We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic apartment, bit far from city center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartaments Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartaments Marina to your Saves list
Apartaments Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina 306, 08025 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Seongnam, South Korea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Basic apartment, bit far from city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed one week with my family during our Barcelona excursion. As mentioned before this place is located close to Sagrada Familia which is a bit out from the city center & other attractions so you always have to take a subway. But the plus side of the location is that you get bigger apartment with same money as a small one near the city center.

About the apartment itself then, big but otherwise basic. Kitchen utensiles were in very bad condition plus we were missing a toaster and water boiler for example. Floor material is hard ceramic tiles which is very annoying when you try to sleep and people in upper apartment are moving chairs around making terrible creek noise. People in charge put at least soft pads under the chair legs to prevent this noise.

Also no free internet connection which is a big minus nowdays in my mind.

So all in all, if you want to be closer to action don't come here. Same price but smaller apartments can be found around La Rambla & Barri Gothic. If you want space and don't mind the location then this place might be okay for you.

Btw. The best supermarket of the area is when you go down the street towards Sagrada Familia and take first turn to the left. Walk a little bit and on your left side is Dia, which is much bigger than you would excpect from the outside appearance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    64
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
65
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The apartment is very clean and new. The bedrooms are rather small but the leaving room is a good size. The kitchen has everything you may need except of a coffee maker. The apartment is very close to the metro station. A small grocery shop is one block down the street. The best thing was that we couldn't hear any street noise in our bedrooms.
We paid for the internet connection but it wasn't very good. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

When I seen the price of this I expected something to be wrong but there wasn't! Although we did not have a good view that was a small complaint and also they could have provided an iron. But for location it is perfect..beside a subway line, beside the segreda familla (which you can get tourist bus from) and also if you feel like fast food the is KFC, Burger King, MacDonalds and a pizzeria all within a block. Oh and also for a place known for pickpockets, it's not as bad as people say, just be aware in busy places and you will be fine!

Room Tip: Try and get a good view...our view was out the back which was facing some not so appealing apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Apartaments Marina are located near Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, a minute walk from subway station.

We liked the apartments very much. Clean, spacey and very affordable. The only thing missing was free Wi-Fi access point for hotel guests but I guess you can't have it all ;)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I had a business conference in Barcelona and stayed here for pleasure four days before the conference thanks to tripadvisor. This was a wonderful choice for many reasons:

- Location: 2 blocks from Sagrada Familia, a metro station and the "hop on- hop off" tourist buses. Better yet, we found better shopping and restaurants here in the Eixample district than in the main tourist and shopping drag downtown.

- Size: Don't know actual square footage, but it felt like a 900 sq ft. apartment. Modern, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable.

- Price: well below hotel choices of comparable quality.

- Other Pros: kitchen let us cook our own breakfast which was very useful as Barcelona was not a big breakfast town, and we were battling jet lag from California. Nearby markets were handy with a good enough selection of food and a short walk led to great food shopping. Also, I can highly recommend the nearby restaurant "Los Bellota" for the best quality food. The desk staff were helpful and all spoke english well. Note that the desk was manned 24/7, but it is an apartment, not a hotel, so don't expect a concierge. Nonetheless, the staff gave us great recommendations on where to eat, and the checkout time was good. The balcony had great urban views, and yet it was quiet when everything was closed.

- Cons: The kitchen could have had a few more items - like a cutting board and a larger pan, even a sponge. Wifi was not free, but was fast and relatively cheap, especially when compared to hotels that charge more for slower speeds.

Other notes: they had no iron or ironing board, contrary to what their site said. They do have a coffee maker in every kitchen, but it's the "bialetta" stovetop espresso maker, so if you're not used to that (I have one at home) then you may not realize what it is. Bring some Starbucks Via if that's an issue for you. They do have a little washbasin for cleaning clothes, but no drying line that I saw.

After 4 days here, I checking into the Hotel Princesa Sofia for my conference. What a disappointment after having the space and comfort of a real apartment, and the Marina was more than 50 Euros a night less.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The apartment is very close to the Sagrada Familia,the MRT station is also located right there!We found it very easy to get around Barcelona.
A well stocked supermarket is located just a couple of meters away.Also,a lot of dining options close by which are open till late.
The apartment was very spacious(a living and a dining area,fairly large kitchen,one room with a single bed and the other room with a double bed and a fairly large bathroom).
Highly recommend this place,would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here with 5 people, and it was comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor, and it was well appointed, clean and comfortable which is all we could ask. I can't comment on cooking facilities as we ate at one of the nearby restaurants each night. We found the apartments well located, not far to the metro station, and as it is close to Sagrada Familia surrounded by a large number of eateries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartaments Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartaments Marina

Address: Marina 306, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartaments Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartaments Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartaments Marina Barcelona, Catalonia
Apartaments Marina Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartaments Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.