We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercer Boria BCN

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercer Boria BCN to your Saves list
Mercer Boria BCN
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mercer Boria was in prime location to the city centre, walking distance to so many shops and the seaside. Being right in the middle of everything made the trip really great. The apartment was a great size.. very spacious, clean, neat and modern with friendly staff. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Boria BCN, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs Erinnicole,

I'm feel very satisfied to read comments like yours. I'm glad that your experience in Hotel Mercer Bòria BCN was great, and we're waiting for your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    39
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
45
38
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away for my birthday & it was an enjoyable one. When arriving at the hotel, the door gives a big hint to what to expect inside. Modern, clean & a friendly greeting! With the room we found the bathroom to be great & the room to be perfectly light, not too many lights & not too little. As for the hotels position, right next to the metro stop so you can travel to any metro stop with ease! A five to ten minute walk to the centre & also bars located on the same street. The free wifi also came as a free bonus & would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend on 12 October and found the hotel very nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. The location is excellent near many good bars and restaurants in the picturesque Born area and very close to the metro. All hotels in the gothic and born areas would have some street noise at night due to pedestrian traffic, however the street outside the hotel is relatively quiet and we were not disturbed by noise at all. This is not a a typical chain hotel with a large lobby,restaurant, parking and concierge services, however if you like small boutique style establishments with helpful staff, local area recommendations, then this hotel should do nicely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed from Oct 9th for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless, it is in an ideal spot in the Gothic quarter, a 5 minute walk from the cathedral, 10 minutes from Las Ramblas. Staff bent over backwards to make us happy and gave great advice on where and where not to go. Only minor complaints were the room was a little dark and it could get a little noisy on a night, but these were only small issues for us. If we head back to Barcelona I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here one night after a cruise in Oct '12. As soon as we found the front door locked and had to be buzzed in, I knew we were in trouble. The reception area is the size of my master bedroom. The elevator is so small I could not go in it (i'm 6'5). My wife took two trips up the elevator with one piece of luggage each trip and my daughter and I walked up four flights of stairs with all the carry on luggage. To be honest, the room was very nice. It was very modern with a separate bedroom and nice bathroom. It is on a very noisy side street that kept us up all night even with the windows shut. We didn't get a minute of sleep. It wasn't even cheap. It was over $300 USD for the 3 of us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found Hotel Boria BCN via Trip Advisor and Expedia. The reviews were mostly good on both sites and the photos appealing. The rate was acceptable for where we wanted to be in the city.

Pros:
1. Location - it is located in or at least very close to the Gothic area of the city and is a block from the Jaume I metro (tube) station. A number of excellent attractions are within an easy walk.
2. Separate rooms - I traveled with my wife and two boys. We booked a "loft" on Expedia and stayed in room 303. The kids loved having their own room and their own mattresses. We loved having our own space as well.
3. Fridge, sink, and dishes - there was a small refrigerator, sink, dishes, and some silverware that allowed us to eat in or snack a few nights. That was convenient and welcomed.
4. High ceilings in the main bedroom.
5. Great towels.

Cons:
1. Smell - the small lobby and lower levels of the hotel smell badly.
2. Noise - the hotel is located in an area surrounded by lots of foot traffic. The noise at night started early (8 pm) and went on late (sometimes past 3 am). It was RIDICULOUS - thank goodness we had noise canceling earphones - we had to sleep with them. Seriously.
3. TV - Limited to Eurosport in German or CNN in English.
4. Internet - We rely on the internet a lot to get around when vacationing. Unfortunately, the signal strength was very poor and the provider only allowed one user per "account".
5. Low ceilings - doorways were 5'9"-ish. We bumped our heads daily.
6. No real lobby or lounge area - Besides your room, there was no place to sit, relax, or do anything else. Internet was no better in the lobby than in the room.

Room Tip: I don't think I'd book this hotel again and I'd encourage anyone considering this proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thr hotel was about a 10/15 minute walk from the aerobus. Which was good and it wasn't too hard to find. It has a really contempory feel for being soo close to the gothic quarter. It is off a side street but not far down it. The receptionists were soo lovely and chatty. We felt very welcomed. When we got to the room we were soo surprised by its size. A huge double bedroom and a separate lounge/kitchenette area. There was even a welcome bottle of cava and some chocolates.
We paid for breakfast before we left the UK and it was fairly simple, cereal, bread and ham and cheeses and the onside chef would cook you up eggs however you wanted. They even made you tea or coffee.
The staff couldn't help much with tourist info but there was a big tourist information hub not far away. There was a night guard so you could get back at whatever hour of the late night/early morning.
The hotel is nicely situated for the cathedral, beach, Palau de Musica and several museums.
The room was cleaned daily and there was no sign of dust in our room. Clean towels were given daily too.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercer Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Boria BCN

Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercer Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Boria BCN Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercer Boria BCN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.