We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
New England
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Functional Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am now inspired to hang peg hooks across the walls in every room in my house. I am having hook withdrawal, now that I am home, no longer in the organizational sanctuary that was my room at Casa Camper - hooks, lots of shelves, open closets. But, that is the least of the many positive features of this hotel. I began corresponding with the fine folks at Casa Camper about five months before our stay, as a pre-cruise visit to Barcelona. There are five of us in the family, and my daughter has mobility issues. The staff at Casa Camper was all super helpful regarding her needs, even renting a wheelchair on our behalf so that it was ready for us upon arrival. We rented two rooms, one a suite, and the other the room directly next door. Our two sons stayed in the regular room, and they found the hammock room to be delightful, very fun. My oldest son enjoyed swinging in the hammock while watching the Olympics, with the outside window open to the sounds of the charming street below. The rooms have been described by other reviewers, but I want to say that there was complete privacy - the power shades in the bathrooms open and close with the touch of a button to close out the light or to open the view to the uniform potted plants outside, giving the feel of being in a secret tropical hideaway. Pocket doors separate the bathrooms from the main room and the toilets are also pocketed. The rooms are very clean and well insulated for sound from within the hotel as well as outside noise. The design and the materials lend themselves to disinfection. I love the fact that the floors are slate (or something like slate, anyway) as they scream 'clean', plus they look quite chic. The flavor of the hotel is eco-green (even though the walls are red!, haha). The dark red walls contribute to a sense of comfort and simplicity - not fussy. Relaxed luxury. The situation of the hotel on Carrer Elisabets is extremely charming. Saying the street is narrow is an understatement. The views from the hammock rooms are excellent in that they give an authentic old world street view - leaning out the window, looking left or right, is quite unique. The roof terrace provided a welcome respite. We enjoyed getting dessert and water and juices from the 24 hour food bar, and bringing them upstairs to the terrace at night. In the morning, it is very nice to go up there early, and listen to the sounds of the city awakening, the sunlight hitting the rooftop herb garden. More about the food bar - it was wonderful to be able to grab drinks before and after a day of serious sight seeing, and it was particularly helpful for our sons, who always seem to be eating, to grab a sandwich anytime they wanted it - there was quite a variety of sandwiches, BTW, inventive fare, not basic. Don't let the simple facade of Casa Camper fool you - much thought and planning has clearly gone into making sure that the customer has an outstanding experience.

The staff is young, energetic, enthused, friendly, committed. In transit on the airplane, the wheel on my daughter's walker became dangerously loose and my husband needed a specific wrench to tighten it. The staff person had him come into the maintenance area and allowed him to go through the tool chest until he found the right size wrench, which was fantastic, as the alternative would have been trying to find a hardware store, as her walker had to be fixed, no question about that. Another above and beyond act was that on the day of our departure for the cruise port, we overslept, jet lag taking it's toll. The very nice personalized breakfast was closed at that time, but one of the worker's came up to me and offered to make us cafe con leche to go, which we gratefully accepted. Another example is that we had a last minute issue with our arrival airport transfer. Via email, the Camper staff promptly found us alternate transportation and simply charged the fare to our room bill. The transfer they arranged went efficiently and smoothly, the driver even giving us a fantastic narrative of the area as he drove us in. As noted by others, Camper is in a fantastic location, walking distance to nearly all touristic sites, but at the same time paradoxically, off the beaten path. We asked for a recommendation to a local tapas restaurant, and I am very glad that I followed the advice of the staff person. We went to Bar Lobo, a very short walk from the hotel, and it was delightful. (Do not go to Ciudad Comtal!)

We loved our entire experience with Casa Camper and if we return to Barcelona in the future, which I hope we will, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    143
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
240
551
74
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Loved it. The location great, room great, service great. Modern hotel with "split" rooms, one side is for sleeping with bed and bathroom, the other side is for lounging facing the street with a balcony and a hammock!

The service is great. The breakfast is good, and I love the fact there were snack 24 hours a day, so you could come in from a late night out and have something to eat.

We were there during my birthday and the bought out a little cake with a candle in it for me with breakfast. Love that attention to detail it was total not expected and a nice surprise.

The staff was friendly and very helpful, and the location great. I didn't want to leave!! I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

One of the best hotels we've had the privilege of staying in, there are no faults.
We arrived in Pl Cataluyna, crossed over the bottom side of the square - the direction that the aero bus had come from, passed a pedestrian street and came to Las Ramblas (saw the little sign 'Ramblas')
Went down the right side of ramblas (traffic goes down this side, up the opposite side), past the Burger King, past a little street on right and then turned up the second street on right (with a pharmicie on the corner).
Continued up this narrow old town-like street, it widened out to accomodate a cafe with it's outside table and chairs, narrows again -and there on your left - Casa Camper.
The entire walk - about 10 mins maximum from the bus stop.
The area is very beautiful and feels totally safe, plenty of eateries all around, lots of choice, well done to Casa Camper in it's unique style and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Excellent stay at the Casa Camper at the end of July.
Rooms are clean, service is excellent and location is prime.
24hr snack bar is fantastic after a long day of pounding the pavement.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Casa Camper is a very modern hotel with a great location on a quiet street, about 200m from Las Ramblas. Even late at night we felt very safe making the walk back, as there are young people out at the cafes and bars. The staff is youthful and very helpful with any request. The division into bedroom and sitting room is a bit odd, but we did use the sitting room on occasion. The room is very modern in its furnishings and the bathroom facilities well thought out. A wonderful choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Well the reviews are spot on with this hotel. We loved it. Great location, quiet, and excellent customer service. We did not have the suite-- not available. We stay in the standard room. It has a great shower and we did not need to spend time in the separate room with the hammock. Although it was cute and we took a picture of it. The regular room had plenty of space if you are there to see Barcelona not sit in the room and watch TV. My husband really like the eggs cooked special for him. I thought the teas were great. We will certainly be back to Barcelona and will certainly stay at Casa Camper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Casa Camper was a very efficiently run hotel with attention paid to detail and customer comfort. The rooms are extremely pleasant to spend time in especially during the Summer months where you need a break mid day. The staff were extremely helpful and warm making our stay even more relaxed and pleasant. One small issue we did have was with the shutter on the small veranda as it was manualy operated and difficult to handle... overall would surely go back to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Address: Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Barcelona
Barcelona Casa Camper Hotel
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.