We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best, wonderful, relaxing, spotless, expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €20 on select meals
Ranked #10 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Yorkshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best, wonderful, relaxing, spotless, expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Our 3rd stay at 1898, we will return again and again, we have reccomended 1898 to all our family and friends, best for location, style. 1898 is right on "La Ramblas" perfect for all the restaurants and nightlife. The roof top terrace and pool area is a superb advantage point for viewing the whole of the city, Both the cellar pool and roof pool are superb. All staff are polite friendly and extremely proffesional.
Having said all that the cost of our stay was way above our budget (very expensive hotel) however worth saving up for.
Well done Hotel 1898 xx

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,915
    525
    87
    36
    33
See reviews for
331
1505
62
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We asked for early check-in, but when we arrived there was only a twin room available. I asked for one of their larger Classic (Standard) rooms & was told that there was one on the 3rd floor, but we would have to come back at 3 pm. They stored our luggage & told us that we could relax on the roof which had plenty of comfortable places to rest with a bar, pool & a nice view of the city. Drinks are expensive.

We decided to check out La Ramblas which is right out the door of the hotel. La Boqueria is a short walk down the street. Lots to see & do as soon as you leave the hotel. Perfect location!

When we got back we were a little disappointed because if this was one of their larger rooms, I would hate to be stuck in their smaller rooms. The bed was 2 beds pushed together, but it was perfectly fine & comfortable.

There was a desk/chair, bench to put our luggage on, a small stuffed chair with glass table, a flat screen TV & a closet with a kettle/cups & instant coffee & tea. There was a mini bar & an in-room safe.

For 3 days we had trouble with that safe. The first time we could not get it open & we had to wait for the front desk to send someone up to open it so we could get our cash/camera. We were told that it was the battery & they replaced it & we were finally able to get our cash/camera to go sightseeing. Unfortunately, the same thing happened the next morning when we were ready to go out for the day. Again, they sent someone up & they had trouble opening it & told us we could leave & they would get it open...huh, leave without our money/camera!!! They again got it open & said maintenance would be up, but suggested we put our stuff in the lock box in back of the front desk. I told them one of the reasons we picked Hotel 1898 was that we had a safe in the room.

Again, they said it was fixed, but again the same thing happened. I put some of our cash/valuables in the lock box, but after the 3rd time was afraid to lock things in the in-room safe since we wasted so much of our time trying to get someone to either open or close it. No one from management suggested they replace the in-room safe or find us another room...frustrating!

Also, the night before we were to leave we asked for a wake-up call for 6 am....no call & luckily one of us was up by 6:20 am. When we told them we did not get the call, they said it was automatic. I saw the girl write it in a book. I did not think that they should question us..why would we say we did not get the call??? There was no clock in the room.

The bathroom was beautiful..all green marble & plenty of hot water. The towels were very large & thick & robes & slippers are provided. Also, the toiletries were about the best we have gotten in Europe, shampoo, body wash, body lotion, small bar of soap, comb, razor/cream, toothbrushes/small toothpaste, shoe shine sponge & cotton balls & Q-tips....nice!

The spa area is lovely with a nice pool. Even if you don't use their spa services check out the grotto-like pool area.

They have turn down service with chocolates with nuts. The bar area is nice & comfortable. I liked the fact that we had to use our key in the elevator to go upstairs to our room.

The TV had very little programs in English. There was only 1 small drawer & that drawer did not open completely.

All & all this is a lovely hotel in a great location for sightseeing. Close to the subway & within walking distance of a lot of the top sights. We spent a lot of time in the restaurants in Placa Reial.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Hotel 1898 was a splurge for the first part of our honeymoon to Spain, and it was worth every penny. As noted here, it's just a wonderfully luxurious retreat from the craziness of La Rambla. Steps from the Boqueria market, it's an elegant hotel that's quiet, plush and stylish. Our deluxe room was big, the bed was incredibly comfortable and our outdoor terrace was the perfect place to relax at the end of the day before dinner. We also loved the rooftop terrace and pool (seriously, don't miss the mojitos), and the spa/fitness center, which doesn't get much press, is gorgeous, with a steam room, sauna, pool and workout room. Don't listen to the reviews that call the staff a bit chilly -- we found them to be warm and kind. They even surprised us with a free bottle of cava waiting for us in our room -- a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

If you're spending just a few days in Barcelona, don't look any further than H1898.
The location is perfect, on La Ramblas, 200 meters from Place de Cataluna, etc....

If you stay do not miss the Mercato 2 blocks away...unbelievabll fantastic.

Also, the shopping area in the across La Ramblas in the square of Cataluna is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. It's in a good location and has nice amenities, but I've never had worse service anywhere. It's also expensive. Save your money and stay somewhere that wants your business. This place obviously doesn't.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed at the end of May for 3 nights. We paid for a superior room and we were not disapointed. All the facialites were excellant. We have breakfast in the hotel 2 mornings, it was expensive at 20 euros but there was plenty of choice. The prices for thr restuarant and bar etc were high but it is a 4* hotel. All the staff were polite and very helpful. Would definatley go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and a friend and I stayed in the Hotel 1898 for 4 nights in May. We had two rooms, one in the front and one in the back over a small tapas restaurant in the street below. It is an excellent location, right on the Ramblas. The hotel windows are tight enough that the street noises were not a problem. The mattress and pillows and sheets were top notch. The staff was friendly and professional. there were a few concerns or peculiarities that are worth mentioning. First, when I asked for an iron and board the staff told me "this isn't allowed in hotels in Spain" - that was a bogus excuse - we easily got irons and boards in other hotels we stayed and hotels that were a great deal older than the 1898. Second, they accepted 3 reservations for spa services and just before we arrived they announced that the pool and spa area was going to go under some maintenance. We arrived for the services, thinking that the maintenance would be over, but even in the early evening it was impossible to have relaxing services. Fortunately the spa person suggested we not try to go ahead with the service. The hotel should have had the courtesy to cancel us and offer another session time or at least a complimentary hotel service in exchange for not being able to meet our reservation and our expectation after a long trans-atlantic flight. AND we were not able to use these services that were part of the hotel amenities and there was no discount or compiimentary service in exchange. Finally, when we departed the front desk screwed up on a mini-bar charge that was their screw-up. We had already checked out with a sizable bill for 2 rooms on a credit card and the front desk wanted us to cough up $10 cash to settle their mistake. The front desk should have had enough discretion to drop the issue and take the less than $10 "hit" that was of their own making. The poor front desk guy was absolutely in fear of the manager not accepting his mistake and that I should be sure and take care of it. Again, the hotel should have just said "sorry for even this inconvenience and here is a bottle of Spanish olive oil or wine for your time". Those negatives were just unprofessional for a hotel that should be top notch. Final note - don't be tricked by the beautiful photo of the rooftop pool. It was a soaking area - probably not more than 4' deep and not more than 12' x 24' or smaller. Anyway, there is no way you do anything but cool down from a break in the sun and the water is warm. We were under the impression from the photos that we could at least stretch our bodies in the pool and that was impossible. The lower pool was under maintenance so we have no idea whether that could be used for exercise.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.