We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the interior this place is an Indian treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu

Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu
Sant Agusti, 10, 08012 Barcelona, Spain
932228226
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 5,921 restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Don't be fooled by the interior this place is an Indian treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We cane across this restaurant on trip advisor having got a craving foe Indian. The interior isn't great but this has no impact on the food and almost added to the charm. When we went it was packed and people were getting take-aways also. The starters were divine, veg pakora and samosas. Mains were also good. I had the chicken biryani. Our bill was very reasonable and I would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    148
    34
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic place but great to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Not much to look at and you'd easily pass it by but it's one of those places you shouldn't. Service is very good (informal). Food is wonderful - not what you expect from Barcelona where curry isn't typical at all amongst the locals (unlike the UK). Prices are fine at around €8 ish per main dish.

I live in BCN and would happily visit again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate here for dinner tonight. We were welcome with so much friendliness by the owner and staff. Then he even suggested us not to order too much main dishes. So at the end we got a starter, chicken tikka, lamb korma, naan and rice. We spent around EUR 35 together with drinks. The curries were splendidly cooked, original taste. Great Indian Food!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Swagatastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found this restaurant through trip adviser as voted no 1 Indian in Barcelona, and it did not disappoint, at first glance it is nothing special small quaint place in a little side street but as you walk in you get the warmest of welcomes from the staff who are fantastically helpful welcoming and attentive but not overly so. The vegetable mixed starters are abundant with fresh veg in a light batter and the chicken pakoras were so succulent in another type of light batter you didn't need a knife to cut them up they just fell apart. And then on to the mains where there is not a big menu but they will alter sauces to spice up a dish to suit your needs. Highly recommended a must visit when in Barcelona,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Indian Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After a google search for 'the best curry in Barcelona' I decided to visit here and was very glad I did. Fresh delicious Indian food at great value to be had and the service is brilliant with the staff all so friendly and also multi-lingual. Would highly recommend to any fan of indian cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.