We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunotel Aston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunotel Aston to your Saves list
Sunotel Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   08029 | Calle Paris 101, 08029 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The only positive for this hotel is its location.
Everything else was bad. The bed is very uncomfortable. Pillow feels like a bag of straws.

The room was very small and the shower partition was broken in several places.

The air con makes strange, loud, and seemingly randomly spaced noise which does not allow you to sleep at night.

This was the worst stay i ever had in a hotel. And the price was not low!

Be warned.

Room Tip: I saw two rooms in the hotel, on different floors and they were both tiny and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    91
    76
    30
    13
See reviews for
21
114
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice and clean hotel, comfortable rooms. I can't imagine the staff not being friendly as some of the other reviewers said unless you were extremely annoying and horrible guest. Reception staff made us feel sooooo welcomed that we would definitely come back again. They were all so professional with excellent knowledge of the area and all Barcelona. Especially Ana!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Hotel is definitely not what you would expect from a 3 star Hotel. However the rooms were clean and comfortable enough. One of the staff members was so horrible that I could't talk to her again during my short visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room were the shower area is working properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sleepless night.. the bed was so old and hard, couldnt sleep at all !!
Apart from the fact that there is nothing worth seeing in this area, its not as central as advertised, even though the underground is quite near...
We were very disappointed with the hotel apart from the bed which was a nightmare, and the pillows could have not been there since they were practically threadbare, the bathroom had a lot left to desire, we were given one glass and one tiny shower gel and the shower handle just came apart. At night we could hear the lift going up and down noisily.
The only good thing about the hotel was the friendly staff and the restaurant.
Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the Sun Aston hotel for a week, very enjoyable staff very good especially Joseph at reception,he was very helpful always and Paulo in the Resturant and food very good. Metro 5minutes walk away which was great.. All in all a great holiday..

Room Tip: Rooms at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

+ Location good, quite near supermarket, underground stop, cafés, restaurants.
+ Sunbathing area was small but enough to get a nice tan.
+ Clean room.
+ Staff was quite helpful.
+ WiFi in your room and free!

- Swimming pool's water was very cold.
- Sheets weren't changed in a 5-day trip
- Bed was hard, but after a long day you just fall asleep so it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The people who work here are so helpful and friendly, so we think of this hotel quite fondly, even though the beds are less than comfortable and the elevator sound is constant (a deep swishing sound, not too annoying but it's hard to ignore).
When we complained about the bed after the first night, the management immediately moved us to a better room. Ok, so the next bed wasn't much better, but we improvised with blankets/padding and the maids knew not to mess with our careful set-up for the rest of our stay.
They offered to give us an even bigger room if we weren't happy with the second room, but we decided to stay put since the hotel is not the place to spend time in Barcelona. They cleaned extremely thoroughly, were very polite/unobtrusive. No nice views from this hotel (from what we could tell)
Another perk is the cafe at the corner- where one can sit outside and enjoy delicious pastries and sandwiches...the orange juice will set you back about 13 US dollars. (so good though!)

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for help is you need anything, the staff is very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunotel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Aston

Address: 08029 | Calle Paris 101, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunotel Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunotel Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Barcelona
Barcelona Aston
Sunotel Aston Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunotel Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.