We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good standard hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zenit Borrell

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zenit Borrell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zenit Borrell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Conte Borrell 208 | Esquina Calle Mallorca, 08029 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good standard hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Pretty much everything went smoothly at checkin, staff was professionally polite. Large, bright and clean rooms. Secure underground parking, requires some skills since it is rather tight. Breakfast was good with enough choices. Free and working internet connection. Very close to metro stop.
The area itself is not very interesting, to visit anything or do some shopping you need to use metro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    157
    56
    13
    2
See reviews for
38
145
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Can't really say anything great or anything terrible about the place. Good things: away from La Rambla and the craze, lots of great great restaurants within a half ile walk, rooms are clean and modern. Not so good things: The walls are super thin, we heard our neighbor snoring and the staff wasn't very friendly. Not that they were UN friendly, just kind if there. If you can get a good rate, worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed the hotel from April 28 to April 30.
First: even though we mentioned it was our first time in Barcelona, no map or city info was offered. (very poor service)
Second: Internet didn't work in the room, contacted reception, nothing was done until we left the hotel.
Third: On our last night, we were having breakfast at the hotel restaurant, they made us move from our table, and we were seated at a table close to the buffet. My bag was at the chair as I stood up to get food, and was STOLEN. No one saw anything, the waiters or any of the staff. There is no security guard at the hotel entrance and obviously they don't control their door...

The worse was the lack of service and support provided to solve my problem, they basically sent me to the police to file a report... offer change for the metro or a cab that work with the hotel to take me there... no... their option was to walk 40 minutes to the next HSBC to try to get some money withdrawn from my bank account...

I was very upset and they showed no service. To have an idea, the manager didn't introduced herself to me, not even talked to me.

I don't recommend this hotel.... rooms any hotel have, but service is priceless... they should not be in the business, and as a person who have dedicated over 10 years of my life working with customer service, I felt ashamed to have such people working in the business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTP54
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a perfectly fine, just off the beaten path hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Convenient to the Metro, about a 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas and Placa Catalonia. Front staff welcoming and professional. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Two adults in 60s. Just back from 3 nights in this hotel. Easy to access from airport. Purchased public transport tickets at train station at airport. 9.90 euro for 10 journeys
We arrived about 9.30 pm and were upgraded room at no charge. Hotel clean, room clean. Our room was at the back of the hotel and quiet. A 15-20 minute brisk walk to Las Ramblas.
Many eating places nearby. Convenient for Metro. Be prepared to walk a lot but most city breaks require this.
Cannot comment on any hotel services as we were out sightseeing about 14 hours a day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms, which is really all that we were hoping for. The hotel is a little bit noisy (we could hear a guy snoring in another room), but since we spent very little time there, we were OK. The location is absolutely great, with great restaurants a short walk away, specially in Carrer Mallorca. Also, the subway was a short, 2-minute walk. We definately recommend the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed this weekend..hotel a lot further from Los ramblas than I expected. Upgraded to a standard room as reviews had said basic very small. Room was modern had a balcony and spacious bathroom.
The hotel has a restaurant and bar -however both are closed saturdays and Sunday's .. Would have been nice to have been told this before booking with Groupon. Website also states they have a terrace bar so after a long day of walking we thought we'd go back and sit in the sun with a cold drink. Ha! No chance..even though it was 22degrees we were told the terrace wasn't open!

Had a great time in Barcelona but wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zenit Borrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenit Borrell

Address: Conte Borrell 208 | Esquina Calle Mallorca, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zenit Borrell 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zenit Borrell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Borrell Hotel
Zenit Borrell Barcelona
Hotel Zenit Borrell Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zenit Borrell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.