We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €20 on select meals
Ranked #9 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“RECOMMENDED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Enjoyed staying in this hotel. Location is tops. They had very tastefully refurbished it. Rooms are comfortable and nice with a spacious and functional bathroom. Free internet. Breakfast buffet is very good. Staff was very polite, helpful and patient in giving information, and when you asked for something it was delivered very quickly. Only problem was the architectural defects: 1) All lights in the room are on and off at the same time; no individual controls 2) not enough light in some parts of the room 3) heat control was put in closet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,950
    528
    86
    35
    35
See reviews for
356
1584
69
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we have just come back from a weekend trip in barcelona where we had the fortunate experience of staying at h1898. if I could summarise my stay in one word it would be SUBLIME.
I have had the pleasure of staying in some of the best 5star hotels in the world but never have I come across a more friendlier and helpful staff from the reception to room service.As soon as we checked in a lovely bowl of fresh fruit arrived with a personal note wishing us a pleasent stay as my wife had indicated to them that it was my 50th birthday.The room was lovely fresh and very contemporary. We were having a tough time trying to book a table in a local restaraunt but the receptionist Lara was simply amazing ....sorted us out for a lovely indian meal when we had almost given up...thanks Lara
I simply cannot say enough for this hotel it is centrally located ,beautifully and thoughtfully designed ,the staff was extremely polite and helpful , its very rare to find all the combinations .This hotel is a jewel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A classy contemporary hotel right on the hustle and bustle of La Rambla and perfectly situated for all the sight seeing and shopping you could want.
La Boceria market a few steps away with the most enticing fresh food ever and great tapas and sangria bars in the vicinity.
Great pool upstairs and fantastic views, would be a great place to sundown in summer I am sure.
the bedroom is large with tasteful decoration and blockout curtains, real wooden floors and high thread count sheets with really comfortable matresses and quiet AC. Tea and coffee facilities with kettle and bar fridge.
did not partake in breakfast- great small restaurants around for morning coffee and donut and Carrefour supermarket around the corner for any other needs.
the front desk staff all very helpful and polite, and willing with providing advice and recommending palces to eat or visit.
Tip: ask for rooms off La Ramblas to reduce noise impact, although I still hear the trucks and late night revellers.

Room Tip: we stayed on 4th floor room 429 away from the main drag and overlooking a fairly quiet side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Although rated 4 star- this is a 5 star hotel in every way.Reception could not be friendlier or more cooperative!
Beautiful , clean and attractive, good sized room, lovely view.. my room had a small balcony
over looking Las Ramblas..but extremely quiet considering all the activities outside my
window. Had dinner on the second floor dining room and it was quite good.. a little pricey,but worth it.
Free computer center also on second floor with four large screen desk top computers 2 of which were Apple. Only stayed two days because was picking up a cruise, but would love to come back and spend more time in the Beautiful city and most definitely stay at H1898 for sure!
Michael
NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Reception staff not very friendly in marked contrast to our last stay here. A real disappointment when you have travelled a long way. We were not shown our room at all-just given the key. The turn down service was haphazard and differed on the two nights. It is an ideal location. We had a cheaper room this time. It was still very nice and had a wonderful shower. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Okay this was my second trip to Barcelona. Travelling alone I spent five days there in October 2012. This seven storey hotyel is on Las Ramblas about 150 meters south of Plaza Catalunya. Easy walking distance from the Plaza where the airport shuttles drop you off. I arrived very early on a direct flight from Toronto. Check in is at usual time but I thought when I arrived downtown before 8am at the hotel that they would hold my bag for the day while I explored. Well they acutally checked me in right then and there allowing me to get cleaned up and have a bit of rest before starting out for the day. MAJOR BONUS points to the front desk staff who realize there is absolutely no additional cost to the hotel having me check into an otherwise empty room early. My room though smallish by North American standards had some fabulous amenities.

The smart lighting system allows you to select Sleep, Relax, Read, Watch TV, and Bright (or something to that effect ) from either the main switch inside the door or next to the bed (either side). Make a selection and all the lights in the room dimmed, shut off or brightend up to create the necessary effect. EXCELLENT design.

The bathroom was very large and well fitted. Beautiful fixtures with granite tile on the floors and walls. The tub/shower combination works extremely well with lots of water pressure to wash off the flight. Extremely well maintained and clean.

Bed and linens were first rate as were the pillows (and I'm picky about pillows).

The drapes did have the effect of shutting all the light out of the room even during the day so be prepared to grope around in the dark when they are closed.

Losts of shelves, hangers and a modern safe. Ironing board etc all in very good shape. (i wondereed if indeed this was a brand new hotel, it isn't)

Never ate or drank in the main hotel restaurant however did spend many hours relaxing on the rooftop area. And this is the oasis to which I referred in the heading. Accessible from the Lobby only by one elevator (where you must press the DOWN button to get the elevator to come and take you UP to the seventh floor) the other elevators only go as far as the sixth floor leaving you to think that's thats how tall the building is. Emerging onto the seventh floor patio you find a wonderful rooftop view of Barcelona. Although not the most picturesque city from the air it does provide a neat perspctive. There is a small pool surrounded by lounge chairs and then a 3 meter wide patio that extends the entire way around the exterior of the building with the atrium opening in the middle. There are lots of great places to sit, lie down or just relax. The great staff at the bar serves drinks and some food in a beautiful loacle where you can just soak up the sun or sit in the shade.

Wifi is available everywhere in the hotel for free when you have the password. Good connection speeds. Remember that your Netflix won't work in Europe at the moment.

In summary, though not cheap, this hotel provided an excellent experience at a great location in a beautiful city. Next trip to Barcelona I will check for availability here before looking anywhere else..

random points....The elevators require a room key to get to your floor so you can feel safer (though thats never been a problem for me or any of my friends.)

when you go into your room and turn on the lights they will come on ...for a minute...Just enough time to go and lie on the bed when the lights will go out again unless you place the key card in the card slot for the lights. Get in the habit of placing the key card in th eslot as soon as you enter the room lest you find yourself groping around in the dark. The key card also tells the staff that the room is occupied by turning on a red light outside on the entry key pad. without the key in the slot inside the room the cleaning staff might walk into the room expecting it to be empty and find you there. This happened to me twice....hilariously.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor with the window opening into the small interior courtyard. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eumundi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were more than pleasantly surprised by just how good this hotel was.

The reception staff were friendly and very helpful (we ended up with both an early check-in and late check-out). The general decor is very impressive, though perhaps a little gloomy. The rooms (we were in 423) are a good size, comfortable, squeaky clean - the bathroom is more than adequate and stunningly finished in green marble.

A couple of "niggles" though - at times there seemed to be a lot of people all wanting attention at reception (more staff needed there perhaps?) and I'm not sure what was the point of employing porters. They ignored my wife and I as we struggled with our bags; subsequently I noted it wasn't just us and they simply stood around not helping anyone!

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.