We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I just stayed here for 4 nights and must say everything was perfect. An amazing hotel, perfectly located on Las Ramblas in walking distance to everything. The staff were very freindly, helpful, room and Spa in perfect conditon and the price was right! I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers in Barcelona if you like modern convenienes surrounded by history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    542
    89
    36
    35
See reviews for
360
1,619
69
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on three occasions and it provides everything for a trip to Barcelona.

It is ideally situated for the city and all communication networks.

The hotel is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of La Rambla when some down time is needed.
It has a fitness suite and pool as well. The roof is superb and the staff are very helpful.

Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

That is why you need look no further...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again and again; we are so glad to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!

We would be more than honored to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There is really nothing more to add to all the very postive comments. The location couldn't be more perfect; spend half an hour choosing your choice of fruit juice and breakfast from the amazing array in the market, grab a Starbucks from next door and nip straight into the station to start sightseeing; have a fab dinner in Bar Lobo downstairs behind the hotel, then go up to the rooftop bar to take in the incredible views and the best Mojitos I've ever tasted. Then collapse in the crisp white linen bedsheets. We had an unforgettable stay and couldn't recommend any higher. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 goes beyond and expectative!
As you mentioned yourself the hotel is very well located and offers different services to create the right atmosphere to relax and enjoy the city ( we are right on las Ramblas) from a different perspective - just like having an amazing Mojitos or a swim at the roof terrace swimming pool!

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us and hopefully have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Super friendly staff, great location (Right on Las Ramblas), amazing facilities.
The spa in the basement is perfect for relaxing before and/or after a long day of walking around and exploring.
Train station 2 blocks away from the front door, right across the street from an amazing daily market where we could've easily eaten every meal of the 3 days we were there.
Room's have wifi, large wall mounted flat screen tv's and electric teapots along with all the amenities in the bathroom one would expect from a high class hotel, shoe polish kits, toothbrush kits, along with the standard hair supplies.
I would avoid eating on most of the places on Las Ramblas unless it looks heavily frequented by locals and/or has a wait, but by walking 10-15 in either direction from Las Ramblas you can get a little further off the beaten path and find something delicious very easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, facilities and especially about our Staff!

We are deligheted to know that your experience out hotel was marvellos and that you could enjoy Barcelona!

Looking forward to having you back and welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our second stay at the 1898. I love quiet dark sleeping rooms. Both the roof top pool and bar are a great place to hang out and watch the sun go down! We also swam in the pool in the spa (which is below the ground level. Very nice. Starbucks is right next store as is my favorite tapas place Bar Lobo. Take the 6 euro bus from the airport to within two blocks of the hotel. It doesn't get much better than this! I do agree with a previous reviewer. The restaurants associated with the hotel are not that great! But you are In La Ramblas area! Just a few doors down is the famed Boqueria market! Can't wait to stay here again next year!

Room Tip: all rooms have been great when we stayed there. if you have a chance, splurge on the suite! Quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and thank you for choosing us again as your next stay in Barcelona!

Thank you for your feedback about our Restaurant – any opportunity for improvement through this kind of sincere and constructive feedback is gladly welcome.

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at H1898 in November 2012 on our honeymoon for four nights.

We chose to stay in one of the junior suites on the sixth floor - a generous open plan room with a separate lounge area, widescreen TV in front of the bed (not in the lounge?), toilet and bathroom with another toilet, shower and bath again separately and an extremely comfortable four poster bed. The room was extremely luxurious. The towels were as thick as duvets, the coffee was a machine and not a kettle, slippers and robes and all of the trimmings that you might expect.

On our arrival at the Hotel we didn't feel that we received a five star welcome. There was no offer to help with our bags, we were not asked about our journey or even told where the lifts were to find our room. This might sound minor, it is, but for a five star honeymoon we expected more.

The Hotel itself is immaculate. The Spa in the basement is warm and extremely relaxing, though small. There is a small hotel gym (three or four running machines and not much more in front of a large TV). The pool is shallow but warm and fitted with various relaxing additions - a small waterfall, chairs in the pool to lie on with bubble jets etc. There is also a sauna and a steam room all to use free of charge.

On the roof of the hotel you will find an outdoor pool, a bar and seating all around the edges overlooking the city. We didn't spend any time on the roof terrace (it was November!), but I can imagine in the summer it is a real benefit of this hotel.

Overall, we would highly recommend H1898. The location is perfect for La Rambla and once you are accustomed to the busy street noise below it is a very calm chilled experience staying here. Breakfast is a buffet arrangement with the option of eggs to be cooked in addition and the quality of the food is very good.

If you are looking to eat out rather than at the Hotel then avoid the strip of La Rambla. If you turn left out of the hotel you are a very short walk from a small courtyard area where you can drink and eat for half of the price (Bar Lobo for example). If you turn right out of the hotel, cross La Rambla and keep going you will soon find the Gotic area where the food is good and inexpensive.

The hotel bar is fine for a nightcap and is not overpriced given its location and status (10 Euro for two drinks). You should expect to pay 40 Euro for a taxi from or to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

First at thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and for all yours really high reviews about our hotel!
Regarding your comment about your check in moment we would like to apologize if your first impression about our staff was not friendly as you were expecting.
We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our services and costumer care. On behalf of the Front Desk staff we would like to inform you that we do care about all our guest and we are grateful for all them that are staying here with us, so we hope to have another chance to see you in the next future and make our best to change your impression about us!

Looking forward to having you back at the H1898!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1898, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.