We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Port Vell

Save Saved
You added H10 Port Vell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
H10 Port Vell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pas de Sota Muralla, 9, 08003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just completed two short stays in very new H10 Port Vell hotel in Barcelona.
Great welcome from excellent staff into this boutique hotel with beautifully designed if small rooms.
Front rooms overlook a large intersection and harbour with small balcony. The beautiful room turned out to be very noisy, constant traffic and frequent sirens to the major hospital nearbye. On our second stay we moved to another room to the back of the hotel. Same lovely room but with small balcony with distant side view to Colon statue. Much better if you need peace and quiet.
Rooftop pool area very attractive for sunbathing and dip pool.
Around the hotel location you will found excellent restaurants, bars and tapas places to suit every taste and pocket.Also a lovely beach area is just 10 mins stroll. Las Ramblas is only a 12 mins stroll. We will certainly revisit H10 Port Vell.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBARCELONA, Director Comercial at H10 Port Vell, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mike71Glasgow,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments of our Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to check that our guests are satisfied with our service.

We are really looking forward to host you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kindest regards,

Victor Juanto
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
87
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spent a week here in November and have only high praise for the wonderful staff in this lovely hotel. The staff was attentive, caring, helpful and friendly in every interaction and no request was too much for them. The staff was even so kind as to offer me a hospitality room on the day I checked out as I had a full day in Barcelona before a late night flight back home. After touring all day, I was able to return to the hotel (my home away from home) for a few hours to shower, rest and use the computer before calling a cab to the airport.
The rooms were compact, but very clean and comfortable - the Nespresso machine in the room was a great treat and a nice touch. The bathrooms were spacious and the shower terrific - only downsides were: clear doors between bathroom and toilet and no place to put soap/shampoo in shower.
The breakfast was extensive and delicious - fresh juices, great coffee and breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, sweets, made-to-order hot dishes and the waitstaff was friendly and attentive - in short, a great way to start the day in Barcelona.
The location of the hotel is perfect - close to the gorgeous promenade along the water and the port, walking distance to Las Ramblas, Placa Catalunya and the Gothic quarter and on major bus and metro lines for access to further distances.
Highly recommended for any stay in Barcelona!

Room Tip: We had interior rooms - no view but very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break here and couldn't fault the hotel or it's very friendly and helpful staff. We had an upgraded room to a harbour view with balcony, definantly worth the extra money! The hotel was spotless and given its location was laid back and no noise could be heard from outside at night time. The 5th floor terrace is worth a look either during the day or night with breathtaking views. All in all we couldn't fault our stay here and will be returning

Room Tip: 314 with balcony and harbour view was immense
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBARCELONA, Director Comercial at H10 Port Vell, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Wooke4,

On behalf of all the staff, I would like to thank you for your timed used in sharing your review.

It is always a pleasure to see that our Hotel meet your expectations.

We are really looking forward to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Victor Juanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This new hotel offers a very good room for a very competitive price. The bed and beddings are great. The bathroom facilities are terrific and well above what is normally found in good Eurpean hotels. The housekeeping staff was prompt in cleaning our room daily and then they checked with us in the afternoon to ask if we needed additional service. The desk staff was efficient, cordial, and anxious to help us. They truly are working hard as a team to make their newly opened hotel a success. The location is wonderful for tourists. It is in Port Vell, which is a beautiful area to walk and dine. It is within a short walk to La Ramba and the Gothic Quarter, and there is a tour bus stop across the street. I do recommend upgrading to the deluxe rather than the standard room to have a bit more room. Overall, the H 10, Port Vell helped make our trip to Barcelona very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book a room above the standard if you plan to be there for a number of days
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just come back from a 3 day stay.The location is great and I paid for a harbour view room with a balcony to sit on which was worth the extra money. The staff were amazing, from sorting out a problem with my Barcelona FC tickets to allowing a late check out. Breakfast was excellent, loads of cold buffet to choose from and hot food to order. Not sure i have been bacon, sausage and eggs done better anywhere!

It's a small boutique type hotel with excellent design, the roof terrace was lovely and I enjoyed a good few hours relaxing in the November sunshine overlooking Port Vell. The pool is small and only saw my feet as it was a bit too cold in November to swim.

I`ve stayed in the H10 Marina hotel three months ago which was better hotel with it's privilege rooms but that hotel is not in the best area and a long walk to get anywhere. H10 Port Vell is very nice indeed.

Minor negative points,no bath in my Port view room, the shower and toilet area are dark having been fitted out in a black slate type finish.

I'll be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for only one night before we departed for a Mediterranean cruise. Loved the location and style of this hotel. The hotel is located across the road from Port Vell, the touristy part of Barcelona. It's a few minutes walk to La Rambla and the Columbus Column.

The compact rooms are well planned with everything you would need for a great stay. The room I stayed in also had an expresso machine, nice touch. The hotel is great for couples, singles and people who know each other very well. The only unsettling thing I found was the doors of the bathroom and toilet were made of glass and transparent. I like my traveling companion but not enough to see him doing his ablutions.

If I was staying in central Barcelona this would be my hotel of choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A boutique hotel, the H10 Port Vell was comfortable, stylish and spotless. But it had only been open for about two weeks when we checked in, and the staff was still coping with procedures and with some teething issues.

Now before one gets the wrong idea, the hotel did a lot of things right. The included breakfast was first rate, with good choices of both hot and cold items. The location, right on the water, couldn't be beat with wide pedestrian walkways along the waterfront. The hotel only serves breakfast, but there are a multitude of restaurants within a short walking distance.

On the down side, there were some teething problems. Check-in was painfully slow with only one desk clerk. The lock on the room door sometimes malfunctioned upon exiting, thereby leaving the door ajar. The staff showed us how to ensure it locked, but it was tricky, and it wasn't fixed during our stay. The shower was modern, but water escaped under the shower door onto the floor. Other friends in the hotel had the same experience. In the shower, there were no hooks or shelves to hold things like shampoo. There was only room for one towel on a single a towel rack. Now these things can be corrected, and we mentioned them on check out, but it did take our enjoyment of this hotel down a peg or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel and overlooking the port. Inner court yard rooms face e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBARCELONA, Director Comercial at H10 Port Vell, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear communicator1598,

First of all I would like to thank you for your time used in sharing your comments of your last stay in our Hotel.

As you remark, these small opening problems have been fixed now. We modified all the showers and the doors.

We keep on working hard to obtain our gold, and to satisfy all our guests.

Kindest regards,

Victor Juanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H10 Port Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Port Vell

Address: Pas de Sota Muralla, 9, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H10 Port Vell 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Port Vell is a newly built hotel created by renovating one of the city´s historical buildings. This 4-star superior hotel has comfortable, modern rooms, a restaurant, a Lobby Bar and a Chill-Out Terrace with plunge pool on the 5th floor, where guests can enjoy privileged views of the Port Vell Marina and Palau de Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your H10 Port Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Port Vell Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Port Vell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.