We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
20 Euros Gift
Ranked #12 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
new york city
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

H1898 is a very unique hotel.
love the historical building, on a very nice location.
nice rooftop pool
very clean and modern on the inside.
the room is not as big but very cozy.
i would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    597
    97
    36
    37
See reviews for
389
1,769
78
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My wife and I LOVED this hotel. We were there for 5 days and could not think of one negative thing about it! The roof top pool and terrace is stunning!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We booked this hotel for our wedding trip and settled with a superior room on the sixt floor. The room was very classy and nicely decorated, the bed was really comfortable and big. It had a bath tub where we spent some time when not having the energy to take the elevator down to the cosy and very relaxing spa or up to the roof terrace for a drink in the sun and a dip in the pool. The roof terrace was also a perfect place to grab a beer while waiting for the wife to finish her spa treatments.

We didn't include breakfast in the reservation so we tried some alternatives, best was the roof top breakfast at the hotel, a generous and really good breakfast including everything we could wish for (and more). A really good alternative was the starbucks located just around the corner where we spent some mornings enjoying a breakfast on the way out into the city. Also tried the room service continental breakfast the morning we were leaving Barcelon but that wasn't much to cheer for.

Overall a really nice hotel that really exceeded our expectations. The personal was helpful and professional and the rooms were cleaned two or three times a day (without we ever noticing the staff). We will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was delighted with my stay at Hotel 1898. The rooms were exquisite, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Most of all I loved the pool on the roof and being able to see 360 degrees of the city. The hotel is located in the heart of things so no matter which area you want to visit, you can actually walk there if you wish. I would stay there again. I told countless people about the hotel and how beautiful it is.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

1898 was a real treat. Friends recommended it so we had positive expectations, which were met and exceeded. Terrific location, great amenities (we used the indoor and the outdoor pools extensively after our days of touring), very responsive staff. We took a room in the back to be away from potential Lla Rambla noise, so it may have been smaller than we otherwise would have had, but it was quite comfortable - bed and pillows were great for sleeping comfortably. And free internet service was a major plus! The hotel definitely enhanced our visit to a fabulous city.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Booked a "classic" room (the only kind of room left) at this hotel for a week-end. Was hugely disappointed : these rooms open onto a very narrow inside courtyard with a glass roof, which makes the atmosphere in the rooms really stuffy and hot, and dark 24/7 like in a windowless conference room... One cannot tell the weather outside or the temperature when waking up in the morning. Noisy corridors with cleaning staff waking you up every morning no later than 8am. And the Worst reception staff of a luxury hotel ever.
Therefore, we did not try any other service at this hotel and had breakfast at the next door Starbucks!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Took a while to book in as the first two rooms they showed us were at the back and side and rather small. Managed finally to get one on Las Ramblas - well worth it. We went for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed the romantic swimming pool, the beautiful bathroom and very big comfortable bed. The toiletries in the bathroom were good but the television was hopeless - but we did need it!!!!!
Yes the bar was expensive and the breakfast very overpriced. We tried the breakfast on the last day and the room was almost empty. You could have anything including champayne and the best spanish ham. Unless you have a huge appitite or lots of money to spend it was not worth it! For supper we went round the corner to rear of hotel and ate in the tappas resturant at night - just heavenly food! Tried having lunch in the market - very much a local custom and worth it.
The goudi parc was worth going to but full of tourist (like us) and locals enjoying the parc. Local buses cheap and easy to use. Watch your handbags at all times
But back to the hotel - the roof top pool looked lovely with decadent sun lounges. Stunning views from every direction.
The bar and lounge area was kept beautifully and smelt devine.
Staff were very friendly and were helpful every time we needed their help with resturant reservations. All in all you felt like royalty from the time you stepped over the threshold to the time you left - well done Hotel 1898!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.