation, it got quite stuffy as you couldnt open the windows.

  • Liked — location to beach
  • Disliked — small dorm
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

overall the hotel was looking kinda crap. there was this big building with balconys and [--] but the hostel was like 6 rooms in the first floors.
the location is the best thing about this hostel.

the people there couldnt help us much and we think cleaning staff stole our ipod.

the room itself was crazy [--]. it was so small. well i thought who cares first. but after the first night i did. my arms and each of my bones where like crap after 1 night. i had serious pain in my back because it seemed like they never replaced the matrasse. when i looked under the beds etc. there was all over with dirt. it was just discusting.

  • Liked — free internet at least... and the sea was right next to it so ok.
  • Disliked — allmost everything
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

Hi guys
If you want a fab place to stay that is safe, close to the beautiful beach this is the one. Caring staff, that learn your names and you are not just a room number. Located at the back of a cafe type place which is very handy. The rooms are very tidy and the bathrooms are great. Nice bunch of people!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

Stayed for a night at this hostel. Facilities are very basic but clean. Breakfast was ok too. The bathroom was new. And the area where the hostel is located (Barceloneta) is great and has got loads of restaurants.

When I stayed there, there were not much kids so the place was kind of quiet. The receptionist, Sarah, was really nice and helpful. Even though I checked out that morning, she let me hang around till like 9pm when it was time to catch my bus to Madrid. She even let me charge the battery of my digicam!

Overall, it was a nice experience. I will be back! And yes, check out my photos...

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

This hostel was very nice and well organized. The staff were very friendly. They have satalite television and free internet. The bathrooms are fairly new and the lockers are spacious and helpful. Each bed is equipted with a private reading light... extras are always nice. Also at night there is a guard at the door so that random people cannot just walk in. Everything in Barcelona is within walking distance but what I liked best was how the beach was literally 2 steps outside of the front doors. I defenitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona

Address: Placa del Mar 1 - 4, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Sea Point Youth Hostel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Barceloneta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Sea Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.