We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Balmes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Balmes Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Balmes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #9 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best hotel in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the first time last week for one night. When checking in we were told we got upgraded to a suite. The hotel is beautifully deigned and well located. it is not in the very center- takes about 10 minutes walk to get to the center of Barcelona. As for the hotel it self- I've visited the city quite a few times before, but this time was by far the best, staying at the Olivia Balmes. The suite on the first floor was outstanding- new, chic, huge- we didn't want to leave the room. The rooftop pool was amazing- clean and with a great view of the neighborhood. The breakfast was spectacular- the best one i ever had in an hotel before, included a very big cold buffet, baked goods and even champagne, To sum it up, i'm defiantly coming back to the Olivia Balmes. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    166
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
345
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here in July - we had a suite which was excellent and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was great for us as we enjoy walking so we did get out and about each day - it isn't in the centre of everything which is actually quite nice. We ate in the hotel both nights we were there and whilst the menu was not extensive the food was first class and not too expensive for a three course meal - the waiting staff were very good too.
Cannot fault this hotel at all

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Olivia Balmes to a wonderful and friendly staff. My daughter and I had the unfortunate experience of having our luggage "lost" so we were a bit apprehensive.Our rooms were available immediately.The concierge offered to keep an eye out for the bags.
This hotel is only a few months old and definitely highly rated in my books.
As we had a very early depature on check out,the extra breakfast was transferred to our daughters with no hesitation.Free wi-fi in the rooms
Breakfast was delicious offering a wide spread of Spanish and English cuisine.We ended our breakfast with churros con chocolaat-yummy!
Lots of tapas bars and restaurants around.- minute walk to Ramblas.Easy access to Metro too.
Large rooms,beautiful fittings.Quiet!

Room Tip: No need to book a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My boyfriend & I visited barcelona in July and stayed at olivia balmes for 5 days. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff, whom also gave us a ton of information on the city and all the help we could possibly ask for. The hotel itself is located in a beautiful part of Barcelona that is filled with culture and wonderful architecture. It is exceptionally clean and the modern interior is fresh, revitalising and the perfect amount of calm for when you return from a day of sight seeing. The pool and bar areas are lovely and the staff are always willing to help with anything you need. The bedrooms are also exceptionally clean, beds comfortable and wifi and television access is available.

Thankyou olivia balmes for such a wonderful stay and for contributing to some lovely memories!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Olivia Balmes Hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is central, modern and good value for money. The staff were exceptional - everyone friendly, professional and very helpful. There is a happy atmosphere in the hotel. Everyone smiles and nothing is too much trouble.
The reception staff helped us in many ways, booking tickets to museums, galleries and concerts.
They fixed any little problem immediately. They advised us on transport and the best way to get about.
Usually we walked, it's very easy to get around, but we also used the buses and the metro and none of it was worrying. We are two older women who don't speak Spanish, but we were on the metro at midnight and it was like a Saturday afternoon, the train crammed with people of all ages including children and older folks like us.
Barcelona itself is the most beautiful city. It is extremely well organised and clean. The traffic runs smoothly and there are safe crossing places wherever you are.
The genius of Gaudi is everywhere. No other cathedral/basilica in the world looks like Sagrada Familia. Beautiful archetecture and art abound. Food is reasonable and good. How many other cities have beaches?
We bought a two day, 'Hop on, Hop off' tour ticket, so we could get our bearings. This was a good idea and helped us plan the rest of our time in this wonderful place.
I would highly recommend the Olivia Balmes Hotel and the amazing city of Barcelona

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip in January 2014. The building is beautiful and new, it is perfect if you are into modern design concepts. The staff were incredibly helpful. We were first given a standard room but realised it was a little bit too small so we asked if we could go for an upgrade and pay for the difference. Within minutes, we were given a free room upgrade since it wasn't the busy season and they had rooms. The rooms are nice, minimal and very modern, the only downside for me was the open plan bathrooms as I like my privacy. Other than that, everything else was perfect. Nice breakfast, nice swimming pool on the rooftop (although a little bit small), great location and lovely staff. If the glass doors in the bathroom doesn't bother you, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 amazing nights, July 21-27 - and we enjoyed everything about our stay!
To start off, the hotel is marvelous looking and very well maintained. Extremely impressing hotel. As we entered there was this amazing smell and we knew that we found the best hotel in barcelona.
Couldn't speak higher of the amazing staff and crew of the hotel. We were always warmly greeted by the concierge/ The bellman was the sweetest and always welcomed us back "home" and helped us. Anya, a lady at the reception was extremely kind and helpful with booking us tickets, printing out train times, and explaining to us how to get to pretty much anywhere in barcelona with much patience and many brochures and maps to help as well. We were able to get everywhere easily, wether it was by foot (10 min walk to la rambla), taxi cab (4-5 euro, 10 max), metro (stop was just outside our hotel! so convenient), or train (passage de garcia was 6-7 min walk). We definitely felt we weren't alone and had the staffs help at all times (even at 2 am when we asked for bowls).
Our room was perfect! We had a room with a balcony and a very big shower, super cozy and clean room. Our room was made every time we got back to it, which was the best!
The rooftop pool is a great bonus, and a great place to relax! Though its tough getting a sunbed, as they're always taken.
The only "downside" was that on our last day since our flight was at 23:59, we needed a late check out (since we wanted to shower after the long day and before our flight), but paying the extra hours was a bit too pricey for simply a shower, would have appreciated some sort of consideration.. anyways our bags were kept very safely in the bag storage!
Breakfast was good, and kept us full for a long time of the day, and was a perfect way to start the day (and a reason we had to wake up until 11 am even though the bed was SOOOO comfortable - and I am super picky! The pillows were to die for).

Overall the most perfect vacation we could've imagined! Best hotel to stay in Barcelona and would definitely return in a heartbeat! So jealous of anyone planning a trip here, you're going to have the best experience in every aspect! Wish I could come back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying at a magnificent, modern hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Discover one of the 128 rooms at Olivia Balmes Hotel, all of which are modern, functional, spacious and bgirht.Design, comfort and cutting-edge materials have been carefully selected to ensure an unforgettable stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Balmes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.