We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as i thought it would be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
northumberland
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
587 helpful votes 587 helpful votes
“not as good as i thought it would be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed here with family for five nights for the new year. check in was ok but seemed quite false. we were given different rooms to what we had booked but were ok. a problem over the final payment balance but this was sorted out.bathroom as another member stated had a funny smell about it. rust along the side of the panel were the shower screen was and only one small bottle of lotion / body milk. soap on the wall in a dispenser which was very stiff and hardly any soap came out.no corkscrew in room or pen just little things that were lacking. chips out of the wardrobes in both rooms. the rooms were cleaned daily but i felt just skimmed over. the beds were comfortable but saggy and had seen better days, pillows not comfortable. air con did not work in one of the rooms and was very loud. breakfast was ok but staff in restaurant a part from andrea seemed quite miserable. food was ok but on last day there were no tomatoes. hotel is out of town which i knew really and we made the mistake of turning left out of the hotel and ended up in a rather dodgy area and felt quite uneasy metro station i would certainly not like to be there on my own. when leaving hotel either turn right which will lead you to a shopping center or go straight up and this will lead you to the marina which is really nice with lots of restaurants. i would say this hotel is a three star. it needs to have some money injected into it to bring it up to a four star. i do have to say though that one of the lights went out in our room on new years eve and this was sorted straight away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear holiday032,
First of all I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion. I am glad about our service positive points mentioned and also about the information you provided about some negative. Allow me to share that your observations already have been transmitted to the attention of our department managers involved for their review in order to initiate the suitable service improvements to meet expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Barcelona.
Kindest regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    361
    107
    32
    15
See reviews for
208
230
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A good location, close Olympic port and central to most attractions. The food in Hotel; restaurant was good and reasonable.
The downside was the Heating in room as could not turn it down..way too hot.
I would recommnd this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear wedmore20 ,
Thanks for recommend us.
We take note of the heating downside. The weather has been really unstable this winter season, somedays too warm and unexpected. Good to see our guests enjoy of the outdoor pool in winter.
We keep entire at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you back.
Kind regards from Icaria Barcelona.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel as both smoking and non-smoking rooms so be sure to state your preference when booking.

It was an OK sized room, not very large, but modern with a king size bed which was firm, but comfortable and there were 2 types of pillow which were very comfortable and thick.

There was a glass topped desk and the hotel has free wifi which was reliable and a reasonable speed. There was a 24” flat screen TV, but it only had Channel 4 and Sky News as English channels, unlike the H10 which had loads of English speaking channels. There was a stocked mini bar which had plenty of room for personal items. The built-in wardrobe had glass doors with around 5 hangers and shelves and housed the safe which was free.

The bathroom was clean and modern, fully tiled in green marble. There was a bath with shower over, sink in a vanity unit, toilet and bidet. One complaint was that there was a door stop in front of the toilet which you had to remember about otherwise you could stub your toe. Shampoo / shower gel and soap were provided via dispensers on the wall.

The staff on reception were efficient and helpful with any query, although not overly friendly.

A buffet breakfast is available at €12, but you can get €3 discount if you agree to take it for the whole stay and tell reception when you check in. It wasn’t as good as I was expecting from what I had read. The hot food was stone cold apart from the baked beans and I don’t mean it was lukewarm, it was cold. There was tortilla, bacon, fried and scrambled eggs, baked beans, mini sausages. There was a selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, toast and pastries which were all good. There 2 types of juice and the orange juice was very good and the coffee was hot.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool and a hot tub, which is unusual for a city hotel, with ample sun loungers and even double 4 poster beds. There were 3 computer terminals in reception which were free for guests’ use, but these always seemed to be occupied by children playing games.

The beach at Nova Icaria is a 5 minute walk and the promenade goes all the way to the marina at the bottom of Las Ramblas and beyond. There is a Consum supermarket 5 minutes away in a small shopping centre. There are bars and restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk.

The location may not suit some as it is a 30-40 minute walk to Las Ramblas if that is where you want to be. We knew the location and it suited us as we have been to Barcelona many times and we were staying for a few days being going on a cruise.

The No 14, No 41 and No 92 buses stops at the hotel and the fare is currently 2 euro.

Not sure if we would stay again as we preferred the H10 Marina Barcelona.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter than those facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear luci5,
We would like to thank you for expressing your opinion and to giving us useful feedback. We are also happy that you addressed some negative points, because them reveal our possible improvement points.
Even if this time we could not meet all your expectations we hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Barcelona.
Kindest regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

i have stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, everything was great, staff at reception were great, each one of them, always helping and friendly.
Great breakfast, lots of variation and always very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Victoria L,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words that I’ll be glad to extend to all of our team. We all feel really happy to receive our clients positive feedback since it is really important for us.
Kindest regards from Icaria Barcelona,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Avoid the restaurant. Staff are served quickly while we were left waiting for what turned out to be a few lettuce leaves and a tin of tuna. Pre paid only to find "no record" when we got here. Facilities in room dreadful. No conditioner, hair dryer that isn't worth putting in and temperature controls that don't work. Restaurant was the worst though. Even ran out of beer after one glass. Dreadful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion. Your negative feedback is unexpected, since we always try to serve our guests with the appropiate level of service. However, I am glad that you provide us with your feedback that helps us to improve our service. I honestly apologize for the disappointment you feel.
The next time that you visit Barcelona, I hope to get the chance to show you that we can offer you a much better experience and to welcome you back to our hotel again.
Best regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#201 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.