We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst paella, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tapa Tapa Xiringuito

Tapa Tapa Xiringuito
Carrer de Pontevedra, Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,928 of 6,675 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst paella, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place has the worst paella you can have in Barcelona, because even if you heat a pre made paella which is bought in supermarket in microwave oven it will be better. Service is terrible, they twice forgot about our order, and you should wait for your food/tapes very long. I highly not recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    31
    36
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tapas-on-the-go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is good for some fast food tapas. Not 'the real thing' but an acceptable replacement and good value for money. The choice of tapas on the menu is pretty standard, but a good thing is that the menus have images of the dishes and a good explanation of what it is in English. There are several 'Tapa Tapa' restaurants throughout Barcelona, but we only tried this one after a lazy sunday on the beach of Barceloneta. Service is not the fastest, but they are very kind and interested in their customers. Will come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's at the beach.....who cares about the food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food was ok. Service was a little slow but adequate. Food was ok. Nothing to go crazy about but not bad either. But you are overlooking the beach so life is good.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good quality and casual tapas standardised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tapa Tapa appears to be a local tapas restaurant chain. It is popular with local families and does tasty Catalan tapas. We visited the Barceloneta restaurant twice.

They have managed to standardise Catalan tapas so if you're in need of reliably good fare and in Barcelona, Tapa Tapa is a sure bet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas by the Barceloneta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely one to go to if you're on the Barceloneta looking for dinner. The food is cooked perfectly and even though we're tourists with a plan to eat at a different place every meal, we might make an exception for this! The only downside to our trip here was that we were full of sangría, so not hungry enough to take advantage of all the offerings on the menu.

The callos del tapa tapa (local dish, pig's stomach) was stewed very nicely, tender as it should be and full of flavour. We were particularly impressed by the mussels, which were also cooked perfectly - so many places tend to overdo them. All our dishes really hit the spot!

Our waitress Judith (hope I got the spelling right) was dashing around (I think she was serving 10 tables or so at the same time??) but still served us promptly and was very friendly. Great service!

No comment on drinks 'cause we were full of sangría and coffee by the time we hit this joint.

Great value, great service, great food, great beach location... What more could anyone (much less a tourist) ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Tapa Xiringuito also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tapa Tapa Xiringuito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapa Tapa Xiringuito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.