We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new hotel in a fantastic, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Gala Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vincci Gala Barcelona to your Saves list
Vincci Gala Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda Sant Pere, 32, 8010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel in a fantastic, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had originally booked a hotel directly on the nearby Placa Catalunya, but I found this new hotel and changed my booking right before my trip. I am so glad I did! Although very close to Placa Catalunya, which is the center of everything, the Vincci Gala is on a much more peaceful street and was a very welcome change to the often crowded sidewalks and attractions in this busy city.

The decor is very sleek and contemporary, which I am normally not impressed by. However, I was very impressed with how this hotel was designed. The feel was much more comfortable than most minimalist, contemporary design tends to be.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed the Vincci experience at our hotel.

We hope that you will come back to see us soon. We would be delighted to welcome you.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
79
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I booked into the Vincci Gala for a long weekend stay. We had a standard room at the back of the hotel. I'd booked what I thought was to be a double bed, but the front desk told me that the booking was for a double "room", most of which have twin beds that are pushed together.Apparently I should have requested a double bed separately. Their website needs to be clearer. I was promised that a double mattress would be provided the next day, and then the day after that. It never came.

The rooms are VERY small. You can just about walk around the side of the bed, but not if you have the door open on the hanging cupboard, which is not only a little awkward but will catch out unsuspecting toes pretty painfully. My wife loves her coffee in the morning, but there is no in room coffee/tea making, which for a hotel like this is a let down.

The hotel looks new, which made small things in the bathroom surprising. The plug in the bath didn't popup and the wall mount for the shower handle was hanging off the wall, making showering by hand necessary. Presumably there is no dialogue between housekeeping and maintenance.

On the plus side, the hotel is very well situated meaning that you can walk to many of the not to be missed places, and easily hop on the metro if walking's not your thing. Taxi ride from the airport was only 30 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for providing us with your impressions.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location, although we regret that some aspects of your stay did not completely live up to your expectations.

We are sorry that you did not like the size of the room. In this respect we would like to clarify that the size of the rooms complies with the regulations in force.

About the tea service, when customers so request, and when available, a kettle is installed in the room. We are sorry that you were not properly notified of this.

Our facilities are inspected regularly and are subject to quality controls, and hence we regret the temporary inconveniences that took place during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments, because they help us improve our service. Without a doubt, our customer's satisfaction is our reason for being.

We remain at your service for whatever you might need, and we hope that in spite of these inconveniences you can visit us once again.

With best regards,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

What a great hotel!
We were there for a three day trip and it was exactly what we needed - a welcoming base... in the centre of town... that was close to everything... and a real relief to get back to each night to rest our weary legs!
The entire property was immaculate. The room was spacious and well laid out. The bed was very very comfortable. And although this is officially a four star hotel, the staff were all so helpful and accommodating that they alone deserve a fifth star.
If I absolutely had to find a fault it would be that the water in the shower was too hot - the mixer was a little tricky to get to a comfortable temperature. But given that most hotel reviews typically have an issue with there not being enough hot water, I guess this isn't much of a hardship.
We were recommended this hotel by some friends and were so glad they'd found it. Hopefully some of you will too...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read comments such as yours that encourage us to continue making an effort so that our customers' experiences at our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.

We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again to any of our hotels.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

So before I came to this hotel there were many things I was wondering that had not been reviewed so I am going to try and cover all of these.
I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break and was very impressed. Located a 5 minute walk to plaza de catalunyes which is midway of la rambla and about a 30 minute walk or 5-10 minute cab drive from Porto olympica, it was a real hidden gem.

The outside : very clean and modern and as you walk in the main entrance once the porter has greeted you you are greeted by a gorgeous marble staircase with rich red carpet streaming down the steps.

The room : very nice and modern, extremely clean, large bed. Lighting control panels either side of the bed which control the spotlights on the 5m high ceiling, the wall hanging lamps and the LED lighting around the extra large bed and wardrobes. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a very modern safe with lighting inside. There was a 32" Samsung HD TV wall mounted which had around 80 channels. The balcony has a 2 person table on it which is all (much like everything else) very clean . The bed was also extremely comfortable and most importantly you could tell it was clean. In saying all this, the room we were given was unfortunately interconnecting which unfortunately enabled me to hear every conversation that was had and vice versa I am sure..... You could also hear the footsteps in the morning as they walked which was unfortunate.

The bathroom: when I go away on holiday I hate nothing more than a small dingy bathroom full of scum around the bath and lime scale on the taps along with a mirror that fogs up when you shower.... This couldn't have been further from this. It was clean and new and not a single bit of dirt. Everything was from porcelanosa which is very nice. The mirror was about 1.5 metres wide with LED lighting within and didn't fog up, the surfaces were corean which is a very smooth and clean surface. However the plug in the sink was broken which meant that every time you wanted to drain the sink, you needed to pull this up........ Not the biggest deal but still !

