We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Tomate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Tomate

Cafe Tomate
Compte d'Urgell, 146, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
+34 93 451 22 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #454 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bienvenidos a Café Tomate,Somos un restaurante especializado en la cocina de mercado, ubicados en la "Eixample" de Barcelona, uno de los distritos más emblemáticos de la ciudad donde su historia, arte y cultura son visibles en cada rincón.En Café Tomate podrás disfrutar de una amplia variedad de tapas y montaditos. Para los paladares mas exigentes contamos con nuestras especialidades Café Tomate y el apartado Café Tomate Gourmet.No solo buena comida, también tenemos una exclusiva selección de ginebras, tónicas y cockteleria selecta.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Tomate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went there to have diner, ate some tapas and the house burguer, it was great.
The staff was friendly, had a nice time.
Service can take a while if they're crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    27
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food, and very friendly atmosphere, fairly pricey for a local find, but all quality food, definately reccomended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A serendipitous discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a fantastic little place. I usually eat in a place that is busy as I rate this as a good sign. After walking quite a way to find somewhere to eat this was the busiest establishment we came upon. I'm glad we stopped as the food was fab, wine equally so and very friendly waiters. I had the fish stew, lots of monk fish in sauce sitting on potatoes that were also cooked on the sauce, simply Devine. To finish we had a G&T and a Bacardi & coke which came in very large glasses. Really loved the laid back atmosphere and ambiance. Nice to see locals hanging out too which is also a good sign. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I can't rate this place highly enough. We came here every morning for breakfast (stayed in NH Master hotel opposite) and loved the atmosphere and excellent service, so came for dinner one night and were not disappointed. The food was excellent (my husband said his chicken was possibly the best he's ever had and my paella was superb), with really good, fresh ingredients. The staff were superb - incredibly friendly and helpful, bringing us free cocktails. If you're in the area pop in for a plate of their cod fritters - amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1st Night Eating Out in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Friendly staff & the cafe was busy with locals, so must be OK we thought.

After deciding to visit this cafe, the waiter helped us by giving us the English menu, and also recommending his choice.

As my wife is vegetarian, the waiter was a great help.

Meal was good, and the waiter even came back with a free Baileys on the house.

Total Bill was 35 Euros (2 drinks / 2 Mains & 2 deserts)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tomate also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Tomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.