We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Ronda Universitat 15, Pral-1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a wonderful time here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially the hygiene was really good, everything was clean, rooms were cleaned once a day, everything looked sort of new. The kitchen is great, there is a fridge and all sorts of kitchen stuff you can use. There aren't a lot of rooms, which makes it a pretty cosy hostel. It is also located close to the Ramblas (5 min walk).
But, you could hear the traffic through the window, so a set of ear plugs can be helpful. The curtains also still let the light trough, but it helps if you close the window shutters. There is free Wifi, but you have to like their facebook page.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I happened to stay at this youth hostel from 13 May to 15 May and back now. as this was my first visit it was an amazing experience. booked it thru hostelworld.com with instant confirmation.
Location is the Best Selling Point of this new property which started last August. Nice people always ready to help the travellers with whatever info required. A must stay for any Indian Backpacker planning to stay in Barcelona
Thou they dont serve breakfast you are free to cook your own meal which is just amazing to live on your own terms. Free internet access are some of the services one can use.
Great shower, thou rooms are a bit small as its a hostel there are multiple beds.
Make sure you are not carrying much luggage as the lockers in the room are not that big to fit in big bags.
They have a luggage room where you can keep your bis bags
All in all an amazing place to stay.
Will visit agan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for 5 nights, it was perfect! The bed was really comfortable and everything about it was new. The discount card and guide which the receptionist (very pretty) provided was of much help! It is a very safe place, with CCTV looking out. I will definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My two friends and I, we're 17 stayed here for a week in February. On arrival we were given a map of Barcelona which contained lots of recommendations of bars, restaurants, museums and clubs etc and 10% discount card that could be used in many places in the city. We were then given a tour of the hostel, shown to our rooms and given our keys for the lockers. The hostel itself is situated about a five minuets walk from las Ramblas and a two minuet walk from the metro station. The beds were comfy and everything was very clean and new. The staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful! They really welcome you to the city and are eager for you to have a really fantastic time. The hostel has mac computers and lots of board and card games that we would play with the other guests. We actually ended up becoming super close with many of the people we met- going out at night was amazing!! If you're on a budget I would definitely recommend but pasta and bread etc from the super markets and cooking in the hostel. In addition, it is much cheaper and economical to get a menú del día at lunch times. This is a set menu that most restaurants have that offer many courses for around 10€. In terms of nightlife, you can't really go wrong, apart from bars directly on the Ramblas are much more expensive- I can't recommend enough buying drinks from the supermarket to have in the hostel before you go out to save money!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This youth hostel was a really good surprise for us. Even if we have arrived in the night, like at 4 am, someone was still working at the reception to open the door. People working there are so cool, so gentle and they pretty know how to advice you to discover Barcelona, or more.
Rooms are correct, with comfortable beds, but to me the most important was to find a clean place (especially the bathroom).
Depending of your room, you might be disturbed by the noise coming from the street, but if you close your window and wear earplug balls it will be quiet.
The kitchen is very nice but I did not use it a lot.
The last very good point is that you can use computers for free (2 computers).
I recommend this place in Barcelona! Metro universitat, 10 min from the touristic center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

nice hostel in heart of Barcelona...clear rooms kitchen with free pasta 24/7 tea and cofee free wi-fi tv very helpfull people seesighting is really amazing fro mhostel was 2 k m to stadhuset to citybus terminalen ..alehns shopng center
Loved it,

Best

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had an excellent time at this youth hostel, what a pleasant surprise to have nothing to complain about:) Very, very clean, great kitchen facilities and free internet access (wifi and two computers). Friendly staff, great setting near to La Rambla. Seriously could not find any faults. Slept quietly, could come in at any time. Also very accommodating in terms of options to book or leave your baggage before and after your check in/out times. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel

Address: Ronda Universitat 15, Pral-1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Green is an environmentally-friendly youth hostel in the center of beautiful Barcelona. We created it from the passion to minimize the impact of our youth hostel on natural resources. Sleep Green is a small, friendly youth hostel with comfortable air-conditioned dormitories of only 4 to 6 beds. It's a short walk to main sites, public transportation, bars, shops and the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.