We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Universitat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Universitat Hotel to your Saves list
H10 Universitat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

After reading the many reviews on this site we were unsure what to expect but this hotel is fabulous! The location is perfect - not right in the middle of everything but not far away! Our room was at the front and was very spacious. We had champagne on arrival and the room was very clean. The breakfast buffet was great - all the usual cereals, fruits, yogurts, meats, cheeses and cooked breakfast! The rooftop terrace was fab - the views were great, even at night!

All in all, a great hotel and location - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    423
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
106
514
59
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I reserved a double room for me, my wife, and 2 kids (age 5 and 2). "Double" is the largest room they have. When I checked in, the hotel manager told me that only 2 people can stay in the room. He wanted me to book another double room at the rack rate of 190 euros. Despite the fact that I was there with my family for my ten year anniversary, his solution was that we should stay in separate rooms. We argued for about 15 minutes and we "negotiated" a deal where I paid for 1 night (we were there for 2 nights) for an extra room (but I can't stay in it so he can still rent it out if someone shows up). The whole ordeal costs me 190 euros and a lot of frustration. It seems like all they want to do is take as much money from you as possible........NOT THE RIGHT WAY TO TREAT YOUR CUSTOMER.....NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaVDB, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Davidchic

Please, allow us to apologize for all the inconveniences you may have during you stay with us.
Your original reservations were one single room, and one single room for single use (that’s accommodation for two persons), but when you checked-in you were 4 adults and two children, so these rooms had not availability enough for 6 persons. Our Hotel has not triple rooms, and we have two Junior Suites for three persons but unfortunately they were occupied when you arrive.

We are very sorry for your comments, as we try to do our best in order to find an alternative and we though you were satisfied with it.

We hope we can welcome you again in our hotel in future occasions.

Yours Sincerely,

H10 Universitat Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The Hotel is fully renovated, and the rooms are modern and spacious with a great bathroom. It's centrally located, within a short walk to Placa Catalunya and La Ramblas. The service was brilliant, the breakfast was unforgettable and plenty. Our 4 day stay in that hotel turned our visit to Barcelona into an unforgettable experience. This was definitely the BEST value for money hotel stay we've ever experienced. The people running this hotel are simply fantastic and are leaders in the hospitality industry. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Just stayed at this Hotel and after reading reviews was unsure how the Hotel would be. I went with a friend and we found the Reception Staff very friendly and helpful. Other members of Staff were as helpful but spoken less English. We did get the drink of Cava which was excellent. Our Room was 602 and faced the Street but as my friend has asked for a view I expected this. However I did sleep and enjoyed using the balcony especially the night Barcelona won the league!! The Hotel is close to many bus stops and we used the buses rather than the Metro. Our Room had all the necessary toiletries it did have the glass door to the bathroom, my friend and I overcame any embarrasement. Should be easier for people who are together, married etc,
Breakfast was superb a wonderful selection of everything you could wish for, hot, cold , pastries, cereals, cheeses fruit etc., Staff at breakfast were very good too, we tried to say Good Morning etc., in Catalonia and they loved it.

Do not go to La Tagitelle if you cook yourself as the meal was rubbish, we only had a pasta dish and the contents, salmon seafood were missing! Divini was ok the rissoto excellent but cold. Good service there. Best meal at the Hotel, great presentation etc.,
Was 23Euros.

We loved the Magic Fountain and the Cala Balio house. Magic Fountain free. We travelled to Monserrat by FCG and Cable Car 16.55Euros excellent. Very helpful ticket Staff to purchase ticket from machine.

Aeroporto bus fare was 5.30 each way. Not what it is on some web sites.
10 trip travel tickets great for the day if you are doing lots of journeys buy inside the metro from ticket machine.

We went to the Spanish Village and the Flamenco Show there and enjoyed it. Would recommend just tapas and drink. Bus up there and back so easy to do. Saw the 730pm show.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was the 2nd time staying at this hotel and once again superb. arrived to be told we would be in a junior suite. plenty of space in the room. bottle ofcava and choc covered strawberries in the room on arrival. staff very friendly and location was superb. i will be back, hopefully soon

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and had a front room with balcony overlooking the main street. Some traffic noise but no more than expected and not a problem in my opinion.
Welcomed with a glass of cava, mints in room every day and welcome cake on lst night. Our room was comfortable size and with good wardrobe though drawer storage a bit limited. Good toiletories, robe and slippers (l set)

Good standard of cleanliness throughout hotel. Pleasant roof-top terrace with soft seating.

Excellent breakfast - hot and cold. The hotel dinner menu is limited but offers a reasonable choice at reasonable prices and includes an aperitif.

Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful

We thought this was the perfect location for a visit to Barcelona: at the top of the Ramblas about midway between Catalunya and Hospitat metro stations and 5-7 minute walk on level ground to airport bus stop. Close to the Ramblas but far enough away not to be in middle of noisy night-time "celebrations".

Room Tip: Would recommend room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra La Vella
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel is situated just off Catalunya Square in the middle of Barcelona. It is very convenient for Rambla and all the city tour buses. We were assured that secure parking was available and on arrival we were told it was free. We booked two double rooms for two nights for me and my husband and two friends from America. We have been to Barcelona a number of times, love the city and wanted to show our friends round. Initially we had tried to get into the H10 Marina, which we had stayed in before, was reasonably priced and very enjoyable. This was full and so we naturally sought a hotel in the same chain. We were quoted €180 for Thursday night and €520 for Saturday night - a total of €700. For our American friends this was $1000 for a mediocre hotel. We reluctantly accepted this.
The rooms are quite small - not big enough to accommodate cruise ship baggage easily. The walls are paper thin - I could hear snoring from one side and coughing from the other.
When we came to collect our car from the car park we were charged €89.90, because the card provided by the hotel did not work. We complained to the staff, but after 40 minutes were informed there was nothing they could do because the car park would not reimburse them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaVDB, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Susi2shoes,

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences we may caused to you.

We would like to specify that your reservation was for a double basic room (room smaller than the standard one) and with no parking included. When you did the check in our Hotel we decided to offer you a free upgrade and we give you a double standard room and include you the parking. We gave you a plastic card to use at the exit of the parking but as we understand in your explanation, it didn’t work.

When you came back to the hotel and explained what happened to the front desk staff, we apologized and tried to check with the parking which was the problem with the card and find solutions for the situation. As we informed you, unfortunately the parking didn’t accept to refund your money because you didn’t contact first anyone when you were inside the parking and decided to pay directly there.

The 2nd Front Desk Manager spoke with you and tried to find a solution. He also gave you a complaint form but, please, understand that we cannot sign the form before you write on it all that happened.

We consider that we did our best in order to offer you a pleasant stay with us, and we are very sorry if you didn’t enjoy it.

Best Regards,

Hotel H10 Universitat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Universitat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat Hotel

Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your H10 Universitat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
h10 Universitat Barcelona
H10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Universitat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.