The staff: very friendly and kind, speaking almost perfect English. More than happy to help and even help decide restaraunte sand book. On arrival we were given a complimentary drink from the tranquil bar located to the rear which was very nice. There was a lovely outside terrace area with again... Very modern seating and styling. The hallways were always being cleaned and lifts were clean.

THE GOOD: staff are more than friendly, clean and modern hotel, plenty of storage, reliable safe, great location
THE BAD : plug didn't work, the fact we had an interconnecting room with strangers

Overall this is a definite hidden gem and would no doubt return.

Hope this helps ! :)

Room Tip: Make sure it isn't interconnecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your comments and for having chosen us for your stay in Barcelona.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location and that you rated positively the room that was assigned to you, as well as the treatment received from our staff.

On the other hand, we regret that in spite of our soundproofing in the guestrooms, you were bothered by noise.

In spite of this inconvenience, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to be able to welcome you again.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Excellent hotel, highly recommended, great value for money. Friendly staff, comfy beds, great location, a gem in barcelona. Since its a new hotel I didn't know what to expect but I was surprised for the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon at our hotel.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has not been open long, but book it before people find out about it! Perfectly located about 3 mins from Place Catalyuna. We had a standard double - 109. Nice and quiet, despite being overlooked by local flats, lovely terrace. Plenty of storage in the room, very modern design. Wifi works well, although slow. You can pay for a speed upgrade if it bothers. Safe in room, and mini bar. Staff are lovely, and the bar is worth a drink in the evening. We paid about 30 Euro for a cab from the airport.

Go before this becomes too popular!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read comments such as yours that encourage us to continue making an effort so that our customers' experiences at our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.

We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again to any of our hotels.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from a three day visit to Barcelona. This was our first trip away without our children for a couple of years so we wanted to get it right. I have been a user of Trip Advisor for many years and a member for a good few years and this is the first time I was sufficiently impressed to review a hotel. This is a brand new hotel, so new in fact that we were a little bit nervous when booking it but the staff I spoke to before we travelled were so reassuring and helpful that we decided to give it a go. I am glad to report that were delighted we did so because it is an amazing hotel in an amazing location. It is about a three minute walk to Plaza Catalunya which is the epicentre of Barcelona. It is also the place where the airport shuttle bus starts and finishes which was really handy. It is also three minutes from Passeig de Gracia which is a wide tree lined road with all the high end shops such as Bulgari, Chanel etc and if you go three minutes in the opposite direction you get to the gothic area. It is on the nicer side of the La Rambla in that the western side of La Rambla, known as the Raval area, can apparently be a bit seedy at night. There is amazing shopping very close to the hotel. There are a couple of lovely terraces to the rear of the hotel. The bar area is really cool. The staff were as helpful in person as they were when making the booking. The breakfast was first class and on one of the mornings we ate quite late and the staff were still refilling baskets, fruit juices etc right until they finished. Our room was lovely and quite, the bed was really comfortable and everything worked including the a/c! The free wifi worked as well in the room as it did down at recpetion. Its not a huge hotel which is nice. I think there were less than 80 rooms so if you are looking for an in-house disco you wont find it here. There is a small supermarket across from the hotel and there is a large supermarket around the corner in the basement of the biggest Cortes De Ingles I have ever seen, on Plaza Catalyuna. There are a couple of really smart cafes where we got lovely coffee and pastries beside the hotel. We ate in two amazing tapas restaurants Bambarol http://bambarol.cat/?lang=en which is number 2 on the restaurant list and Sensi Bistro http://www.sensi.es/bistro/ which is number 40 in the restaurant list at the moment (there is also a Sensi restaurant listed number 80 but the one we ate in is on Calle Regomir. I love my food and they were both fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Gala Barcelona, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day.

We would be delighted to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best wishes.
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincci Gala Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Gala Barcelona

Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 32, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Gala Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, Vincci Gala hotel offers luxurious rooms in a protected 19th-century palace. Free Wi-Fi is available. The orginal facade, floor and central staircase of this unique hotel have all been preserved, creating a balance of traditional arquitecture and modern design. The air-conditioned rooms include a private bathroom with hairdryer, free toiletries, and bath or shower. The rooms also come with a free laptop safe, extra large beds, satellite TV with pay-per-view channels, and a minibar. A restaurant and snack bar are available on-site, and the hotel offers a breakfast buffet. Laundry and car rental services are available at a surcharge, and the property can provide tourist information. Vincci Gala hotel is located opposite Urquinaona Metro Station, 2 minutes' walk from Placa Catalunya Square. There are many bars, restaurants and shops in the surroundings, and you can reach Gaudi's La Sagrada Familia in 15 minutes by metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vincci Gala Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Gala Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Gala Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.