We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend with friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Swindon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely clean and modern hotel. Very relaxing and chilled atmosphere with excellent service. The food was good and plenty of choice if you want to eat in. The location is just a very short walk to the beach, bars and restaurants where there is plenty of choice. The bus stop for the open top tour bus is also a few minutes walk away which I would recommend as a good way of getting around the city. Rooms were ample size for two and the bathroom was very nice. Drinks in minibar are a little expensive but to be expected I guess. I would definitely go back to Barcelona and stay at this hotel. Hoping to go soon!...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Shele121,
Thank you so much for your excellent review of the SB Icaria Barcelona. It was a pleasure welcoming you here and we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    361
    107
    32
    15
See reviews for
208
230
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel, which provided an excellent breakfast, and food and drinks available all day long. We ate our breakfast on the spacious terrace every day. Our family room was modern, with large bathroom and partition between 2 sleeping areas. Delighted with the facilities offered, and the staff were very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. You could get towels for use at the pool from reception.

Found the local bus service was good for getting about, but used both metro and buses, and spent a lot of time on foot. Recommend taxi to and from airport (if you don't have a car). The hotel is nicely situated for the beach.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view of pool and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear georgiehen132,
Thank you very much for your positive comments that I’ll be glad to extend to all of our team. I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at SB Icaria.
Kindest regards from Barcelona,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We picked this location in a quiet, safe area of Barcelona to be near the beaches. Although somewhat removed from Barri Gotic, El Born, and Las Ramblas the hotel is six blocks from the metro stop at Olympic Village...from there it's a five to ten minute ride to the center of most attractions. For our stay, the positives of Hotel Icaria were; modern, updated rooms, a good room price. nice breakfast offerings (always fresh fruit), excellent climate control in our room, and an intimate pool area. The negatives were firm beds and pillows. Also, the immediate area did not have many restaurants or pubs..other than a few beachfront places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ben C,
I sincerely thank you for taking your time to write a nice review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our location, products and service. Regarding beds and pillows, I will make sure to follow up with our housekeeper and share your comments. When in Barcelona again, I hope to have you stay with us once again.
Best regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel near the beach as your main priority, then this would be a good place. But if you care about cleanliness, updated features, or comfort...then this place is NOT for you. I will give a few positives: close to the beach (about 7 min walk), very large bathroom, good water pressure in the shower which can be rare in Europe, and free wi-fi (although slow). The negatives would be: dirty floors in hotel room, general unclean feeling, musty, mosquitos in the room, loud AC (to the point I had to wear earplugs), and the typical hard euro bed. There are hardly any restaurants in the immediate area, but if you walk about 10 to 12 minutes there are many on the beach, but they are mostly tourist traps. The hotel tries to have a modern feel, but if you pay any attention to detail, it's all really cheap, worse than IKEA decor and furnishings.
Overall, depends on your expectations - I tend to stay in nicer hotels normally when I travel, so this place was just gross and I would not ever stay here again. If you are used to the 2 star / 3 star style type hotels, it may not be as bad - and I don't mean that with any attitude, because reviews are all about which point of view you are coming from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, General Manager at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Patrick C,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations, specially on cleanliness, as usually it's our most valued in the rating summary. Also I am sorry that our decor and style didn't meet your taste but I want to assure you that the items we used exceed standards. We will work in each of the negative details you mentioned always trying to improve our guests experience. Hope you consider staying with us again on a future visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Modern hotel with a restaurant and a pool. My room was nice and up to date. The location is great and only 2 blocks from the beach. A lot for your buck. Would return again. The hotel is not in downtown but it is more quiet and you can have a good night sleep away from the party people hanging around the streets

Claude
Montreal

Room Tip: search on trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Claude L,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a positive review. I am glad to hear we provided what you expected. Please keep us in mind when returning to Barcelona.
Sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed in Icaria recently for four days.I loved the location, the rooms were fine, but could do with tea/coffee making facilities. We had hired a car, so needed a parking space, the hotel charges 15 euros per night for parking, but luckily, we found free parking right outside the hotel, was pretty convenient. Taxis are available at all times right outside as well.The Beach was withing walking distance and it costs just 6 euros to go to Las Ramblas by taxi, which I think is pretty good. Sagrada Familia is not far from the hotel and neither is Picasso Mueseum. We were able to go see all the attractions. The hotel residents also get discounts at some of the restaurants on the Marina.. Had a great time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Gagan D,
Thank you for choosing SB Icaria Barcelona. I am glad to hear that you have had a great time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Also let me inform you that we currently offered free parking if booking directly on our website.
Best regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very good hotel,close to the beach,a little bit far from city center,but you can take hop on-hop off bus which stops close to the hotel.If you are looking for a beach holiday in Barcelona I think Icaria is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear DeeDeeTimisoara,
I would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your SB Icaria Barcelona experience.
Sincerely.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#201 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.