We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice size rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia to your Saves list
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 644, 8007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Nice size rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Passeig de Gràcia is well located walking distance to Catalunya, LaRambla, and reasonable trek to the waterfront. We had a good size room with two full size beds pushed together as well as a pull away for our daughter. The room was clean, service very good, and the price is excellent value. We had a room facing the back so no view though it maybe for the better as I wonder if the front rooms facing the main road could be too noisy. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs we never used.

From the BCN airport, take the Aerobus to the last stop at Catalunya. They run every 10 min, inexpensive, and one way is about 25 minutes. Upon arrival at Catalunya, go north 2 blocks on Passeig de Gràcia and a right on Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes is the hotel.

Room Tip: Opposite of main street main be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. It is a great pleasure for us knowing that we satisfy your expectations. We wait for you on your next visits to Barcelona. You will be more than welcome.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    68
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
139
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in February 15-19th.
Everything from check-in to check-out was perfect.
The room was clean, the beds, pillows, sheets and towels were comfortable, clean and new.
The furnishings and styling were modern.
Everything in our room functioned perfectly.
I especially appreciated the staff, as they were very professional and always happy to assist.
The location was excellent - very central, great access to Metro.
We were within walking distance or quick metro to many Barcelona attractions.
Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area.

We did not get breakfast included in our package because we preferred the option eat a smaller lighter breakfast. The buffet was offered at a cost of 19E.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Thank you to the staff at the HC Passeig de Gracia!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kinds words about our hotel.
I am very happy to hear that your stayed with us was fine and I hope to see you again very soon.
Again, thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in February after reading all the good reviews on TA and were not disappointed. The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping district and is just around the corner from the airport bus, the big department store El Corte Inlges (which has a supermarket in the basement) and the hop on hop off bus (both the City and Touristic lines). The metro is a stone throw away and can take you to the rest of the city. We did not have breakfast at the hotel because there is so much good food at the city centre, e.g. there is a cafe with great coffee and croissant not too far from the hotel and a very good (but busy!) tapas restaurant 3 mins away. We stayed in a room with an outdoor terrace which was located on the first floor (one floor above ground level) facing 3 walls of residential buildings so we did not have much of a view but it is okay since we were out most of the day.

The hotel is very new and almost spotless, the only design flaw I have to say is the shower - the rainshower flooded the bathroom floor because the shower door covered only half of the shower area. Other than that, we had a fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the time you spent writting this comments in Trip Advisor. My staff and me are so proud of it and of course, we look forward to welcoming you soon in Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

great hotel right around the corner from the plaza catalunya. that meant direct access to the center of the transpo hub in barcelona including the airport shuttle bus and the subway lines. the hotel itself is well appointed, bright, clean, and very well designed. staff were very courteous and efficient. i have found my home base for barcelona!

Room Tip: my room on the 1st floor had an outside sitting area with a view of the pool. no street view thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel on trip advisor.
I am very happy to hear that you found your home base for Barcelona, I think it is one of the best comments than I can received.
Again thank you very much for your nice comment and I will wait for your next visit to your home.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel was one of the best places we have stayed. We were traveling with another couple and all stayed here for 2 nights. Very modern hotel but not over the top modern. It had just enough to look clean and sleek. We have stayed in Germany and London and haven't found a place this nice.. with such a great central location, at such a good price, ever!

We had a standard room. It came with a balcony, amazing rainfall shower with towel warming rack.. King size bed that gave us the best nights of sleep we had our whole vacation. The hotel is clean and quiet. We were given complimentary drink cards for the bar at our arrival which was a nice surprise as well. We didn't eat there but the bar was nice for just a drink before heading out for the evening.

The hotel staff was great about giving us suggestions on where to go for food and drinks too. Also if you ask they give you maps of the city which is needed.

We would very much stay here again. Really just a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: don't pay more for the bigger room.. the standard was perfect size for 2 and ours had a nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. This feedback is the best quality barometer that we have. I will pass through my staff your opinion, they will be more than pleased to receive them.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel in February 2014.
I would definitely return in this hotel. The room is big, clean, modern.
The bed is vey very comfortable.. I'm used to travel but I rarely had the chance to sleep so well.
The location is perfect at 30 meters from the metro station.
Plaza Catalunia, casa Batlo, Pedrera... are at very short walking distance.

I didn't try the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to hear that your stayed with us was fine.
If you will come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The best value hotel I have stayed in in Barca. The pricing is normal business hotel pricing, and not expensive for the centre of Barcelona but the quality is really first class. Friendly well trained staff, and upgrade to Imperial Suite astonishing for the price.

Outstanding room service arrangement with a sushi restaurant- which arrived promptly and was good quality and also very well priced.

I didn't take breakfast so, not sure about that but everything else was tremendous.

My visit was one night for business but the hotel experience made it feel more like a vacation. Will return. Soon.

Room Tip: Imperial Suite is magnificent. Private terrace and jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel, I am very happy to hear that everything was fine during your stayed and I really hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 644, 8007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Passeig De Gracia Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.