We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Basic - Zoo annexe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chic & Basic Zoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chic & Basic Zoo to your Saves list
Chic & Basic Zoo
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Passeig Picasso, 22 | Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chic Basic - Zoo annexe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The clue is in the name - and they get it just right. A stylish and simple place to stay. Don't expect five star chic but the hotel meets the need for basic accommodation with just that little bit more. Our room faced onto the wide street that runs between the Zoo annex and the park. It was clean, comfortable with good wardrobe space and a small but well-appointed bathroom with an excellent shower.

The air-conditioning was a bit hit and miss - given the 22 - 24 degree nighttime temperatures, it might have become an issue for a stay longer than our four nights. We tried one night with just the shutters across the window but it was too noisy (it is a busy road). So we slept with the window shut.

The bottles of water in the well-stocked reception fridge and the good coffee were a great help. You can also get breakfast (9 euros) in the main reception round the corner from the Zoo annexe. The staff were very helpful and cheerful.

We are already planning to stay again - this kind of hotel in this interesting and attractive part of town is a big win for us. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Zoo annexe overlooking the park: good position if the traffic noise doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    52
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
3
76
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We (9 adults) have stayed at Chic & Basic Zoo - it's in the Born district just around the corner from Chic & Basic Born (we stayed at this one last year) handy to the train station for train to F1 - its a nice simple boutique hotel with really helpful reception team, free wifi and coffee/biscuits etc - location is excellent. We would all recommend if you're looking for an inexpensive base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chic and basic Zoo is mostly basic. Don't expect chic, but expect clean simple rooms at the heart of the old city just opposite beautiful parque de la Ciudadela, just 2 mins walk away from the Picasso museum, 5 mins from the old port and 10 mins from the beach. It is quiet and there is a coffee machine and a fridge with water in the lobby. The best though is the staff who are super friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we complained about a torn sheet, a broken lamp and the dripping sink. We didn't expect them to react at all, as we had gotten a room for a really good rate through booking.com, but everything was fixed the same day. And sheets and towels were changed every day. Before we left we were offered to have breakfast, which was not included in our rate. All in all, probably one of the most competent and hospitable experiences I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for front or back rooms to have a view (front) or at least a window to a back yard (back). Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is more like a serviced apartment. We would recommend this place as we found it very comfortable,clean, and good value for money, great location, great staff on reception at the Chic and Basic born. The reception also doubles up as a trendy place to have a drink in the evening. They also have 24hr reception. The only fault with the room was lack of blind for the window in the room, making it very very hot from the heat of the sun. There was also a fixed shower in the bathroom, not very useful if you just want to wash your hair. Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our 2nd hotel in Barcelona and we really enjoyed our stay here. The bed was comfortable with soft pillows, including extra pillows (always a plus with me). The Chic&Basic philosophy is fantastic with cute little sayings on everything from the room key to the soap. The television was excellent with many channels, free wi-fi, a reading nook, elevator to supplement stairs, beautiful reception area (although you need to check in around the corner) and friendly staff! We were able to quickly walk to both the Arch (closest Metro) and the bus station (airport travel) from the park. Not to mention you aren't too far from the Harbor area, Gothic Area and Parc Citudella (which is where the zoo is). Overall excellent accommodations!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is worth the extra money, you get to people watch after a long day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel opposite the park. We had a clean, decent sized room overlooking the park and the main road. The hotel staff were always friendly and welcoming and there were plenty of bottles of free water available in the communal lounge area. I would recommend earplugs if staying in a room at the front of the hotel though as the street noise can be a little loud at times but I would highly recommend this to place to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Zoo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Becky C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Zoo. For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.
We hope we will welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Zoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel, great service, lovely rooms, great location. The bar next door is great too. And there was a fridge in the lobby constantly stacked with free water bottles for you to grab on your way out. I'm definitely recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at Chic & Basic Zoo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Katrina F
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&b Zoo Hotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in chic&basic Zoo.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic & Basic Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Zoo

Address: Passeig Picasso, 22 | Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chic & Basic Zoo 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Born district and looking out over the Ciutadella Park, this hotel has everything you desire: an unbeatable location and the chic&basic style. A classic building with an interior design with industrial inspiration; a hotel with an urban character opposite a park full of trees and grass and fresh air, chic&basic Zoo as a hotel full of contrasts and enchantment. In the "helpyourself" area you can relax reading a magazine and having a coffe, tea or just water at any time of the day for free. Behind the facade of a classic building, in the heart of the Born district and right opposite the Barcelona Ciutadella Park, you will find the chic&basic Zoo hotel. Enjoy a privileged location, with a unique ambience, in the contemporary centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chic & Basic Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Zoo Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic & Basic Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.