We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Biarritz 1881

Bodega Biarritz 1881
Calle Vidre, 8 | Close Tuesday, ​​08002 Barcelona, Spain
+34 618 67 79 27
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 6,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pas de reservation Bar a tapas traditionnel et typique Espagnol , on choisi ses tapas avec une serveuse , puis le cuisiniers les prepare devant vous , vous etes servis dans les minutes . Attention : pas de reservation , ferme les mardi soir. Fermeture annuelle , janvier et fevrier .
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great tapas bar off the main square, tiny place and we had to wait about 10 mins for a seat. While we waited we had drinks and the mojito was fantastic - good amount of sugar. When we did get seated, we sat on the bar, which i would recommend as you can see all the food to choose from. We got the attention of the waitress, who puts all your food as you choose it on a plate and then whips it away to be heated. We had about 10 different tapas, all which were very tasty. Cheap price, good food, fun music, friendly lovely staff - would recommend and highly likely to go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    72
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Despite all reviews here: this is a tourist trap..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

(24y, 25y couple one of us lived in spain for 9y)

We visited this place because of the many excellent reviews on tripadvisor.
The place looked very nice and the staff very friendly and helpfull, and offered us a glas of red wine while waiting for a place.
The tapas looked fine, but after the first bite you could tell it was made from a pouder mixed source. After having 7 poor tapas I told my girlfriend to have some serano jamon and manchego cheese cause you can hardly go wrong with that.. Sad to say the pieces were drenshed in oil and not fresh. The jamon was just from the supermarket..
It might be a good place for tourists who dont have any spanish experience and want to eat cheap and a variety of mediocre/bad tapas..

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

A tiny tapas bar with fantastic food. The feed is all on the bar and you choose what dishes you want. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is cheap but very, very good. They mix good mojitas and caipirinhas as well. Not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Awesome tapas in a cute street located just off la Rambla and easy to find. When we arrived we were blown away by the amount of different dishes that were all displayed along the bar. It's a very small bar but has a great atmosphere and welcoming feeling. The staff were all so friendly very efficient and very helpful when it came to all the different dishes and explaining what is in them. My partner and I had two drinks each and ten different dishes to share for 60€ which was great value for money as we both walked out feeling very full. Overall I would recommend going here to anyone staying in Barcelona as we really enjoyed our night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tapas that I've been looking for :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Kind and friendly staff + very good food = you don't need more :) You must go there if you're in Barcelona...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Biarritz 1881 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bodega Biarritz 1881? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Biarritz 1881, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.