We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Kessler Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Kessler Barcelona to your Saves list
Casa Kessler Barcelona
Calle Enric Granados 30 Entresuelo, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- Clean, stylish, well equipped for a hostel
- relaxing terrace
- the 2 younger guys that work at the reception are very friendly
- we were lucky the people we got in our rooms were super nice

Cons:
- not as close to the metro as they say it is. It's at least 10-15 min walking which can be a lot after a long day touring the city but the closest metro is very practical

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
19
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Friendly staff with fluent English, great facilities in a lovely area of the city. Nice communal area and luggage storage. Lovely old fashioned lift, though it depend on other guests to close it properly in order to work! As we were on the 5th floor this was a minor drawback.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Casa Kessler is such a relief from all the busy hostels that look like they cramp people in small rooms in the name of a 'youthful adventure'.

This place is a hybrid luxury hostel at such good prices. It's a tasteful and warm haven just like the owners of the place who have invested so much of themselves to give their personal touch. If you are experiencing Barcelona for the first time, stay in Eixample and only at Casa Kessler.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santana de Parnaiba, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had some trouble with the Online Travel Agency that made the booking for us and all staff at Casa Kessler helped us a lot, even that the problem was not their fault.
They gave us an upgrade for all the inconvenience that, once again, was not caused by them and we stayed in a room for Four people.
The room was very comfortable and clean. The same for the bathrooms, they were clean every time that someone used and the number of showers are more than enough to don't have to wait.
Great living room and terrace to hang out and rest and the kitchen area is great with everything you need to cook or storage food for your stay.
The Hostel is very well located, close to the Metro and Train Station and a few touristic places.
But the best part is the staff, since before our arrival they were great and always helped with directions, recommendations and other stuff.
I recommend for sure this Hostel for your stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have nothing to complain about this Hostel. I had a problem in my booking because of an OTA mistake and they solved everything. The staff is awesome and made everything they could to make my stay excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at Casa kessler during May, and it was not a good experience at all. First, this hostel appears clean but in fact there was bed bugs that kept us from sleeping. Second, at one night it was so hot, there are no AC and we couldn't open the window, it was really hot. Moreover, the beds at the top are so high, more than usual, one friend was almost falling while sleeping. This is concerning the hostel itself, but for it's location it's another story. It is really far from the metro station, we used to walk a lot in order to find it! Finally, I found it too small too, only three rooms for 6 beds in each one. The crew is nice & helpful but this could be found anywhere else. For all this reasons I'll never come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erskine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Casa Kessler, where we had booked the two bedroom apartment. We were a party of 4, but the apartment actually sleeps 6, with one double room and another with two single beds and a double overhead bunk. The location is very good, with easy access to many attractions.

The communal area is excellent, with a nice terrace where you can relax and enjoy breakfast.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, and were happy to keep our luggage for us after we had checked out as we had a late flight. This meant that we could make the best of our last day in Barcelona.

I would definitely recommend Casa Kessler, we wouldn't hesitate to return there.

Room Tip: The double room in the apartment had air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Kessler Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kessler Barcelona

Address: Calle Enric Granados 30 Entresuelo, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kessler is a newly opened hostel, located in a chic and charming Art Nouveau building. Its exclusive mezzanine has original floors and ceilings restored from the XIX century and perfectly integrated with modern interior.Seven unique design rooms, cozy and warm, with a chill out terrace to relax and escape the stress of the city. Excellent location in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Kessler Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kessler Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Kessler Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.