We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but don't have breakfast unless you get an offer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onix Rambla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Onix Rambla Hotel to your Saves list
Onix Rambla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Málaga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good, but don't have breakfast unless you get an offer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were very happy with our choice. Fantastic location, good size room and bathroom, staff friendly.
The breakfast, however, was not that good, not much choice or quantity/quality, we had a free breakfast offer though, so they might change it during high season.
Overall, great stay for exploring the city.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    168
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
63
188
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel in excellent location, helpful staff, great with rooms (soundproofed), good bed and good bathroom. Next to several pubs and restaurants. Subway next, facilitating locomotion.
I really recommend to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good location near La Rambla, close to station (only a few stops from most major attractions) and with lots of food options just outside the hotel.
Large room, huge be. Room clean and very modern. Shower is annoying, impossible not to soak the entire bathroom floor.
Staff helpful, but not all speak English fluently. Rooftop pool looked small but nice although we didn't use it.
Nearby parking is useful but driving into Barcelona is madness if you can avoid it - very difficult and confusing, particularly without a GPS (we ended up buying one).
Good breakfast, large selection for €11. Fridge is available in room in case you want to provide your own breakfast.
Our room was very quiet on 5th floor and overlooked the back courtyard, over the breakfast area.
Business centre useful and free wifi very good.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet on 5th floor and overlooked the back courtyard, over the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Perfect location, clean, excellent value for money. Good breakfast, good service, friendly and helpful staff, ideal for our vacation. The wi-fi might not work in all rooms depending on room's position, but is working down stairs in the reception. Great restaurant in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel since our days that we lived in this great and lively town. It´s located on the upperside of the Ramblas(a place where you wont find many tourist, but primarily locals..) You are 50 meters away from the Gran Via, Barcelona's main avenue and more important, the same 50 metres away from Ciutat Comtal, Barcelona's great tapería.(corner Ramblas with Gran Via..) The Onix Rambla is about 7-8 years "old" and is a modern, no nonsense hotel. Service is good. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but walk a few meters and you can enjoy breakfast at the tapería..One advise, even though you wont have a view, pick a room to the backside, it gets rather noisy on the Rambla side of the hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent for a citytrip. Service at reception was very friendly and helpfull, but unfortunately not the same in the breakfastroom. Buffet breakfast was okay, but not outstanding. The room was quite basic but it was peaceful and silent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I (I'm 40, she's 30) just returned after spending a few nights at the hotel. Our room was quite large and clean but definitely had a very minimalist feel to it (very sparsely decorated, no kettle, etc..). Here are a few thoughts:

pros:
-large clean rooms
-if you're at the front of the hotel you have a gorgeous view of cafes, bars and La Rambla down the street
-perfect location as the subway is down the street and La Rambla is 200 meters away
-good price point for the location and amenities.

cons:
-bathtubs only have a 1/2 glass vertical panel so a lot of water was spraying onto the floors
-it can get quite noisy as the walls thin (crying baby) and the evenings can be quite loud with the bar crowd
-number of the guests (me included) were having problems with the internet connection all weekend which was a huge pain in the butt (useful to book tours, buy tickets to museums and research are to do list)
-the breakfast (8.5 e/per) was pretty disappointing. you can get much better deals if you just step outside your room
-the staff didn't seem as engaged as other hotels you stayed at
the TV only had basic cable (no English channels)

my wife and i also had a miscommunication during our books as the website mentioned that breakfast was included when we booked our room. that didn't seem to be the case when we checked out to our chagrin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onix Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Rambla Hotel

Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Rambla Hotel is a very comfortable 3* urban hotel in Barcelona city centre. It has 40 spacious and modern rooms with some charming views over Rambla de Catalunya. Its location is truly ideal ! You will be able to walk to Gaudi’s famous buildings, museums, and enjoy the best shopping of town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Onix Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Rambla
Onix Rambla Barcelona
Onix Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onix Rambla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.