We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel ... Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Balmes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Balmes Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Balmes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #9 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel ... Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Olivia Balmes for 4 nights and we are absolutely satisfied with it. The hotel has modern interior design, rooms are clean and bright, and bed is comfortable. Hotel staff are wonderful, they are extremely friendly and helpful by providing useful dining suggestions and arranging reservations for us. Location is great, which is within walking distance to many tourist attractions such as Casa Mila, Casa Batllo, Passenge de Gracia etc., and the neighbourhood is neat and safe. Breakfast is not included in our package but it doesn't bother us as there are lots of nice cafes nearby for good breakfast. We will definitely stay here if we visit Barcelona again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    166
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
345
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a short review, it was clean, beautifully and innovatively designed, had extremely friendly and helpful reception staff with wonderful restaurant recommendations. The small pool with inbuilt lilo's on the rooftop is just what you need after walking around Barcelona all day. All in all great hotel, had a wonderful time there, I just wished I could stayed for longer, would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After a trip throughout Europe this was by far our favorite hotel. Modern, clean, convenient and EXTREMELY helpful staff. We were provided with a map upon check in and the staff offered recommendations and made many reservations, etc for us! I highly recommend for all kinds of travelers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were a group of 6 guys in Barcelona for 5 nights for the MotoGp weekend, Spent a lot of time looking for a decent hotel and plumped for the Olivia Balmes, We were not disappointed, from the second we walked in the whole experience was superb, Reception staff were extremely helpful, Eduardo I guess the doorman was exceptional, facilities top class, rooms spotless, everything crisp, clean. Breakfast was plentyful and over a long period of time everyday, Location was very good, so many places to eat and drink and only a 20 minute walk to La Rambla.

Will without doubt stay here again when (not if) we go back to Barcelona

Many Thanks Olivia Balmes Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Olivia Balmes for a family vacation and it was great. The hotel is brand new (I think it opened in August 2013). The rooms are very modern and extremely clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The neighborhood was very classy, with lots of restaurants and boutiques nearby, but is was not in the middle of the touristy tumult in the old city or Las Ramblas. Close to Metro stations and an easy walk from the Placa Catalunya. It was great to escape from those busy areas in the afternoon for a dip in the rooftop pool and a siesta. We were on the second floor, and I did feel the train go by under the hotel, but it never bothered me. Apparently, if you have a higher floor you don't feel it at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Love this hotel, its location and staff. They were extremely helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on as were their suggestions for tours and directions. Would love to return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was in a great area. We were able to walk to almost everywhere we wanted to go. First day, we went down to the Santa Caterina Market, the old town and Las Ramblas. The second day, we walked to the Gracia neighborhood (the up and coming hip part of town, uphill from the hotel) and then over to the Sagrada Familia.

We also went to many of the nearby restaurants. Our favorite was Gresca, which is only a block away. Best meal of our trip.

We also loved the little rooftop pool. It was a bit chilly when we got there since the sun was setting and the pool isn't heated, but it was very refreshing.
Hotel was well acquainted, great service and great place for us to start our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying at a magnificent, modern hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Discover one of the 128 rooms at Olivia Balmes Hotel, all of which are modern, functional, spacious and bgirht.Design, comfort and cutting-edge materials have been carefully selected to ensure an unforgettable stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Balmes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.