We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
20 Euros Gift
Ranked #12 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Parkland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to stay in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Right in the middle of town. If you like to walk around this it the perfect place. Loads of restaurants in area. Great bar on the roof with a pool. Wonderful view of the city. Full service. Rooms clean, big and nicely designed. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Might be a little noisy but see if you can overlook the street. There is a train below the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,393
    645
    110
    37
    39
See reviews for
433
1,939
83
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Isn't it nice when you arrive travel weary at your smart and sophisticated hotel and are told that they are upgrading you.
Not when it's from a nice quiet interior room to a noisy room on the street side.
Barcelona bin men work through the night and most of them, apparently in the street under our rear facing room. They take it in turns with the party crowd to ruin your nights sleep. Sunday night was nice and quiet but any other night is very noisy and the poor windows don't deal with the noise at all, so if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind.
The hotel is very nice. Staff are very good.
Breakfast on the roof will set you back what other lesser hotels charge for a room for the night. In fact everything on the roof is expensive. A cocktail will cost you up to five times the price of one a short walk away and both were as good as each other. But they give guests a 20% off voucher so if you are rubbish at maths it balances out.
My advice is to get a quiet interior room at a good price and eat and drink elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location just off the Ramblas. Nice lobby area. Rooms are clean and nice, on the small side, but not unusual for a city hotel. Free wi fi in rooms. Excellent staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has everything you would want in a hotel. The food is great as well as the facilities. The roof top patio/pool area is spectacular and the service was fantastic. It was such a charming hotel and if you like something a little more traditional and cozy you will love it. I stayed here with my 19 yr old son for 5 nights and unfortunately we were there around the time of the riots on the Las Ramblas which was a bit unnerving. Once we got back to our hotel it was like our own little paradise away from everything. We felt totally safe. There was even someone at the door making sure no one got into the hotel that shouldn't be there. The sangrias were absolutely amazing and we even ordered room service one evening and had one. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had breakfast on the rooftop patio. Both were wonderful! I did however find this area of the city a little worrisome in the evening because of everything I had read and of course the riots didn't help. I would probably of felt a little more comfortable had my husband been with us. If someone was traveling alone (especially if it was a female) I'm not sure I would recommend this area although it would be unfortunate to miss out on this wonderful hotel. During the daytime it was an awesome area. It was bustling with people but I didn't mind that at all and walking distance to the water. The hotel had a Starbucks just around the corner which was also a bonus for my morning latte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Amazing hotel, amazing room, amazing location and amazing staff. What a fantastic stay we had in Barcelona. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this great city.
The complementary bottle of cava the arrived on the morning of my partners birthday was an especially nice touch considering we hadn't even informed them. Thank you to the staff for that :-)

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy on the lower floors due to its great location on la rambla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wonderful hotel in an ideal location quiet and peaceful . Booked a standard room which was dark and cool at night but with luxurious fittings and bathroom. Stayed as 2 couples location ideal right on the ramblas but no interference from noise.

Rooftop area stunning service excellent breakfast on the terrace absolutely gorgeous I wouldn't hesitate to return and next time do the boat trip and cable car.

Did the bus tour which was great and spent many a happy hour walking around the quaint squares

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As part of out Scenic Tours Paris to Barcelona River cruise stay three nights at this hotel. Beautifully decorated if a little dark in the corridors. Beautiful spa area in the basement, and the piece de resistance is the roof terrace. Lovely pool area great bar and terrific tapas.

Our room 210 had a small outdoor terrace which was beautiful for a coffee and to read the morning paper

Staff very helpful and friendly

Had one of the best steaks ever in the restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#53 of 512 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 2,771 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#7 of 512 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.