We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny single rooms with a view of a wall!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Constanza Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Tiny single rooms with a view of a wall!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This overall is a bargain hotel, with a slick look in a great part of town. However...I got a single room and wasn't told the real story. First floor, back of the hotel. Twin bed, tiny room. It had been redone and looked great, but did I mention...TINY. The window looked at a wall about 5 feet away. Little light made its way in. If you're looking for inexpensive single accommodations and only plan on sleeping there, then this might work for you. Oh...seemed really under-staffed while I was there. Up to you. I wouldn't have done it if I knew the real story on singles or would have upgraded to get larger room with terrace. Still a bargain.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a single and ask more questions about size and location. If a single on first floor, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    643
    501
    72
    13
    11
See reviews for
189
630
92
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Nice boutique hotel, well positioned. Staff were help full and assisted in every way. Took advice from trip advisor and had rooms away from construction and did not here anything at any time during our stay. Room we had was a suite and was modern and large enough. Children's room was adequate and all I woulld want is a view of the streets of Barcelona. Major problem was no English TV channels but not a major concern as all we did was sleep,get up early and return late that evening. Internet only in the lobby should look at wi fi in the rooms. Never eat at restaurant but it looked good

Room Tip: book room with a view of the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool. Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Was a bit dubious about booking this hotel after reading what other people had said about the nearby building works and the noise problems, but as our hotel would just be a place to sleep at night we went for it and am so glad I did.
Hotel constanza was perfect for my husband, 2 children and myself.
We stayed in a suite on 3rd floor towards back of the hotel Wednesday-Sunday and were not woken by the sound of hammering, guests in other rooms or the cleaning staff and I am a very light sleeper.
The room was very large with a smaller room off for the children and a large bathroom and a small furnished balcony where we enjoyed sitting early am and evening. The room was spotlessly clean a big factor when I choose a hotel. Particulary loved the shower. Only thing I could fault about the room was it's lack of English speaking tv channels and no wi fi both of which we were prepared for so was not a major problem.
The staff were very pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive, we much prefer to be able to come and go as we please so once again perfect for us.
Initialy the hotel seemed to be quite out of the way, but once you get a feel for the area you soon realise how close you are to all the major areas and we mainly walked our way around Barcelona with a little help from the hop on hop off bus service to reach the further afield attractions.
All in all we were very pleased with Hotel Constanza, it was very good value for money by Barcelona standards and we would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Everything about this hotel was great especially the staff. They were extremely helpful. It has a great feel. The rooms were nice. Bathrooms very modern. Quiet. After eating tapas for lunch (oh boy!) and not feeling like dinner, we went upstairs to the hotel's Terrace the first night which is lovely and relaxing and the second night, we sat out on our small balcony which was part of our room Breakfast was more than adequate. The location was good. It is a little walk into the city but then Barcelona is a fantastic city to walk around. It is great value place to stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a nice, friendly boutique hotel in Barcelona! Close to everything, including three metro stations, and within walking distance of the Barri Gotic and several of the main sites in the Eixample. The decor is chic, modern. The rooms are well appointed. They offer a basic breakfast buffet for 10 euros. The highlight of our stay was the super friendly staff, always happy to help. How nice it is to be received every time we arrived with a warm smile, particularly on the part of charming Samuel and Victor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is centrally located on a quite street just a blocks from Placa Catalunya. The building was beautiful. The rooms were modern and well appointed with all the standard amenities. We booked a suite at an excellent price and the room was huge. The staff was always available, helpful, and pleasant. They hailed taxis when needed and even made sure our taxi driver understood our destinations. We would definitely stay here again. We read other reviews about the construction noise, but we never heard any of it. Finally, air conditioning....worked wonderfully, which is unusual in Europe. Great Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed at Constanza for 4 nights and my stay was lovely.

The location is great. The hotel is based in the Eixample but just minutes away from Plaça Catalunya, only a block away from Gaudi's Casa Calvet and 15-20 minute walk away from the sites in Barri Gotic, Las Ramblas and Eixample. The hotel building is nice and our room had a balcony. The room had modern design and was comfortable and large. The hotel staff was lovely and helpful; the room service was good. The hotel is quiet inside and you don’t hear your neighbours.

However, there is no wi-fi in the rooms (only cable connection, which doesn’t work with tabs and smart phones). Wi-fi access is in the lobby only. The street is noisy but if you keep the windows shut then there is no problem. The breakfast area is depressing, there are no windows and they did not have black tea (just herbal teas). The breakfast was €10 which is a good price.

One more point, the air conditioning was in full speed, the lobby and the hotel corridors were like -10 degrees. Some may like it but we thought it was too cold.

Room Tip: 5th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Constanza Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Address: Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constanza Barcelona 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PERFECT LOCATION IN THE HEART OF BARCELONAThe hotel Constanza is located in the Eixample district in the centre of Barcelona. It offers modern, contemporary decor and has its own restaurant, "Bruc 33 Tapas".The Bruc 33 Tapas restaurant next to the hotel offers excellent quality, including a range of creative "Tapas". A varied breakfast buffet offers the possibility of special menus for groups; private rooms can also be hired for parties and events.Our friendly staff are always available in the bright, spacious reception area to help you organize excursions and reservations and make your stay as pleasant as possible.Welcome to our designer lounge...the deep leather and velvet sofas, generously proportioned spaces and subtle lighting provide an intimate atmosphere where you can really relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Constanza Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constanza Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Constanza Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.