We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust their recommendations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambarol

Bambarol
Carrer Santalo 21, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
+(34)932507074
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Trust their recommendations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

After reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we had high expectations. We were not disappointed! Best tapas ever! We decided to let our waiter choose all the dishes and wine. We had the equivalent of a great 'Tasting Menu'. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    59
    14
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun experience with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked the restaurant after looking at the tripadvisor reviews and they did not disappoint. The evening got off to a great start with the irrepressible Leo in full flow. Although I mention her by name the waiter who also served us was equally charming.
One of the recommendations was for a slow cooked pork dish of the cheaper cuts. Quite excellent. As indeed was everything we ate including the bruschetta.
Definitely a restaurant for anyone's list on a visit to Barcelona. Good value too with the most expensive wine on the list at just EUR22.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Tapas. Best Service. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my girlfriend. We were quite early and had the complete attention of Cleo - the best waitress we ever had. She indroduced us the menue and gave some useful advice. Her english was far better than expected. Food was awesome and the white wine came with some ice in a silver cooler. All in all the best food we had during our stay in BCN. Go there, enjoy and try the salmon with mango and parseley

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Food was amazing really interesting take on classic tapas dishes.
Restaurant has great informal feel, very good enthusiastic waiter, and most friendly front of house.
If you are in Barcelona you must try to book a table here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had the enormous pleasure of visiting Bambarol for dinner in January 2014. We walked from our hotel in the Gothic Quarter - a very pleasant stroll of 25 minutes or a short, very cheap taxi ride.
The dinner at Bambarol was THE BEST tapas meal we had in our 22 days in Spain; it was simply magnificent.
We arrived without a booking to find it full at only 8.30, clear evidence of it's well-deserved popularity. A table was found by the lovely Lou on the understanding that we would be finished by 10.30 when is was booked; no problem for us and a delightful outcome.
We feasted. Each of the dishes we ordered was great; superbly presented and wonderfully tasty. Not a flat spot in any of the 7 dishes we tried. Sensational salmon; tasty anchovies; incredible lamb shank pattie; crisp salad; great potato bravas - it was all superb.
The wine we had was a 2006 Honderas at Euro 19.5 it was exquisite and incredible value.
Service was outstanding and really friendly.
In 2015 we will be back to Barcelona for a conference and I have already lined up enough friends to book the entire restaurant; can't wait!!
Bambarol is fantastic - not to be missed and unreservedly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambarol also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bambarol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambarol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.