We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ari, Finland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Onix Rambla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Onix Rambla Hotel to your Saves list
Onix Rambla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ari, Finland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent for a citytrip. Service at reception was very friendly and helpfull, but unfortunately not the same in the breakfastroom. Buffet breakfast was okay, but not outstanding. The room was quite basic but it was peaceful and silent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    168
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
63
188
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I (I'm 40, she's 30) just returned after spending a few nights at the hotel. Our room was quite large and clean but definitely had a very minimalist feel to it (very sparsely decorated, no kettle, etc..). Here are a few thoughts:

pros:
-large clean rooms
-if you're at the front of the hotel you have a gorgeous view of cafes, bars and La Rambla down the street
-perfect location as the subway is down the street and La Rambla is 200 meters away
-good price point for the location and amenities.

cons:
-bathtubs only have a 1/2 glass vertical panel so a lot of water was spraying onto the floors
-it can get quite noisy as the walls thin (crying baby) and the evenings can be quite loud with the bar crowd
-number of the guests (me included) were having problems with the internet connection all weekend which was a huge pain in the butt (useful to book tours, buy tickets to museums and research are to do list)
-the breakfast (8.5 e/per) was pretty disappointing. you can get much better deals if you just step outside your room
-the staff didn't seem as engaged as other hotels you stayed at
the TV only had basic cable (no English channels)

my wife and i also had a miscommunication during our books as the website mentioned that breakfast was included when we booked our room. that didn't seem to be the case when we checked out to our chagrin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A fabulous hotel to stay in for a few days shopping, sight seeing and catching up with a friend. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed and being situated just north of the main shopping areas was less busy with tourists. Brilliant roof top swimming pool and private terrace...found we were the only ones using it, so was perfect to lie in the sun and 'chat our heads off' ! great cafes nearby and a fabulous deli, perfect for take out meals for lunch.
Rooms simply furnished, but very clean with good quality sheets and a great large bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the end of August It is a very basic hotel with no atmosphere.I found the staff were just not interested and they never enquired how are stay was even when we were leaving! The rooms are very basic and a kettle would have been nice!.The only good thing was the location this was very good as it was right in the milldle of everything.I would not stay at this hotel again it was just dead!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, service is good and perfectly located, would recommend and would def stay there again!...only downside is breakfast is a little limited but for what you're paying, it's value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel before I knew what to expect, but it wasn't as good as it used to be. We stayed for a couple of nights, had a nice room with a lovely view and good air con. We travelled to the coast for a few days and then came back to the same hotel. This time the room didn't have a lovely view and the air con didn't work well. We asked a member of staff to look at it and she was unable to get it to work. We reported it to reception and got a very lack lustre response from the gentleman working there. He said he would report it to maintenance, but would probably take three days. We asked to change rooms, this clearly he did not like but gave us another room. Sadly this air con was also poor. But this time when we reported it the lady couldn't have been more helpful. She checked it out for us and even tried to remedy the problem. It was vastly improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onix Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Rambla Hotel

Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Rambla Hotel is a very comfortable 3* urban hotel in Barcelona city centre. It has 40 spacious and modern rooms with some charming views over Rambla de Catalunya. Its location is truly ideal ! You will be able to walk to Gaudi’s famous buildings, museums, and enjoy the best shopping of town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Onix Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Rambla
Onix Rambla Barcelona
Onix Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onix Rambla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.