We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi Restaurante Hindu

Gandhi Restaurante Hindu
Carrer Balmes 21, 350 meters from Placa Catalaunya, Near Ramblas, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
+(34)670385112
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 40%
Gandhi Restaurante Hindu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,239 of 6,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit and Miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Yesterday I went to Gandhi part of a 30 people group. Being Indian I was highly impressed by the food and the service. The food was genuine and reminded me of any Indian restaurant in the UK which is fantastic for any ex-pat looking for taste of home. The service was fantastic, although there were other diners in the restaurant, we didn't feel like they were overrun with our group. The only complaint was the naans were a bit overdone.

Seeing that yesterday was a great experience, today I thought I would order a takeaway from their website to share with some friends. We ordered at 9.10pm, it is now 2 hours later and the staff still have no answer as to why my takeaway has not been delivered.One of my calls was put on hold while I could hear the restaurant noise.

Staff were not interested in listening to my complaints until I switched to Hindi. Really disappointed. Restaurant service and food is great, take away service is pathetic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beware of crazy reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This the worst Indian restaurant? Someone is writing biased reviews.
The food here is tasty & courteously served. The prices are extremely cheap, especially for Barcelona center if you work there. (The menu at midday is less than 10€ as of this writing) The papadam is delicious, the nan just made. The choices are reasonable. Sauces taste fresh. I think it's a find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Probably the worst Indian Restaurant that I have eaten in, in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was in Barcelona for a few days break and was initially delighted to find this Restaurant so close to my Hotel and thought that I would use it on several occasions. I met the owner outside the restaurant during the morning as he was giving out Business cards and told him that I would eat in the restaurant that evening around 8-8.30pm. I arrived at 8.30pm and ordered my meal. Within about 30 mins, the whole restaurant was taken over by a party of Asian people. Most establishments would have closed due to a 'private party'. I was then, halfway through my meal and the owner came up to me and told me to eat up as he needed my table. This was a complete insult and the rest of my evening was ruined. I asked for my bill and left in a very bad mood. I have eaten in many Indian Restaurants both in this Country and around the World and this has to be the worst experience ever. The food, incidentally, was only average. If in Barcelona, I recommend that people try somewhere other than the Gandhi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a delicious lunch at Gandhi restaurant! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food very good! We had a salad and pizza (very particular pizza but rich of ingredients and with a very good taste!) and a Sangria, well prepared and fresh! We absolutely come back to Gandhi when we will return to Barcelona!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Restaurante Hindu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gandhi Restaurante Hindu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi Restaurante Hindu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.