We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €20 on select meals
Ranked #9 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in room 506. Not much of a view, but probably the quietest area of the hotel. That said, there is a church right next door with bells that start at 8am. We slept with our window open the first night but had to reconsider after the early wake-up call. The room was beautiful, comfy bed, great service from maids and front desk staff. The spa area downstairs is very nice. The location is also top-notch being right off La Ramblas. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506. Not much of a view, but probably the quietest area of the hotel. That said, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for taking you time and sharing with us a great opinion about your experience with us on TA!
We kindly inform you that we are surrounded by historical buildings, since we are right on las Ramblas, touching the Gothic quarter and sometimes we could be exposed to external factors that unfortunately we cannot manage them.
We would like to remind that all our rooms are provided with double glaze windows and sound proof system and that we have 6 rooms categories, all different between them in order to make satisfy all ours guest’s expectative.

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impressions of our hotel and apologize in case we might cause any inconvenience during your stay.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,924
    524
    86
    35
    35
See reviews for
352
1571
67
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I visited Barcelona in early September and stayed at H1898. The rooms were clean and tidy and we have a great view overlooking La Rambla. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. Our favourite part of our stay at La Rambla was the roof top terrace. Fully equipped with a pool, bar and tapas at the ready, we found it difficult to leave the hotel! They have amazing tapas - the crunchy prawns were our favourite and the list of cocktails was impressive.The terrace overlooks the roofs of Barcelona and is decked out with tables and compfy couches, that make sitting outside and absolute delight. It doesn't close until 2-3am in the morning, so one can continue to party in a safe comfortable environment. We will definitely come and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are planning on coming back to enjoy the relaxing environment offered in the whole hotel and especially on our roof top terrace.
Thank you very much for your high feedback and looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic weekend at the Hotel 1898. The hotel and interior decor are luxurious, and even though we had the cheapest room, it was not too small and supplied everything needed - TV, free internet, tea / coffee making, and a lovely bathroom. Also very cool room lighting where you choose from pre-set levels i.e. 'relax' or 'reading'. Had breakfast in bed, which was a very reasonable €10 for a range of pastries, toast, tea coffee and juice.

Two swimming pools available for use by guests - one on the roof, which was a bit chilly (not unexpected at this time of year, but still a novelty), and one in the underground spa - very relaxing, with whirlpools and jacuzzi seats. A nice rest from the hustle and bustle of Rambla.

Great location, close to everything you want to see and minutes away from the underground if not. Airport bus stops very close. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The 'classic' rooms all face into the courtyard - not a very interesting view, but very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!
We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.
We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent 3 night stay in this well presented/non pretentious hotel. Fantastic building! Friendly and helpful staff. Well laid out, comfortable rooms, very comfy huge bed and big bathroom, lovely touches including bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, hot drink facilities. Room service was not extortionate and the lobby, bar and lounge areas were inviting. Fab roof terrace with heated outdoor pool. Given location, it is relatively quiet, we were on the Las Ramblas side on the 4th floor. I would stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away in Barcelona staying at the Hotel 1898
What an amazing Hotel the grand entrance the decor are just beautiful. Our stay was to celebrate my Birthday the Hotel could not of made our stay any more memorable. The Hotel has a large roof terrace with a heated swimming pool and lots of seating including and sofas to relax on. The views from this area are breath taking we took some great photos at sunset.
The hotel is on La Rambla which is the heart of Barcelona and you are not that far from any tourist attraction. Thanks you to all the staff the hotel was fantastic and very very clean.
Also visit to the Barcelona FC and a bus tour is a must

Room Tip: rooms facing La Rambla you can hear alittle noise so if you are a light sleep we loved our room loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely hotel. But the speed of the wifi internet in the rooms, and also in the business centre, is below the minimum standard required in the modern world! The best I could get was 1.2Mb/s.
If you need internet access, then I suggest you get a pre-paid data card and use the 3G network
Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed once in this hotel for a short break on Christmas.

Location. Very convenient. It is located on Rambla near Placa de Catalunya, so you’ll have easy walking access to famous La Boqueria market, gothic quarter, major shopping area, etc. The only issue you may experience is that Rambla is rather crowded in the evening and it is sometimes slightly difficult to use taxi or even go by foot back to the hotel.

Room. Our room had a very nice balcony with sitting for at least 6 people and large table. So little party would not be a problem. The room was very spacious too. Everything was clean and working. Centralized smart light management switch required some knowledge to use as in the beginning we had it wrong all the time. After getting used to it we actually enjoyed it.

Amenities. The hotel has even 2 pools, one of which is on the roof. We could not really use it as it was rather cold outside but the one in Spa area was good, yet not too big and deep. Gym is rather small but it will help you stay fit during a short stay. Wi-Fi worked with no problem as well.

Breakfast. I think is one of the best in terms of choice we have ever seen. But you do not need to pay so much money to enjoy Barcelona cuisine. Especially if you are 200m away from La Boqueria, where you can find so many nice places to eat in the morning. We once went there before official opening at 7:30am and had our great breakfast with no problem.

Overall. The hotel gave us an impression of seamless and smooth operation. We did not use any effort to be there, never wanted to ask for anything extra as everything was ready for us and before us. So it felt very much at home. Reception staff was generally helpful. Only once we were surprised to hear that we better had to go to a taxi rank nearby if we wanted to catch a taxi as the company the hotel had contract with was closed for the day. To our relief next shift receptionist was able to help us with no problem so we were not sure what it was.

1898 is a well balanced hotel. It is a good yet fairly expensive option to enjoy Barcelona. We recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.