We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see the skyline of Barcelona.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
20 Euros Gift
Ranked #12 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best way to see the skyline of Barcelona.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Celebrate the final day of our holiday having drinks at the Hotel's rooftop bar. Had been advised to visit the hotel by friends who recommend the hotel and we were not disappointed. Staff were very friendly from the reception staff to the rooftop staff. The view is incredible watched the sunset over the Barcelona skyline. Drinks are very reasonably priced and the service is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona following as well your friend’s recommendation! :)
We definitely would like to see you back and welcoming you again, so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    597
    97
    36
    37
See reviews for
390
1,769
78
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay in a lot of nice hotels but this took the biscuit - it was the standard of customer service from the reception staff that really took 1898 out of the ordinary, but the surroundings & ambience were lovely too.

We were 4 girls who had booked 2 twin rooms and, simply because we had told them one of us was celebrating a birthday, they upgraded both rooms to the most spectacular suites with terraces and swimming pools. Later that day, they delivered a bottle of champagne to the birthday girl and then the rather cool chap from London behind reception directed us to the perfect shop for her to buy the perfect pair of boots (not an easy task, as any woman will attest!).

Naturally we responded in time-honoured fashion and, over the course of the weekend, spent as much time and money as we could in the hotel, including more espresso martinis than I care to recall - a week on and I am still recovering!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear that you had a great time and thank you for choosing us as the location for celebrating your birthday in Barcelona!
We are grateful for opinions like yours and hear that you had a really nice stay, that our Staff was great and that you could enjoy all our services and facilities it makes us definitely happy!
Look forward to see you again at the H1898.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was a great experience. The location was excellent but a bit noisy since you are on La Rambla where all the action is. The room size and sleep quality was great if you want to avoid the street noise then opt for higher floor rooms. Great and very helpful staff. Finally the breakfast was really good quality.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the street noise then opt for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, facilities and mostly about our Staff!

Looking forward to have you back in Barcelona and welcoming you again on your next visit.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in November 2013. Our party was upgraded on arrival to 2 huge suites with terraces with their own pools! Just wonderful. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Would enthusiastically recommend this hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your high reviews about our staff, services and facilities.

Thank you once again for your great review and hopefully see you in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and the reception staff were very helpful, if we wanted to hang around we could have got into the room within an hour. We took the offer of our bags being locked in a secure room and got on with exploring Barcelona. When we returned in the afternoon our bags were in our room, which wasn't huge but very comfortable with everything we could have asked for, a comfy huge bed and plenty of towels in the bathroom. We only ate breakfast in the hotel once, expensive but well worth it, lots of choices. One evening we had dinner at the hotel it was reasonably priced and very good. We used the bar in the foyer every day,and would recommend trying the Tapas, we only managed to use the roof top bar once before it was closed. Sadly Barcelona had rain, thunder and lightening for three out of the five days of our visit, did it put us off? No. And when we return we will stay at 1898! On the day we left the hotel our flight wasn't until 8pm, we asked if we could retain the room until the afternoon but due to the hotel being fully booked this wasn't possible. Again they locked our bags away for us and we could use all of the hotel facilities for as long as we needed. As I've already said we found everyone at the hotel to be friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First at we would like to say thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We kindly inform you that we are improving all the time to offer a better service to all ours guest, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay at the H1898, so definitely your opinion shared on TA made us happy!

We definitely would like to see you back so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898 maybe in the summer when there will not be rain and the rooftop bar will be open again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for three nights which were amazing, the staff are very friendly and smiling all the time and very helpfull.

the location is fantastic at the main street of La Rambla, with a lot of restaurants and cafes near by walking distance.

I must say the jasmine and flowery smell of the lobby is amazing that makes you feel so relaxed and the lobby area looks so nice too. there is Le Meriedian in front of the hotel, but even so no comaprison to the H1898 which is more elegant and amazing.

The breakfast has a lot of choices and very delicious and tasty with large seating area as well, which shows on the La Rambla.

The rooftop bar is so amazing and relaxed with great service and view of the city especially if it's a sunny day

will be staying there again when we visit barcelona agan for sure.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant next to the entrance of the hotel that make there food in a proper oven and ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff!
We are glad that you could enjoy the city from every single corner since as mentioned by yourself we are right in centre, but most at all that you could enjoy your stay with us!
All our guest opinion are important for us and when we are reading that they had a marvellous time at the H1898 it make us happy and encourage to improve in a better service every day.

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at the 1898 in early October 2013. Loved the location, the helpful staff, the rooftop bar/restaurant. The amenities were thoughtful and helpful. Being right off La Rambla, it was a bit noisy in the evenings. The downstairs indoor pool was fun & relaxing although not really big enough for a serious swim workout.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your good review about our services and facilities!

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the H1898!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.