We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Gracia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Xula Taperia

La Xula Taperia
Calle Mare de Deu dels Desemparats 18, 08012 Barcelona, Spain (Gracia)
+(34)931650101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #781 of 6,672 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gracia
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in Gracia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is by far the best restaurant in Gracia. Let the chef David pick your menu, the guy is a hidden genius in Barcelona! You will not be disappointed, from drinks to dining everything at La Xula is top notch. Get her before these people get famous!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“One of Top Tapas Places in Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We drove around Spain ate at countless taperias. La Xula was definitely at the top of several great tapas experiences! My husband and I are from Los Angeles and are a couple of foodies. We were very happy to find this restaurant. Not only is the food exquisite but the service is exceptionally good. We went there in September and here it is February. I've had it on my To Do list to finally write a review on here. There is no where from our entire Spain trip that I'm driven to review besides La Xula. We had to pay our respects to such a great restaurant and let others know where they NEED to go in Barcelona. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lovely evening and thus came back the very next night. Perfect location - fabulous atmosphere, great classic and modern tapas, plus a very kind team. Keep it up!
If I lived in Barcelona, I'd come back again and again. Absolutely worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Trendy environment and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The facilities are super cozy and the food was really good! Nice tapas selection: patatas bravas, pan con tomate, croquetas! all good for a good price! I made a reservation for 10 and at the wnd we were around 20 and it was still ok! The food was also really good! The location is perfect in Gracia neighbourhood close to a lot of other bars (Verdi Street and Plaça del Sol Square)! The seevice was also really good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Tapas with a Casual Modern Vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

La Xula Taperia was another example of the great dining experiences we enjoyed while in Barcelona for the last week of November. We had the great fortune to find great food and service every night in restaurants where you interact directly with the people who dream up the food and create the overall experience.

La Xula Tapais is a more casual dining experience in that you're not sitting at a regular height table, but around a lower (knee height) table. I think it gave our group of 7 a more connected dining experience since we were all kind of leaning in to get at the food.

The staff/owners were very engaging and happily took on our request to choose the tapas for the group - we were lucky to have a group that could eat anything.

Overall a great experience and well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Xula Taperia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Xula Taperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Xula Taperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.