We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel , need renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travessera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travessera Hotel to your Saves list
Travessera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessera de Dalt 121-123, 08024 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #438 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel , need renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It is typical budget Hotel (a little overpriced , cheap , but overpriced)
65 Euro is a good price in Paris , but not in Barcelona.
Hotel are very close to Parc Guell and you can find this place just 10 minutes by walk.
Room a bit old , not dirty , but need renovation.
On the bathroom was cold and only a lot of hot water changed this sitation.
Staff are very nice , helpful and friendly.
It is good area for cheap souvenirs and bars (many chinese shops and small restaurants , but tapas possible)
Good place for budget tourist , but not for this price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travessera, Director Comercial at Travessera Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Malanese,

We appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers through Tripadvisor page. Thanks to customers like you, we share their experiences and suggestions, we can try to improve our service every day.

Being aware that you can always improve, we are gradually introducing changes regarding the decoration of the rooms. I do not know the problem of bath tells us, but find out what caused that does not happen again, my apologies about it.

We find it comforting your comments about the hotel staff, they will appreciate it very much.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back again very soon with us and enjoy the changes.

Regards,

Commercial Director
Hotel & Apartments Travessera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rose Hill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The personel at the hotel was very helpful on guiding us on the different city sites available.
Considering we were staying for a long period of time, they did not hesitate to transfer us to a more comfortable & modern appartment when we mentioned the bedroom was narrow.
The breakfast room was however a little tatty & the Continental breakfast not very generous as it was made up of coffee,orange juice & a croissant only.Luckily there were 2 other otions for breakfast at other prices.We felt we were being watched very often so that we felt uneasy to choose other side items than what was proposed for breakfast .Otherwise average in terms of amenities.The location can be a snag for elderly people as the terrain is rather sloping.All in all, we were quite happy to be there & could recommend such hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travessera, Director Comercial at Travessera Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Estimated Benja5,

Thank you for choosing Travessera Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and share your experience in the Hotel and Apartments.

I'm glad that your stay in the apartments met their expectations and that the Hotel staff resolve your doubts and help you make your stay in the city was satisfactory.

I am sorry that the breakfast item is not to your liking. As you say we have 3 types of breakfast at different prices. Being for a long time and choose as the Continental breakfast could have led to the cafeteria manager offered him another option to change croissant with jam and butter. We have already taken steps.

I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Best Regards

attentively
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were staying there as a family of 3 ( me, husband and our 3 yo son ) for only 4 days. On our 1st day we were only once provided with some complimentary toiletries and that was it. That was an issue for us as I didn't take anything like that at all hoping that I would have been provided with some everyday.
The Second problem was with breakfasts where there were no any clarifications on what we are allowed to have. In the mornings we were always feeling watched by the hotel staff as what we are taking to eat to our table considering there were no more than 5 hotel guests having breakfasts including us. My husband ordered Catalan breakfast which goes with the glass of wine and he didnt get any drink at all! we were waiting for the breakfast lady to bring him a glass of wine but she didn't
turn up at all. suspect that the rest ( if there were any ) just went out for breakfast. The prize of the buffet breakfast was not out of this world- 11 euro for nothing ( all cold )
The breakfast lady spoke no English at all, unfortunately she couldn't even explain the simplest thing to us.
Last but not the least, the major thing for me was when I discovered that my Dior BB cream went missing. I had 2 foundations- qlinique and Dior, and was using them alternatively depending on the
weather. The Dior one was stolen probably on the third or the last day as I didn't realise it until we got to another hotel in Blanes.
So all in all what a let down for us and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Didn't do the job.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was nearby a metro station, Park Guell and had a parking garage which you could book prior to arrival. The hotel was nothing special, but had a good free wifi internet, spacy hotel room for 4 persons with separate bedroom for parents and children. We were in room 401 which was nice and quiet located, but very small windows with no view. Everything was a little bit outdated, but clean. We took the buffet for breakfast, but for the price it was dissapointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a good room for a good price, great location, close to metro, close to Sagrada Familia and right next to Park Guell. The only thing I didn't like was to find they chared us in advance right at the reservation for the first night and when we came there they said that was charged and than at the same time it was cancelled. Which I still have to check when I get my payment account details. Other than that great hotel, clean, they made our beds every day, don't be surprised to meet different people on the reception every time. In the three days we were there we met 4 different people but all are so nice!!! :))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great bus service from right outside the hotel to the centre of town, two metro stations not far away (beware the pickpockets as you near the centre, these guys are GOOD!), so in spite of the distance, quite well-located. Not sure what the complaints are about the street noises - there aren't any nightlife venues or noises around. Vlad (sorry if I got the name wrong), the Transylvanian night-time receptionist, is pure gold and prime management material - he should be running the place, and we hope the owner is aware of this - his knowledge of Barcelona and its history and landmarks is remarkable, his English superb, and his willingness to patiently listen to you, explain to you and otherwise ensure your stay at the hotel and the city is enjoyable is nothing short of amazing. Great breakfast variety, yummy food with some of it cooked fresh, and at a reasonable price. Rooms are simple, but there's a great bathroom including bath, and the room is large and well-equipped. We loved this hotel and will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travessera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travessera Hotel

Address: Travessera de Dalt 121-123, 08024 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travessera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Travessera is a hotel newly reformed, with 23 very well equipped rooms. It's situation is really privileged, to the north of the neighborhood of Gràcia, between two of the main tourist zones of Barcelona: the Park Güell (5 minutes on food) and the Sacred Family (15 minutes on food) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travessera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartaments Descans Barcelona
Apartaments Descans Hotel Barcelona
Travessera Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travessera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.