We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique take on ice cream” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eyescream And Friends

Eyescream And Friends
Paseo Joan de Borbo 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
+34 932 21 53 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #916 of 7,091 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: We are simply the best looking and best tasting eyescream in Barcelona. Why explain to you who we are or how we taste like just pass by our shop in Barceloneta and try a Bob Mango or a Brown Ed with the toppings of your choice Our eyescream are essentially Gelato frozen at -25º C in cylindrical cubes which are then placed in a special machine which shaves it. The final result is a silky and smooth texture of eyescream. The eyescream flavors include:-Cheesecake-Vanilla-Chocolate-Yoghurt-Wildberry Yoghurt-Strawberry-Mango. We also have Sorbets for those who are lactose-intollerant which are the Strawberry, Lemon, Mango, and Watermelon Sorbets.Additionally you can choose 2 toppings to combine with your favorite eyescream. The toppings are all delicious syrups which makes for a nice combination with any eyescream. The flavors are:-Chocolate-Condensed Milk-Dulce de Leche-Passion Fruit-Strawberry-Mango-Kiwi-Chocolate cookies-Oreo´s-Gummy bearsLast but not least, each eyescream is served carefully with 2 sugar candy "eyes"
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique take on ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friend had passed this little ice cream shop on a previous trip to Barcelona and vowed she would be back. So, when we met in Barcelona for a girls vacation that was one of our stops. It was such a cute little place. Totally fun concept, simple setup, great graphic appeal (I'm a designer so these things appeal to me!), and a super creative take on traditional ice cream. We were the only ones there at the time so we got to talk with the owner who was very friendly. Once my friend made her "eyescream" decision we ventured out to a bench to partake. The final product had definite eye appeal but I wouldn't say the ice cream was anything special. It's more about the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Coolest ice cream I've ever seen but not good to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very nice thing to look at and experience: the packaging is cool, the idea is cool, the toppings are good but the ice cream is just plain horrible. Wrong texture, no flavour whatsoever, and not cheap either (4.30€) A pity!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience That Shouldn't Be Missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are in Barcelona (and in Barceloneta more specifically) a stop by Eyescream is a must! It was the unique look of the shop that first caught our attention, with their wooden crates topped with a variety of mix-ins. The co-owner, who was manning the shop the evening that we visited, explained what Eyescream was all about. After hearing the concept, we had to have a taste.

There were 6-8 flavors available the night we visited, and we went with the lemon. The owner suggested that we top our shaved ice cream with condensed milk and shortbread cookies, two of the mix-ins that were available. The combination created the flavors of a lemon cream pie with a graham cracker crust! Of course, our dessert was topped with two candy eyes!

This is a great concept shop that offers customers a unique twist on the traditional gelato or ice cream that lines the streets of Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super original and different experience of eating "eyescream"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate an ice cream here, not only they look very cool, they are big and you get to choose a couple of toppings already included in the price. Lots of combinations possible. Its really nice to experience something different and original. The staff was also super nice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eyescreamandfriends, General Manager at Eyescream And Friends, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you for the great comments! We are in business to deliver smiles and make sure that every customer is a happy customer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most stop in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

If you go to Barcelona you have to stop and buy one ice cream here! The coolest ice cream ever, and taste amazing. The service is great also

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eyescreamandfriends, General Manager at Eyescream And Friends, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Biatri,

We appreciate your positive comments!!! Best of luck and if you visit Barcelona again, dont forget to stop by for a nice eyescream :)

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eyescream And Friends also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Eyescream And Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eyescream And Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.