We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit little bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domino Bar

Domino Bar
Carrer de Les Flors, 16 | Metro Paral·el L2 L3 salida Ronda Sant Pau, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
+34 696 46 17 25
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 6,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Homemade pizzas and baked Argentine empanadas. Mojitos, gin tonics and creative cocktails. Familiar. Well located in the center of Barcelona, ​​the Raval. Pub restaurant open every day.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Must visit little bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just a few steps from the Parallel Metro station, around the corners and along the short street, a great little bar / restaurant will be found. Come for a drink but stay for the food. We started with the bartender's own concoctions (cocteles de autor). If you enjoy chocolate drinks, try the "mamba negra". The Italian chef meant, we would have an Italian meal. Caprese ensalade made with fresh buffalo mozzarella was the start to even more tasty cheese on a great pizza. The staff will explain (in english) anything you do not understand about the menu selections.The bartender has a great little booklet of her drinks, with images and descriptions. A very nice surprize, hidden on a small street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    67
    27
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good if you like that sort of thing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was excited to visit this bar at the back of parallel street after reading the reviews as my partner really enjoys margaritas and empenadas, especially after visiting argentina a few years back. In short the place is ok if you speak the language. The empandas were frozen, the drinks were quite nice but nothing spectacular and one of the bar staff was quite friendly as she offered a free lemondrop shot at the end. Our food took 20 minutes to come out, our drinks took about 30-40 minutes (which one of the staff asked if we still wanted after 20 minutes!) The place was smokey with no ventilation after the empenadas were made. We had a view of a cupboard which was inconveinent for the bar staff and us, and a view of the toilet. It was uncomfortable, lighting was too bright for the night and the music was terrible, enough to drive someone insane! (squaredance). Maybe we went on the wrong night. If you want cocktails or tapas food just go on the streets of parallel, plenty of buzzing places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domino_Bar, Propietario at Domino Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, we feel really sorry that we couldn't satisfy your expectations. We are a small, modest bar and we care about you come to have a good time while maintaining the value for money and a friendly service that does not occur at all sites especially for tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect place when you really want to enjoy a good cocktail, and eat something homemade, beautifully decorated, the attention is nice, hope you enjoy it like me

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for starting the night with vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Domino bar is a small jewel in the Rabal of Barcelona. Planning a heavy night out? Drop off first there and enjoy a perfectly prepared gin & tonic or a mojito.
Chances are you will meet new people there in a relaxed and down-to-earth atmosphere. On my visits there, always found nice people without pretensions of being wannabes.
Jessi, the owner will most probably join your conversations and introduce you to people. If you stay until late the staff may even take you out to discover discos and pubs in Barcelona.
If you feel hungry you can order pizzas and empanadillas. Much tasty than expected from a bar.

And on top of it, the price is unbelievably low!

My advice, just show up after dinner and stay a couple of hours. You won't regret!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant with pizza and great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

As we spotted this on Trip Advisor and it was located close to our hotel we thought we'd check it out. Its great value with great cocktails and as the restaurant is small it has a really good atmosphere. We arrived early at 9pm and had a choice of tables to sit at but by 10pm it was very busy. The pizza is freshly made and you can see the kitchen from the restaurant sitting area. Worth a visit if pizza or cheap cocktails are on your list of requirements.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domino Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Domino Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domino Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.