We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good,we came back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Constanza Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good,we came back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews, and we would like to add to them. As with anything, you can find some small flaws and faults, but overall this is a very, very good hotel. We came to Barcelona a few days early for a cruise. We like to be kind of out of the way, but close to everything and Hotel Constanza fit the bill. We arrived before noon on a Saturday and were able to go directly to our room. Check in was easy, but no bellman on the weekend and we had big bags and a surfboard (it was a 10 cruise, 14 days away from home, so lot's of stuff). We're hardy people and managed fine, but this is one of those small flaws. We don't hang out in the lobby except to wait for taxis and this was very nice, lot's of sofas. The room was a superior, perfect for us. Two comfy twins facing the street with a small balcony, a small sitting room with sofa and great bathroom. Spotlessly clean. A bit dark, but the balcony helped. Wi-Fi was great. We didn't bring an adapter for the Ipad thinking we would buy the right one there, but never did. When I inquired at the desk if they had one, she kindly offered me her Ipad plug in to power up and told me to just bring it back. We did not breakfast there or in the restaurant at all, preferring to explore. Although a small coffe maker or kettle for tea in the room would have been nice to have. There are tons of places in just the surrounding blocks. Recommend the restaurant across the street as well as the bakery two blocks up Gran Via. We hadn't booked a room anywhere on our return because we thought we might like to see another part of the city. We hadn't seen everything in the area on our list, so we decided Hotel Constanza was a good fit and just booked there. It fit the bill for us. English speaking desk clerks were very helpful. The hotel was quiet and I didn't see much staff, but being in-between the holidays I expect it is a slower time of year. If it gets busier, they may need to staff up. Those I did see were helpful and attentive. It was a nice, clean, quiet and welcoming place to come back to after being out and about. Close enough to everything to come back in between forays to rest up and get ready for the next adventure.

Room Tip: Street noise was minimal because Calle Bruc is not a major street. However, they were doing construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    533
    78
    12
    12
See reviews for
215
678
98
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night break, our first in Barcelona. This was an excellent base for our visit and once again our choice was influenced by tripadvisor. The location is just a 10 walk from where the airport bus drops you and the hotel is easy to find. Reception on arrival was warm and welcoming with an offer to help with directions etc. Our room was 508 with a great balcony. The decor is modern and the shower was fantastic. The bed was large and very comfortable. Wifi in the room excellent and free. The only negative is that breakfast in the hotel itself is poor. 10euros each and the quality and selection was bad, along with disinterested staff. However, that is easy remedied because attached to the hotel is a cafe/bar which serves great fresh breakfast (we had fresh orange juice, panini style rolls and cappuccinos for 7euros each). The irony is that these are prepared in the same kitchen that can't prepare a decent hotel breakfast! The bar is also excellent for evening drinks and tapas and the head bar man speaks good English and was a good host. We give this hotel 5stars despite the breakfast because the other factors more than make up for it. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a five night stay so got to know a little about this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, recption staff very accommodating , clean and central location are all pluses. however, i was under impressed with the whole restaurant experience - staff totally disinterested and unfortunately, served a meal which lacked all which food is about- to be cooked so it is edible (rice was hard and crunchy - could not eat it!) Even getting a coffee was hard yards. Sorry guys but that really took the edge off for us. Two other points which I shall make: whilst the decor is modern clean and comfortable, it is so dark it gives the effect of permanent night time - from reception, the hallways and most importantly, in the rooms. I couldn't wait to get outside into the light. The lack of light was repressive. I would also suggest some basic facilities for tea and coffee - just a kettle and the basics would have been great. Overall , this is a good hotel and you will enjoy your stay but it needs a little love and thought to make it great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel. I was initially checked into a room on the 1st floor but Wi-Fi reception was unavailable. Complained several times and after the second night they informed me that the router on that floor was spoilt. Was transferred to the fourth floor and everything was much better then. Other than that, convenient location and english speaking staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel Constanza Barcelona is located in the city center, less than 5 Min walk from Pl de Catalunya. The hotel is in a very good shape. Nice lounge area with couches.... The bedroom is spacey and clean. The bathroom has however no ventilation.... But the nice shower and the modern design made up for everything!

Will certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had a great stay at the Constanza in Barcelona. The airline I flew with lost my luggage and the staff were very helpful in dealing with the airline. Further to that they also had a smile every time you left and arrived.

The rooms were also very modern and had a great bathroom with a pressure shower head and even a draw to store your toiletries.

The location was just a 5 to 10 minute walk to La Rambalas and easy access to the metro system.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although the hotel is rated 2 stars, it is closer to a 4 star hotel. The room, service & location are excellent. It is a small hotel that does not have the amenities of one that is larger (ie. no restaurant, room service). Nonetheless, it is a very comfortable, good value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Constanza Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Address: Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constanza Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PERFECT LOCATION IN THE HEART OF BARCELONAThe hotel Constanza is located in the Eixample district in the centre of Barcelona. It offers modern, contemporary decor and has its own restaurant, "Bruc 33 Tapas".The Bruc 33 Tapas restaurant next to the hotel offers excellent quality, including a range of creative "Tapas". A varied breakfast buffet offers the possibility of special menus for groups; private rooms can also be hired for parties and events.Our friendly staff are always available in the bright, spacious reception area to help you organize excursions and reservations and make your stay as pleasant as possible.Welcome to our designer lounge...the deep leather and velvet sofas, generously proportioned spaces and subtle lighting provide an intimate atmosphere where you can really relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Constanza Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constanza Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Constanza Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.